Most important takeaways…
- Ohio NPs earn a median salary of $126,740, roughly $45,000 more per year than the average RN wage.
- Ohio requires a Standard Care Arrangement with a collaborating physician for all nurse practitioners.
- Accelerated BSN-to-MSN pathways in Ohio can shorten completion time to as few as 20 months.
- Cleveland leads Ohio metros in both total NP employment and mean annual pay.
Ohio ranks among the top ten states for total nurse practitioner employment, with more than 13,000 NPs currently licensed by the Ohio Board of Nursing. Demand is concentrated in primary care, with federally designated health professional shortage areas spread across rural Appalachian counties and mid-sized cities alike. That shortage creates real urgency for RNs ready to advance, but it also means the credential you earn matters: Ohio's reduced-practice law requires a Standard Care Arrangement with a collaborating physician, so graduates enter a regulated environment from day one.
For working RNs, the practical tension is rarely about whether to pursue an NP but how to do it without leaving a full-time position. Program format, total cost, and time-to-completion vary sharply across Ohio's schools, and those differences translate directly into whether a program is workable on a night-shift schedule or a household budget. Tuition alone ranges from roughly $15,000 to well over $50,000 for a full master's degree. If graduate debt is a concern, it's worth exploring nurse practitioner loan repayment programs before you commit to a school.
Programs ranked here are limited to those with meaningful online delivery, making them accessible to nurses who cannot relocate or pause their careers.
Top Online Nurse Practitioner Programs in Ohio, Ranked for 2027
Ohio's online and hybrid NP programs stretch from large research universities to regional public campuses and private colleges, so the right fit usually comes down to how much flexibility you need and how much you want to pay. Every school below delivers its NP coursework online or in a hybrid format and leads to certification-eligible preparation in family, adult-gerontology, psychiatric mental health, women's health, or pediatric care. Compare tuition, delivery model, and specialty mix before you narrow your application list.
Factors considered
- Earnings ten years after entry
- Tuition adjusted for local costs
- Graduation and completion rates
- Net price after financial aid
- Online and hybrid delivery flexibility
- Program-level records maintained in house
- Independent editorial research
- National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
- State cost-of-living adjustment from BEA Regional Price Parities — bea.gov
- Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
Ohio State University
Ohio State University anchors Ohio's NP landscape from its Columbus campus, pairing a research-intensive health sciences center with online and hybrid delivery. Its online MSN tracks in family, adult-gerontology primary care, and psychiatric mental health nursing have held a place among the nation's strongest programs for more than a decade, and the same specialties extend into BSN-to-DNP pathways. Clinical placements are built around the Wexner Medical Center system, and students can choose between online and on-campus formats depending on the track.
- Ranked No. 5 nationally by U.S. News
- Available online or on campus
- 16 to 20 hours weekly clinical practice
- Prepares for ANCC or AANP certification
- Comprehensive primary care for ages 13 and older
- 600 clinical hours required
- Covers lifespan mental health care
- Medication management training
- Psychotherapy skills focus
- Preceptors provided in Ohio
- 10 concentration options
- 3-year program with part-time option
- Synchronous online classes
- Earn MSN en route to DNP
- Clinical experiences arranged near home
- $60 application fee
- Clinical placements at Wexner Medical Center
- Clinical site placement assistance
- Two application rounds per year
- Recorded online interview required
- 3.0 GPA minimum
- Direct BSN to DNP pathway
- Clinical experiences at OSU Wexner Medical Center
- Earn MSN degree partway through
- APRN certification eligibility after the MSN
- 9 concentration options
Adult Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (MSN) — Online
Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (MSN) — Hybrid
Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (DNP) — Hybrid
Adult Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (DNP) — Hybrid
Family Nurse Practitioner (BSN to DNP) — Hybrid
Miami University
Miami University in Oxford runs a hybrid family nurse practitioner MSN built for nurses who keep working while they study. Coursework is delivered online with in-person clinicals, an on-campus skills workshop, and guaranteed clinical placement. The program reports a 100% FNP certification pass rate in 2024, and it admits students who live in Ohio, Illinois, Indiana, or Kentucky.
- 21-month full-time completion
- 630 clinical hours
- Online coursework with in-person clinicals
- Clinical placement guaranteed
- 100% FNP certification pass rate in 2024
- On-campus skills workshop
- APEA certification test preparation
- Residency in OH, IL, IN, or KY required
Master of Science in Nursing, Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Cleveland State University
Cleveland State University offers one of the broadest online NP portfolios in Ohio, spanning family, psychiatric mental health, and adult-gerontology primary and acute care. Most coursework is delivered 100% online with a single on-campus residency, and the university also runs post-graduate certificates for nurses who already hold a master's degree. In-state per-credit tuition stays in the low $600s, and clinical placement support is part of the package.
