Most important takeaways…
- Tennessee online DNP tuition ranges from about $11,100 to nearly $27,800 per year depending on public or private status.
- BSN-to-DNP and MSN-to-DNP pathways differ by roughly two years in completion time across Tennessee programs.
- FNP is the most common online DNP specialty in the state, available at seven Tennessee schools.
- Every Tennessee online DNP NP program requires some in-person components, so no program is entirely remote.
The push toward doctoral-level preparation for nurse practitioners has shifted from aspirational to practical across much of the profession, and Tennessee's program landscape reflects that shift clearly. Eleven schools in the state now offer online or hybrid DNP pathways spanning specialties from family practice to psychiatric mental health, giving working nurses real options without relocating.
The tension for most candidates is straightforward: balancing clinical hour requirements and on-campus intensives against a full-time nursing schedule, all while comparing tuition that ranges from roughly $11,100 to nearly $27,800 per year depending on the institution. Tennessee's restricted practice authority for NPs adds another layer, shaping how graduates weigh long-term career positioning against the credential's cost and time investment. With persistent primary care shortages in rural counties, states with most need for nurse practitioners often reward DNP-prepared NPs willing to serve underserved communities.
Top Online DNP Nurse Practitioner Programs in Tennessee for 2027
Tennessee's pool of accredited DNP programs that can be completed with a substantial online component is small enough to cover in full, so this list works through every one of them. Each entry notes the pathways available, the nurse practitioner concentrations offered, and how much time on campus the format actually requires.
Factors considered
- Earnings ten years after entry
- Tuition adjusted for local costs
- Online and hybrid delivery fit
- Accreditation and pathway options
- Reported certification pass rates
- Program-level records maintained in house
- Independent editorial research
- National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
- State cost-of-living adjustment from BEA Regional Price Parities — bea.gov
- Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
The University of Tennessee-Knoxville
Tennessee's flagship public university in Knoxville runs a DNP that pairs synchronous online classes with on-campus visits twice a semester, so nurses keep working while they train. Nurse practitioner tracks span family, psychiatric mental health, and pediatric primary care, including a dual primary and acute care pediatric option that leads to two certifications. Roughly three in four undergraduates graduate institution-wide, a useful context signal for a school with a deep health sciences footprint.
- 840 clinical hours with mentored preceptors
- 600 direct patient care hours in the BSN to DNP pathway
- Synchronous online class meetings
- High-fidelity simulation center for clinical skills
- Primary care across the lifespan, acute and chronic care
- On-campus visits twice per semester
- Minimum 600 direct patient care clinical hours
- 1,000 total clinical hours for the DNP degree
- BSN to DNP program of study
- Clinical rotations with licensed mentors
- Dual NP certification in pediatric primary and acute care
- Prepares graduates for emergency, ICU, and primary care roles
- Addresses the national pediatric NP shortage
- 600 clinical hours with licensed preceptors
- Prepares for CPNP-PC certification
- Synchronous online classes with campus visits each semester
Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP) DNP — Hybrid
Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (DNP) — Hybrid
Pediatric Primary/Acute Care Dual Nurse Practitioner (DNP) — Hybrid
Primary Care Pediatric Nurse Practitioner (DNP) — Hybrid
East Tennessee State University
East Tennessee State University anchors the Appalachian region with a DNP built around rural primary care and underserved populations. Its in-state partnership with Tennessee Tech widens access to family, psychiatric mental health, women's health, adult-gerontology primary and acute care, and pediatric tracks, several of them largely online with brief intensives. About 53% of undergraduates graduate institution-wide, and the program reports a 100% licensure pass rate.
- No entrance exam required for admission
- Full-time students can finish in four semesters
- Reported 100% licensure pass rate
- Asynchronous online classes with in-person intensives
- Clinical placement assistance provided
- BSN to DNP and MSN to DNP pathways
- Rural health curriculum focus
- Intensives offered via Zoom or in person
- Full-time and part-time options
- Nine-semester program with a fall start
- Joint program with Tennessee Tech University
- Prepares for women's health certification
- Program intensives twice a year
- Full-time BSN to DNP completed in nine semesters
- In-state tuition $672 per credit hour
- Intensive on-campus sessions each semester
- Synchronous and asynchronous course options
- Two to five day intensive each semester
- Nine-semester full-time or part-time plan
- Prepares for adult-gerontology acute care certification
- Clinical placement coordinator assistance
- BSN to DNP and MSN to DNP entry pathways
- Work experience and 3.0 GPA required
- Includes a DNP project
- Advanced health assessment in the core curriculum
- Prepares for pediatric primary care certification
Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP) DNP — Hybrid
Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (DNP) — Online
Women's Health Care Nurse Practitioner (DNP) — Online
Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (DNP) — Online
Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (DNP) — Hybrid
Pediatric Nurse Practitioner - Primary Care (DNP) — Hybrid
Tennessee Tech
Tennessee Tech in Cookeville co-delivers its DNP with East Tennessee State, an arrangement that lets students complete most coursework online while staying near home for clinical hours. The joint catalog covers family, psychiatric mental health, women's health, both adult-gerontology tracks, and pediatric primary care, with campus sessions kept to a few intensives a year. Institution-wide graduation rate sits near 58%.