- 47 credit hours
- 780 clinical hours
- Two-year full-time program
- 100% online coursework with one campus residency
- Three start dates per year
- $636.70 per credit for Ohio residents
- Clinical placement services provided
- 35 credit hours
- Completed in 1 year and 3 months full-time
- 780 clinical hours
- 100% online with one on-campus residency
- Two letters of reference required
- Three intakes per year
- 48 credit hours
- 780 clinical hours
- 100% online coursework
- Focus on mental health across the lifespan
- Clinicals begin in the fourth semester
- Three intakes per year
- 36 credit hours
- Completed in 1 year and 3 months full-time
- 780 clinical hours
- Neuropsychopharmacology coursework
- Two letters of reference required
- 11-semester program
- 3.3 GPA minimum
- One year RN experience required
- Blended online and in-person formats
- Interview with faculty required
- 4-year program
- 92 total credit hours
- 1,080 clinical hours
- Focus areas: adult, family, child, and group therapy
- DNP scholarly project
Master of Science in Nursing, Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Post-Graduate Certificate, Family Nurse Practitioner — Online
Master of Science, Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner — Online
Post-Graduate Certificate, Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner — Online
Post-Baccalaureate to DNP, Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Doctor of Nursing Practice, Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner — Online
Kent State University
Kent State University in Kent delivers NP education through a mix of fully online and hybrid tracks, with MSN concentrations in psychiatric mental health, women's health, pediatric primary care, and adult-gerontology primary care. The university also offers graduate certificates for master's-prepared nurses who want to add a population focus without earning a second full degree. Ohio resident tuition sits in the low $600s per credit for those certificate programs.
- 34 credit hours
- 100% online delivery
- Ohio resident tuition: $612.62 per credit
- Requires a master's degree in nursing
- Courses in neurobiology and psychopharmacology
- Clinical practicums included
- 30 credit hours
- 100% online delivery
- Three professional references required
- Courses in advanced health assessment
- Clinical practicum courses included
- Full-time and part-time options
- Two start dates per year (fall and spring)
- Many courses offered online
- Faculty mentorship and advising
- Faculty mentorship from nationally certified APRNs
- Clinical experiences in diverse settings
- Three-time NLN Center of Excellence
- Many online courses available
- 100% online delivery with no campus visits required
- Fall and spring start dates
- Nationally certified instructors
- Training in medication management and psychotherapy
- Prepares for APRN certification and Ohio licensure
- 100% online coursework
- Clinical practicum required
- Small class sizes with individualized attention
- Dual MSN-MBA option available
- Post-master's certificate also available
Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Graduate Certificate — Online
Women's Health Nurse Practitioner Graduate Certificate — Online
Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (MSN) — Hybrid
Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (MSN) — Hybrid
Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (MSN) — Online
Women's Health Nurse Practitioner (MSN) — Online
University of Cincinnati
The University of Cincinnati runs one of the largest online NP catalogs in the state, covering family, women's health, adult-gerontology acute and primary care, pediatric acute care, and psychiatric mental health. MSN, DNP, and post-master's certificate entry points let nurses choose their credential level, with most core coursework online and short on-campus immersions. Clinical planning support, enrollment advisors, and a large alumni network are recurring features, and DNP coursework runs $836 per credit.
- 100% online with no required site visits
- Asynchronous coursework
- Three start terms per year
- One year RN experience required
- Certification pass rates consistently above 95%
- Fall start only
- 3.3 GPA minimum
- Online with on-campus immersions
- Prepares for FNP-BC and FNP-C exams
- Three letters of recommendation required
- Care for patients ages 13 and older
- Focus on preventive and chronic care
- Online program format
- Emphasis on education, diagnosis, and treatment
- Online with on-campus immersions
- Prepares for AGPCNP-BC and AGNP-C certification
- DNP project required
- Fall start only
- Dedicated support from enrollment through placement
- $836 per credit
- Hands-on skills labs
- On-campus labs in two semesters
- Limited to OH, KY, and IN residents
- Guaranteed local preceptors
- Prepares for AGACNP-BC certification
- 100% online program
- Three start dates yearly
- Covers puberty through the lifespan
- Prenatal care and gynecologic management
- Outpatient and inpatient setting preparation
- Online with in-person immersions
- Prepares for PMHNP-C and PHHNP-BC exams
- Minimum one year RN experience required
- Fall semester start only
- Capstone required
- Complete in as few as 16 months
- Online with clinical requirements
- Requires a Master of Science in Nursing
- Minimum 3.0 GPA
- One year clinical experience required
- Online coursework with on-campus immersions
- Prepares for CPNP-BC certification
- 3.3 GPA minimum recommended
- Not available in eight states plus territories
- In-person precepted clinical practice
- Hybrid program delivery
- Prepares for the CPNP-BC exam
- Requires BSN and MSN degrees
- Minimum 3.25 BSN GPA
- Residency in Ohio, Kentucky, or Indiana required
- Fall semester start only
- Hybrid delivery with in-person labs
- Skills such as suturing taught
- Fall semester start only
- Residency in OH, KY, or IN required
- Scholarships available
- Hybrid program delivery
- Focuses on patients 13 and older
- Online coursework with in-person clinicals
- Minimum science GPA of 3.0
- One year RN experience required
Master of Science in Nursing, Family Nurse Practitioner — Online
Doctor of Nursing Practice, Family Nurse Practitioner — Online
Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (MSN) — Online
Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (DNP) — Hybrid
Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (DNP) — Hybrid
Women's Health Nurse Practitioner (MSN) — Online
Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (DNP) — Online
Post-Master's Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Certificate — Online
Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (DNP) — Online
Post-MSN Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Certificate — Hybrid
Post-MSN Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Certificate — Hybrid
Adult Gerontology Nurse Practitioner Certificate — Hybrid
Franciscan University of Steubenville
Franciscan University of Steubenville keeps its NP offering focused: a single hybrid family nurse practitioner track inside the MSN. At $600 per credit and roughly $28,800 total, the price is straightforward for a private university, and the program leans on a network of more than 300 preceptors for clinical placements. Part-time study and a six-semester structure are built around nurses who intend to keep working.
- 48 credit hours
- $600 per credit; $28,800 total tuition
- Part-time study available
- Six-semester program structure
- Fall, spring, and summer terms
- Over 300 preceptors available
- Clinical sites include physician offices and community settings
Family Nurse Practitioner Track (MSN) — Hybrid
Mount Carmel College of Nursing
Mount Carmel College of Nursing in Columbus pairs a compact 18-month MSN format with clinical immersion, offering family, adult-gerontology acute care, and psychiatric mental health nurse practitioner tracks. The adult-gerontology acute care track reports a 100% first-time certification pass rate, and the college adds a post-graduate certificate for nurses who already hold a master's degree.
- 18-month completion
- 48 credit hours
- 500 clinical hours
- Online format with scheduled immersions
- Primary care across all age groups
- 18-month completion
- 48 credit hours
- 650 clinical hours
- 100% first-time certification pass rate
- Prepares for high-acuity hospital settings
- 18-month completion
- 43 credit hours
- 500 direct clinical hours
- Three immersive experiences
- Psychopharmaceutical management training
- Hybrid online and face-to-face coursework
- For master's-prepared registered nurses
- Summer and fall cohort starts
- Students find their own preceptors
- Application deadlines of March 30 and July 15
Family Nurse Practitioner (MSN) — Online
Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (MSN) — Hybrid
Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (MSN) — Online
Post-Graduate Certificate: Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Ohio University
Ohio University in Athens anchors southeastern Ohio's NP pipeline with online MSN, BSN-to-DNP, and post-graduate certificate pathways. The BSN-to-DNP program is fully online with periodic on-campus intensives and 1,000 clinical hours, while several post-graduate certificates can be finished in three semesters with 750 clinical hours. Ohio residents pay roughly $618 to $785 per credit depending on the track, and no entrance exam is required for the doctoral pathway.
- 40 total credits across 11 courses
- 750 clinical practicum hours
- Six semesters part-time
- Online program format
- Prepares for ANCC certification
- 20 credit hours
- Three semesters
- $684 per credit for Ohio residents, about $13,680 total
- 750 clinical hours
- No GRE required
- MSN degree prerequisite
- 20-credit program
- Online delivery format
- Covers assessment, diagnosis, and psychopharmacology
- Requires a master's degree for admission
- 20 total credit hours across four courses
- Three semesters
- $785 per credit for Ohio residents
- 750 clinical hours
- On-campus intensives included
- Prepares for the AGACNP-BC exam
- $43,260 total program tuition
- $618 per credit
- 70 total credit hours
- Complete in 2 to 4 years
- 100% online with on-campus intensives
- 1,000 clinical hours
- No entrance exam required
- Transfer up to 9 credits
- Five concentration options
- Asynchronous online classes
- 3.2 GPA minimum
- Fall and spring start dates
- 15% scholarship for veterans, alumni, and corporate partners
- 24/7 access to asynchronous coursework
- Small class sizes
- Mentorship from expert faculty
- Part-time option available
- $50 application fee
Master of Science in Nursing, Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner — Online
Post-Graduate Family Nurse Practitioner Certificate — Online
Online Post-Master's Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Certificate — Online
Post-Graduate Adult Gerontology-Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Certificate — Online
BSN to DNP, Family Nurse Practitioner — Online
BSN to DNP, Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner — Online
BSN to DNP, Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner — Online
Miami University-Middletown
Miami University's Middletown campus is a regional entry point to the same hybrid family nurse practitioner MSN offered at the Oxford campus. Students get the same online coursework, on-campus skills workshop, 630 clinical hours, and guaranteed clinical placement, with residency eligibility limited to Ohio, Illinois, Indiana, and Kentucky. It is a practical route for nurses in the Cincinnati and Dayton corridor.
- 21-month full-time completion
- 630 clinical hours
- Hybrid online and in-person format
- On-campus skills workshop
- 100% FNP certification pass rate
- Clinical placement guaranteed
Master of Science in Nursing, Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
University of Toledo
The University of Toledo offers one of the state's deepest NP lineups, with MSN tracks in family and psychiatric mental health nursing, several DNP pathways, and the first public BSN-to-DNP program in Ohio. The doctoral tracks run 69 to 74 credits with about 1,030 to 1,170 clinical hours, and many are delivered 100% online with asynchronous coursework. Clinical partnerships include ProMedica and access to advanced simulation centers.