- BSN to DNP track requires 83 credit hours
- MSN to DNP entry also available
- Joint program with East Tennessee State University
- Capstone required
- Prepares for psychiatric mental health certification
- DNP project with 12 credit hours
- Comprehensive psychiatric care across the lifespan
- 79 credit hour BSN to DNP path
- 32 credit hour MSN to DNP path
- Prepares for women's health certification
- Capstone required for degree completion
- BSN to DNP and MSN to DNP entry paths
- Care of adults and older adults
- Eligible for national certification
- BSN to DNP track requires 75 credits
- MSN to DNP track requires 31 to 35 credits
- Prepares for acute care national certification
- Focus on acute care management
- Fully online with local clinical placements
- Two years of RN experience required
- 89 to 92 total credit hours
- Writing sample required for admission
Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP) DNP — Online
Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (DNP) — Hybrid
Women's Health Care Nurse Practitioner (DNP) — Hybrid
Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (DNP) — Hybrid
Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (DNP) — Hybrid
Pediatric Nurse Practitioner - Primary Care (DNP) — Online
The University of Tennessee-Chattanooga
The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga runs an intensive, full-time DNP in family and psychiatric mental health practice. Its family track spans 83 credits and 1,050 clinical hours across adult, women's, and pediatric care, and the program tells applicants not to work full time while enrolled. Reported first-time certification pass rates are high, including above 96% in the psychiatric track.
- Eight-semester, 83-credit program
- 1,050 clinical hours across adult, women's, and pediatric care
- Reported 100% first-time FNP certification pass rate
- Full-time study; working full time is discouraged
- March 1 application deadline with a fall start
- 82-credit, eight-semester full-time program
- Above 96% first-time certification pass rate
- Clinical preceptorships in psychiatric settings
- BSN to DNP entry
Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP) DNP — Hybrid
Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (DNP) — Hybrid
The University of Tennessee Health Science Center
The University of Tennessee Health Science Center in Memphis is the state's academic health sciences campus, and its DNP draws on that clinical density. Family, psychiatric mental health, and adult-gerontology acute care tracks run with on-campus intensives, and a dual psychiatric and family concentration leads to two certifications. Employer tuition reimbursement is supported, and reported licensure pass rates are strong.
- 61 total credit hours
- 1,140 clinical hours including 500 primary care hours
- Reported 100% licensure pass rate
- BSN to DNP and MSN to DNP pathways
- On-campus intensives three times per year
- Employer tuition reimbursement supported
- 1,080 clinical hours required
- Minimum 500 hours in direct primary care
- Post-BSN and post-MSN entry options
- Faculty assist with clinical site placement
- Dual concentration options available
- 1,020 clinical hours in acute care settings
- Median earnings cited near $100,000
- Prepares for adult-gerontology acute care certification
- On-campus skills labs and simulation
- 73 total credit hours
- Prepares for two national certification exams
- DNP project capstone required
- Combines psychiatric and family primary care
Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP) DNP — Hybrid
Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (DNP) — Hybrid
Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (DNP) — Hybrid
Dual Concentration: Psychiatric-Mental Health and Family Nurse Practitioner (DNP) — Hybrid
Belmont University
Belmont University in Nashville pairs its DNP with one of the densest healthcare markets in the South, which helps explain a reported 100% clinical placement rate. The family nurse practitioner track uses asynchronous online coursework plus on-campus experiences, 800 clinical hours, and interprofessional simulation labs. About 71% of undergraduates graduate institution-wide.
- 800 clinical hours
- Reported 100% clinical placement rate
- Asynchronous online coursework with campus experiences
- Interprofessional IMPACT Labs
- State-of-the-art simulation center in Nashville
- Global health project opportunities
- Three levels of academic advising
Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP) DNP — Hybrid
Lee University
Lee University in Cleveland keeps its family nurse practitioner DNP small and flexible, built around online coursework and annual on-campus intensives for nurses who are still working. The curriculum carries an unusual rural, global, and disaster healthcare thread, and the program helps students coordinate practicum placements close to home. Institution-wide graduation rate is about 63%.
- Annual on-campus intensive sessions
- Flexible online learning for working nurses
- Rural, global, and disaster healthcare focus
- Local practicum coordination assistance
- 3.0 GPA and three letters of recommendation required
- Fall start
Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP) DNP — Hybrid
Baptist Health Sciences University
Baptist Health Sciences University in Memphis is tied directly to Baptist Memorial Health Care, giving DNP students a clinical partner inside a large health system. Its adult-gerontology acute care and primary care tracks run in a three-year, cohort-based format with rolling admissions and small classes. Reported outcomes include a 94% licensure pass rate and 100% job placement, though the institution-wide graduation rate is about 40%.