- Online courses with in-person labs
- Full-time and part-time options
- Prepares for ANCC or AANP certification
- Clinical experiences in primary care
- Capstone project required
- Hybrid format with in-person labs
- Prepares for ANCC certification
- Access to advanced simulation centers
- Partnership with ProMedica healthcare
- Requires a BSN for admission
- 100% online coursework
- Asynchronous classes
- Post-BSN and post-MSN pathways
- Faculty-guided capstone project
- Doctorally prepared faculty
- First public BSN-to-DNP program in Ohio
- 73 total credit hours
- 1,030 to 1,170 clinical hours
- 180 clinical hours per clinical semester
- DNP project required
- 72 to 74 credits
- 100% online format
- Clinical hours in community and hospital settings
- Leadership and quality improvement coursework
- Faculty and community mentors
- 10-semester curriculum
- 69 to 74 total credits
- Clinical hours integrated
- Nurse Executive leadership focus
- Two concentration options
- For nurses who already hold an MSN
- 100% online program
- Asynchronous class instruction
- Capstone required
- Three track options available
Master of Science in Nursing, Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Master of Science in Nursing, Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Doctor of Nursing Practice, Family Nurse Practitioner — Online
Post-Baccalaureate to DNP, Family Nurse Practitioner — Online
Post-Baccalaureate to DNP, Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner — Online
Post-Baccalaureate to DNP, Nurse Executive — Online
Post-Master's to DNP, Family Nurse Practitioner — Online
Ursuline College
Ursuline College in Pepper Pike concentrates on adult-gerontology and psychiatric mental health practice, with MSN tracks, post-graduate certificates, and a 24-month BSN-to-DNP in adult-gerontology primary care. Program materials note a No. 34 national MSN ranking and a No. 3 spot in Ohio, along with an NLN Center of Excellence designation. Applications are reviewed quickly, with decisions typically returned within about two weeks.
- Two start dates per year (fall and spring)
- Minimum one year RN experience required
- Ranked No. 34 MSN program nationally
- No. 3 in Ohio for MSN programs
- NLN Center of Excellence designation
- 3.0 GPA minimum
- Three letters of recommendation required
- Starts in fall and spring
- Current Ohio RN license required
- Application decisions within two weeks
- 24-month program
- 75 total credit hours
- Full-time and part-time options
- Fall, spring, and summer starts
- Capstone project required
- Two-course certificate program
- Hybrid learning format
- Includes a clinical experience component
- Requires an MSN degree for admission
- Post-graduate certificate for master's-prepared nurses
- Part of the MSN program course offerings
- Focus on health maintenance and disease prevention
- Care for adolescents through older adults
Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (MSN) — Hybrid
Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (MSN) — Hybrid
Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (DNP) — Hybrid
Post-Graduate Certificate, Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Post-Graduate Certificate, Adult Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Ashland University
Ashland University in Ashland delivers its family nurse practitioner preparation through a 100% online DNP built on a cohort model. Residency requirements are handled in cohort blocks, transfer credit is accepted up to nine graduate credits, and a scholarly project caps the degree. Admission requires an interview, and graduates sit for AANPCB or ANCC certification.
- 100% online format
- Cohort-based structure
- Cohort-based residency requirements
- 3.0 GPA minimum
- Prepares for AANPCB or ANCC certification
- Transfer up to 9 graduate credits
- Scholarly project as the culminating experience
- Interview required for admission
Doctor of Nursing Practice, Family Nurse Practitioner — Online
Youngstown State University
Youngstown State University runs an online MSN in family nurse practitioner practice with seven-week courses and multiple start dates each year. The program totals 46 credits, including 600 supervised clinical hours and a capstone, and can be finished in about 20 months at a total program cost near $24,978. YSU also offers a post-master's adult-gerontology acute care certificate, and enrollment is limited to residents of Ohio, Pennsylvania, West Virginia, and Michigan.
- $24,978 total program tuition
- $543 per credit
- 20-month program
- 46 total credit hours
- 600 clinical hours
- Seven-week course format
- Multiple start dates throughout the year
- Program restricted to OH, PA, WV, MI residents
- 36 credit hours
- As few as 18 months
- $19,548 total in-state tuition
- One year critical care experience required
- 540 clinical practicum hours
- ACLS certification required
Master of Science in Nursing, Family Nurse Practitioner — Online
Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Post-Master's Certificate — Online
Questions to Ask Yourself
Ohio's NP Landscape: Practice Authority, Demand, and What RNs Should Know
Ohio remains a reduced-practice state for advanced practice registered nurses, meaning nurse practitioners must work under a Standard Care Arrangement with a collaborating physician.1 That legal framework shapes every dimension of NP practice in the state, from where you can open a clinic to how you prescribe controlled substances.
Practice Authority and Collaborative Requirements
Ohio law requires every APRN to maintain a Standard Care Arrangement (SCA) with a physician who is continuously available for direct communication.1 That physician can collaborate with no more than five APRNs at a time, and the SCA must include a clear statement of services, prescriptive scope, quality assurance measures, and signatures from both parties.2 Nurse practitioners in Ohio may prescribe Schedule III through V controlled substances within the scope of their SCA and the APRN formulary. Schedule II prescribing is limited to patients with terminal conditions and only for a single 72-hour period.1
Recent legislative sessions have brought modest expansions: Senate Bill 196, passed in 2025, broadened NPs' authority to sign certain patient-care documents but still excludes death certificates.3 House Bill 726, introduced in the 2024-2026 cycle, proposed a pathway to independent practice for experienced APRNs, but the bill was never assigned to committee and remains stalled. Stakeholder groups continue to debate the merits of full practice authority states, and the conversation is far from settled.
Workforce Demand and Rural Access
Ohio's aging population and persistent rural access gaps have made nurse practitioners in rural healthcare an essential part of the state's delivery infrastructure. Counties in southeastern and Appalachian Ohio face chronic provider shortages, and hospitals and health systems across the state are actively recruiting NPs to fill primary care, specialty, and hospitalist roles. The statewide nursing shortage has further intensified demand, with employers offering sign-on bonuses, loan repayment assistance, and flexible scheduling to attract newly certified practitioners.
Program Types and Delivery Models
Ohio schools offer multiple pathways to NP licensure. Traditional MSN-FNP programs remain the most common route for RNs with a bachelor's degree, while BSN-to-DNP tracks appeal to nurses seeking terminal credentials without an intermediate master's. Post-master's certificates serve NPs adding a second specialty or transitioning from another APRN role. Most programs now deliver core coursework online or in a hybrid format, reserving in-person time for clinical intensives and skills labs. That flexibility has made it possible for working nurses across the state to pursue advanced education without relocating or leaving their current positions.
Licensure and Certification
The Ohio Board of Nursing oversees APRN licensure and enforces compliance with state statutes and administrative code. After graduating from an accredited NP program, you must pass a national certification exam in your population focus, then apply for APRN recognition through the Board. You will also need to establish a Standard Care Arrangement before you can begin prescribing or practicing within the collaborative framework.
Lowest-Tuition NP Programs in Ohio
If keeping graduate school costs manageable is a priority, the three Ohio NP programs below stand out for their low average net price. Keep in mind that net price figures shown here are institution-wide averages for all students receiving aid; your actual graduate-level costs will depend on your enrollment status, residency, and financial aid package. Most NP students can offset tuition through federal graduate PLUS loans, employer tuition reimbursement programs, and, at public universities, graduate assistantships that may include tuition waivers.
| School | City | In-State Tuition | Out-of-State Tuition | Avg. Net Price | Program Format |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mount Carmel College of Nursing | Columbus | $22,602 | $22,602 (same rate) | $10,420 | Online (with scheduled immersions) |
| Miami University, Middletown | Middletown | $7,491 | $19,407 | $10,809 | Hybrid (online coursework, on-campus skills workshops) |
| Miami University, Hamilton | Hamilton | $16,359 | $37,399 | $11,286 | Hybrid (online coursework, on-campus skills workshops) |
Accelerated and Fastest NP Pathways in Ohio
For working nurses eager to become nurse practitioners without stepping away from their careers for three or four years, Ohio's accelerated pathways offer a practical route forward. While most traditional master's programs require 24 to 36 months of part-time study, and BSN-to-DNP tracks can span three to four years, a small number of schools structure their curricula to compress timelines for full-time students or those entering with prior graduate coursework. For a broader look at fast-track options nationwide, see our guide to accelerated nurse practitioner programs.
Understanding Program Length in Ohio
The published program lengths at Ohio's major institutions vary widely. Ohio State University's BSN-to-DNP program requires 79 to 92 credits and typically takes three to four years to complete, depending on course load and specialty track.1 Ohio University offers a BSN-to-DNP pathway structured over 12 semesters (roughly three years of full-time enrollment), delivering 70 credits and 1,000 clinical hours entirely online. The program earned a national ranking of #2 in 2025, reflecting its balance of rigor and flexibility. Ursuline College structures its BSN-to-DNP track as a three-year program that includes an embedded MSN milestone.
Most schools do not currently advertise 12-month FNP certificate tracks or sub-24-month MSN-FNP options in Ohio. Both the University of Cincinnati and Kent State University offer post-master's DNP pathways, which allow nurses who already hold an MSN in a nurse practitioner specialty to earn the doctorate in a shorter timeframe, though exact durations are not published uniformly online.56
How to Find Fast-Track Options
The best starting point is each school's official nursing program website. Search for terms like "program length," "plan of study," or "fast-track" within the graduate nursing pages at Ohio State, University of Cincinnati, Case Western Reserve, and others. These pages publish the most reliable credit requirements, semester sequences, and enrollment options.
If the published materials are unclear, contact the admissions office directly by phone or email. Some schools offer flexible timelines, summer immersion courses, or condensed clinical blocks that may not be fully detailed online. Admissions staff can confirm whether full-time enrollment or prior graduate credit can shorten your time to degree. If you are considering a doctorate, reviewing DNP prerequisites before you apply can help you identify transferable coursework that might accelerate your timeline.
Post-Master's Certificates and Full-Time Tracks
For nurses who already hold an MSN in another specialty and want to become FNPs, post-master's certificate programs offer the shortest route. These typically require 12 to 18 months and focus solely on FNP-specific coursework and clinical hours. While Ohio schools like Cincinnati and Kent State offer post-master's DNP tracks, dedicated FNP certificate timelines are less commonly advertised. Always ask whether full-time enrollment is supported and whether clinical precepting is arranged by the school or left to the student, as that can significantly affect your completion timeline. If you need to find an NP clinical preceptor on your own, plan extra lead time so the search does not delay your graduation.
Choosing Between Online and Hybrid NP Programs
The debate between online and hybrid nurse practitioner programs has quieted in recent years, largely because accrediting bodies now hold both formats to identical clinical standards. For Ohio RNs weighing their options, the real question is not which format produces better clinicians, but which fits your life, your learning style, and your access to clinical sites. For a deeper comparison, our guide to online vs on-campus NP programs breaks down the evidence in detail.
What the Data Actually Shows
The Bureau of Labor Statistics projects 40 percent job growth for nurse practitioners through 2031, but this federal data does not differentiate between graduates of online versus hybrid programs. Employers reviewing applications rarely see your course delivery method on your resume; they see your degree, your certifications, and your clinical hours. Peer-reviewed studies in journals like the Journal of Nursing Education have found no significant difference in ANCC or AANP certification pass rates between well-designed online and hybrid programs, though sample sizes vary.
If you want hard numbers for a specific Ohio school, visit its program website and look for published graduation rates and certification outcomes. Calling admissions directly can surface unpublished data that websites omit, such as first-time pass rates broken out by cohort year or average time to completion for part-time students.
Practical Differences That Matter
- Classroom time: Hybrid programs require periodic campus visits, sometimes monthly, sometimes quarterly. Online programs deliver all didactic content remotely, though clinical hours still happen in person.
- Scheduling flexibility: Asynchronous online coursework lets you watch lectures at midnight after a 12-hour shift. Hybrid programs with synchronous sessions may conflict with rotating schedules.
- Peer interaction: Some students thrive with in-person cohort days; others find virtual discussion boards and video meetings sufficient.
- Clinical placement: Neither format guarantees site placement. Many Ohio programs expect you to secure your own preceptors, regardless of delivery method.
If clinical placement is your biggest concern, our walkthrough on how online NP students arrange local clinical placements covers strategies that Ohio students have used successfully.
Where to Find Comparative Research
Professional associations can be a hidden resource. The American Association of Nurse Practitioners and the National Organization of Nurse Practitioner Faculties occasionally commission employer-perception surveys comparing online and traditional graduates. These reports may not be advertised on public websites, so contacting AANP or NONPF membership services directly is worth the effort. University library databases also index nursing education research, where you can search terms like "online NP outcomes" or "distance nursing education employer perceptions" for peer-reviewed comparisons.
Ultimately, the best format is the one you will finish. If campus visits energize you, hybrid works. If your schedule demands total flexibility, online programs deliver.
Steps to Earning Your NP License in Ohio
From BSN to licensed nurse practitioner, the path in Ohio typically takes two to four years depending on whether you choose a full-time, part-time, or accelerated program. The Ohio Board of Nursing oversees APRN licensure, and applications are submitted online through the state's eLicense portal.

FNP Certification Pass Rates at Ohio Schools
When a nurse practitioner graduate sits for their board certification exam, the result reflects years of clinical training, coursework, and program preparation. First-time pass rates on the AANP and ANCC Family Nurse Practitioner exams are one of the clearest signals a school can give you about whether its curriculum actually prepares students to practice.
What the National Benchmarks Look Like
Nationally, the most recently published first-time pass rates sit at 84% for the AANP exam and 87% for the ANCC exam (both from 2021 data).1 These figures represent all test-takers across the country, including graduates of programs with limited resources, thin clinical networks, and inconsistent board prep. A program that consistently outperforms those benchmarks is doing something right in how it aligns coursework with exam content.
Programs with first-time pass rates above 90% generally reflect strong curriculum design, regular content updates that track exam blueprints, and dedicated board prep support. A 100% first-time pass rate is genuinely rare and worth noting.
Ohio State's Published Data
Ohio State University is one of the few Ohio programs that publicly reports its FNP certification results. Their ANCC first-time pass rate stands at 100%, and their AANP first-time pass rate is 88%.2 The ANCC figure places them among a small group of Midwest programs recognized for that level of consistency. Most Ohio programs do not publish this data on their websites, which makes it difficult to compare schools side by side. For a broader look at Ohio FNP options, see our ranking of best online FNP programs in Ohio.
Why Program-Level Transparency Is Rare
Neither the AANP nor ANCC publishes pass rates broken down by individual school or state.3 That means the data you find, or do not find, on a program's website reflects a deliberate choice by the institution. Schools with strong results tend to publicize them. Programs that stay quiet may have results they are less proud of, or they simply have not prioritized transparency. Neither is a great sign for a prospective student. If you are still weighing the family nurse practitioner track against other specialties, certification transparency should factor into that decision.
What to Ask During Admissions
Before you apply, ask each program directly for their most recent first-time AANP and ANCC pass rates for FNP graduates. Request the last three years of data if possible, not just a single year, which can fluctuate. A program that cannot or will not provide this information during the admissions process is worth approaching with caution. You are making a significant investment of time and money, and knowing whether graduates pass their boards on the first try is a reasonable expectation.
What Nurse Practitioners Earn in Ohio
Before diving into program costs and timelines, it helps to understand what the NP credential is actually worth in Ohio's job market. The salary figures below reflect statewide occupational wages for licensed, working nurse practitioners, not program-completer earnings reported by individual schools. With roughly 14,550 NPs employed across the state, Ohio offers a robust market, and the jump from RN pay to NP pay is substantial. For context, the median RN salary in Ohio sits at $81,250, meaning NPs earn more than $45,000 above that benchmark at the median level.
| Wage Percentile | Annual Salary |
|---|---|
| 10th Percentile | Not reported |
| 25th Percentile | $106,270 |
| Median (50th Percentile) | $126,740 |
| 75th Percentile | $132,740 |
| 90th Percentile | Not reported |
| Mean (Average) | $121,250 |
NP Pay Across Ohio's Major Metro Areas
Nurse practitioner salaries in Ohio vary by metro area, but even the lowest-paying regions offer a substantial jump over RN wages. Cleveland leads in both total NP employment and mean pay, while Cincinnati posts the highest median salary. Use this table to weigh where your earning potential is strongest and where demand (reflected by the number of NPs employed) may create the most opportunity.
| Metro Area | NPs Employed | Mean NP Salary | Median NP Salary | 25th Percentile | 75th Percentile | Median RN Salary (for Comparison) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cleveland | 3,660 | $125,010 | $128,300 | $106,850 | $130,370 | $81,970 |
| Columbus | 2,920 | $120,190 | $127,020 | $106,400 | $133,320 | $82,520 |
| Cincinnati | 2,680 | $121,290 | $130,100 | $108,850 | $133,220 | $81,790 |
| Dayton | 920 | $115,670 | $125,680 | $105,810 | $134,290 | $80,990 |
| Akron | 740 | $113,990 | $122,820 | $104,960 | $129,830 | $81,520 |
| Toledo | 690 | $123,800 | $124,190 | $108,160 | $132,640 | $79,440 |
| Youngstown | 420 | $111,290 | $116,280 | $99,510 | $127,080 | $75,850 |
| Canton | 390 | $123,520 | $124,510 | $106,700 | $130,740 | $77,650 |
| Lima | 140 | $115,940 | $120,760 | $104,590 | $124,860 | $78,510 |
| Mansfield | 120 | $117,060 | $119,880 | $104,430 | $126,710 | $78,370 |
Ohio NP Job Growth at a Glance
Advancing from RN to nurse practitioner in Ohio offers a compelling return on investment. Ohio NPs earn a median salary of $126,740, which is roughly $45,000 more per year than the state's median RN wage of $81,250. With national NP job growth projected at over 40% through 2034, demand in Ohio and across the country shows no sign of slowing. The state already employs approximately 14,550 nurse practitioners, and that number is expected to climb steadily as healthcare systems expand primary and specialty care access.

Common Questions About NP Programs in Ohio
Ohio nurses weighing an NP program often share the same set of practical questions. Below are straightforward answers drawn from current program requirements, state regulations, and the details covered throughout this article.
- How many clinical hours do Ohio NP programs require?
- Most Ohio NP programs require between 500 and 1,000 supervised clinical hours, depending on the degree level and specialty track. MSN programs typically fall in the 500 to 750 hour range, while DNP programs often exceed 1,000 hours because they include a scholarly practice project. Clinical placements may be completed at approved sites across the state, and many schools assist students in securing preceptors.
- Which Ohio NP programs can be completed entirely online?
- Several Ohio schools offer NP coursework fully online, though every program still requires in-person clinical rotations. Institutions such as Walsh University and Mercy College of Ohio deliver didactic content through online platforms while students complete clinical hours locally. Because clinical work must be hands-on, no NP program in the state (or nationally) is 100 percent virtual from start to finish.
- What are the admission requirements for NP programs in Ohio?
- A BSN from an accredited institution is the baseline requirement at nearly every Ohio NP program. Minimum GPA thresholds range from 2.7 to 3.25 depending on the school. Most programs also require an active RN license, current BLS certification, a background check, and two to three professional references. GRE waivers are commonly available for applicants whose GPA meets a 3.0 to 3.25 threshold, and many schools have moved away from requiring the GRE entirely.
- Is Ohio a full practice authority state for nurse practitioners?
- No. As of 2026, Ohio operates under a reduced practice model. Nurse practitioners must maintain a collaborative agreement with a physician to prescribe medications, including controlled substances. Advocacy efforts continue at the state level, but for now NPs in Ohio should plan on establishing and maintaining a formal collaboration with a physician after graduation and certification.
- How long does it take to go from RN to nurse practitioner in Ohio?
- The timeline depends on the pathway you choose. An RN with a BSN can typically finish an MSN-NP program in two to three years of part-time study. Accelerated BSN-to-DNP tracks may take three to four years. If you still need your BSN, add roughly one to two more years. Some Ohio schools offer accelerated schedules that shorten these timelines, which are detailed earlier in this article.
- What is the difference between an MSN-FNP and a DNP-FNP?
- Both prepare you for family nurse practitioner certification, but they differ in scope and depth. An MSN-FNP focuses on advanced clinical practice and is the faster route, usually requiring around 40 to 50 credit hours beyond the BSN. A DNP-FNP adds coursework in leadership, health policy, and evidence-based practice improvement, along with a doctoral scholarly project. Credit hours for a DNP typically range from 70 to 90. Either degree qualifies you for the same FNP board certification exams.
- Do Ohio NP programs accept out-of-state online students?
- Many do, but eligibility varies by state. Ohio institutions that hold NC-SARA membership, such as Walsh University, are authorized to enroll online students across multiple states. Walsh, for example, lists authorization in Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia, Michigan, and Kentucky. Mercy College of Ohio publishes a detailed state authorization table so prospective students can verify licensure eligibility in their home state before enrolling.
- What financial aid options are available for NP students in Ohio?
- Ohio NP students can tap federal loans and grants through FAFSA, and many schools offer merit-based scholarships or graduate assistantships. Employer tuition reimbursement is common among hospital systems in the state. Federal programs like the Nurse Corps Scholarship and loan repayment initiative are worth exploring, especially if you plan to work in underserved communities. Some of the lowest-tuition options discussed earlier in this article can also significantly reduce your total investment.
More Ohio NP Programs Worth Exploring
Beyond the top-ranked programs, Ohio offers many other excellent NP options. Below is a directory of additional schools, organized by region, to help you find a program that fits your priorities.
Southwest Ohio
Cedarville University Cedarville, OH · Hybrid
- MSN - Family Nurse Practitioner
- Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
- DNP - Pediatric Nurse Practitioner (Pediatric Nurse Practitioner - Primary Care)
Miami University-Hamilton Hamilton, OH · Hybrid
- Master of Science in Nursing, Family Nurse Practitioner
Miami University-Middletown Middletown, OH · Hybrid
- Master of Science in Nursing, Family Nurse Practitioner
- Master of Science in Nursing (Family Nurse Practitioner)
Wright State University Dayton, OH · Hybrid
- Master of Science, Family Nurse Practitioner Concentration
- Pediatric Nurse Practitioner - Primary Care Graduate Certificate
- Family Nurse Practitioner Graduate Certificate
- Master of Science in Nursing (Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner)
Xavier University Cincinnati, OH · Online
- Master of Science in Nursing – Family Nurse Practitioner
- Post-Master's Psychiatric/Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Certificate
Central Ohio
Franklin University Columbus, OH · Online
- Post-Graduate Family Nurse Practitioner Certificate
- Post-Graduate Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Certificate
- Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Certificate
- M.S. in Nursing-Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
- M.S. in Nursing-Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner
- Doctor of Nursing Practice-Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner
- Doctor of Nursing Practice-Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
- MSN-FNP (Family Nurse Practitioner)
- Doctor of Nursing Practice - Family Nurse Practitioner Track (Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP))
Otterbein University Westerville, OH · Hybrid
- Family Nurse Practitioner, Post-Graduate Certificate
- Psychiatric & Mental Health Nurse Practitioner, Post-Graduate Certificate
- Psychiatric & Mental Health Nurse Practitioner
Northeast Ohio
University of Akron Akron, OH · Hybrid
- Family Psychiatric/Mental Health Nurse Practitioner, Certificate
- Family Psychiatric/Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Track
Case Western Reserve University Cleveland, OH · Hybrid
- Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP)
- Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
- Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
- Family Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner
- Women's Health Nurse Practitioner
- Pediatric Nurse Practitioner in Acute Care
- Family Systems Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner
Malone University Canton, OH · Online
- Family Nurse Practitioner
- Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Post-Master's Certificate
University of Mount Union Alliance, OH · Hybrid
- MSN Program (Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP))
- MSN Program (Emergency Nurse Practitioner (ENP))
Walsh University North Canton, OH · Online
- Master of Science in Nursing - Family Nurse Practitioner (MSN-FNP)
- Post-Graduate FNP Certificate
- Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Certificate
- BSN-DNP Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner
- Doctor of Nursing Practice - Family Nurse Practitioner
State by State
Northeast
Southeast
Southwest
DC & Territories
Explore More State Topics
- Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (ACNP)
- Adult-Gerontology Nurse Practitioner (AGNP)
- Best Accelerated Nurse Practitioner
- Best Affordable Nurse Practitioner
- Best Online Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (ACNP)
- Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (AGNP)
- DNP NP
- Best Online Emergency Nurse Practitioner (ENP)
- Best Online FNP
- MSN NP
- Best Online Neonatal Nurse Practitioner (NNP)
- Best Online PMHNP Programs ( Rankings & Guide)
- Best Online PNP
- Post-Master's Certificate NP
- Best Online WHNP
- Cardiology Nurse Practitioner (CNP)
- Critical Care Nurse Practitioner (CCNP)
- Dermatology Nurse Practitioner (DNP)
- Emergency Nurse Practitioner (ENP)
- Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP)
- Forensic Nurse Practitioner
- Functional Medicine Nurse Practitioner (FMNP)
- Holistic Nurse Practitioner (HNP)
- Neonatal Nurse Practitioner (NNP)
- Occupational Health Nurse Practitioner (OHNP)
- Oncology Nurse Practitioner (ONP)
- Orthopedic Nurse Practitioner
- Palliative Care Nurse Practitioner (PCNP)
- Pediatric ER Nurse
- Pediatric Nurse Practitioner (PNP)
- Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (PMHNP) Guide
- Trauma Nurse Practitioner (TNP)
- What Do Urgent Care Nurse Practitioners Do? Role Guide
- Women's Health Nurse Practitioner (WHNP)