- Three-year, 66-credit program
- Clinical hours in ICU, emergency, and hospitalist settings
- Reported 94% licensure pass rate and 100% job placement
- Clinical partnership with Baptist Memorial Health Care
- Rolling admissions with a spring start
- BSN to DNP and MSN to DNP pathways
- Three-year program with rolling admissions
- Full-time and part-time options
- Cohort-based structure with small classes
- Spring start with a September priority deadline
Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (DNP) — Hybrid
Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (DNP) — Hybrid
Union University
Union University in Jackson delivers a 36-month BSN to DNP that blends online coursework with campus time at three Tennessee locations. Family and psychiatric mental health tracks each require 1,220 clinical hours plus DNP project work and fellowships. About 66% of undergraduates graduate institution-wide, and admission requires Tennessee or compact-state RN licensure.
- 36-month, 73-credit BSN to DNP program
- 1,220 clinical hours
- Campus options in Jackson, Germantown, and Hendersonville
- Blended online and campus format
- Three DNP fellowships included
- Fall start with rolling admissions
- Psychiatric mental health NP concentration
- Curriculum includes advanced pharmacology and pathophysiology
- Application priority date in June
- 3.0 GPA and three letters of recommendation required
- RN licensure in Tennessee or a compact state required
BSN-DNP Family Nurse Practitioner Track — Hybrid
BSN-DNP Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Track — Hybrid
Southern Adventist University
Southern Adventist University in Collegedale offers post-master's and BSN to DNP routes in family, adult-gerontology primary, and adult-gerontology acute care practice within a Christ-centered environment. Clinical placement support extends across NC-SARA states, which matters for students who live near a state line, and an annual DNP seminar keeps cohorts connected. Institution-wide graduation rate is about 49%.
- Completed in about two years of full-time study
- Clinical placement support across NC-SARA states
- Annual DNP seminar required
- Christ-centered learning environment
- High-tech skills and assessment labs
- Three-year, 77-credit BSN to DNP pathway
- 4,000 hours of nursing experience required
- Dual emphasis option available
- Fall and winter start dates
- Application priority date in July
- Post-master's path for registered nurses and advanced practice nurses
- Campus-based with online courses
- DNP seminar each August
- Faculty advisor assigned to each student
- 42 to 50 credits depending on emphasis
- Two-year full-time or part-time plan
- 20% tuition discount for recent alumni
- Designed for working professionals
Doctor of Nursing Practice, Primary Care Family Nurse Practitioner (Post-Master's) — Hybrid
BSN to DNP, Primary Care Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Doctor of Nursing Practice, Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Doctor of Nursing Practice, Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
King University
King University in Bristol runs eight-semester BSN to DNP tracks with small classes, a blended online and in-person format, and a faith-based lens. Students choose among family, psychiatric mental health, adult-gerontology acute care, and nurse leadership and administration concentrations, and King BSN graduates receive guaranteed admission. About 48% of undergraduates graduate institution-wide.
- Eight-semester BSN to DNP track
- Small class sizes with high faculty interaction
- Prepares graduates for acute care practice
- Faith-based, real-world clinical experience
- No entrance exam required for admission
- 3.0 GPA and three letters of recommendation required
- Guaranteed admission for King BSN graduates
- Prepares for family nurse practitioner certification
- Psychiatric mental health NP concentration
- Financial aid and scholarships available
- Research-to-practice curriculum
- Prepares for chief nursing officer roles
- Lead healthcare policy development
- Teach at the collegiate level
BSN to DNP, Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
BSN to DNP, Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
BSN to DNP, Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
BSN to DNP, Nurse Leadership and Administration — Hybrid
Questions to Ask Before Choosing a Tennessee Online DNP
Choosing the right online DNP NP program in Tennessee means asking pointed questions before you commit your time and tuition dollars. Below are the questions working nurses ask most often, answered with current information for 2026.
- Which Tennessee DNP programs are fully online versus hybrid?
- Several Tennessee DNP programs are fully online, including the BSN-to-DNP and MSN-to-DNP options at East Tennessee State University, the MSN-to-DNP at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center, and the post-master's DNP at South College. Others, such as Baptist Health Sciences University's BSN-to-DNP and the University of Tennessee Knoxville's MSN-to-DNP, follow a hybrid format with some on-campus requirements. Always confirm whether a program includes campus intensives or simulation days.
- How long does it take to complete an online DNP in Tennessee?
- Timelines depend on your entry point. BSN-to-DNP programs typically take about 36 months of full-time study. MSN-to-DNP programs are shorter, ranging from 12 to 24 months. For example, the University of Tennessee Health Science Center's MSN-to-DNP can be finished in as few as 12 months, while South College's post-master's DNP takes roughly 21 months. Part-time options may extend the timeline.
- How much do online DNP programs cost in Tennessee?
- Tuition varies widely across Tennessee's 15 DNP programs. Public universities such as East Tennessee State University generally charge lower per-credit rates than private institutions like South College or Baptist Health Sciences University. Total costs also depend on residency status, the number of required credit hours for your pathway, and fees for clinical courses. Request a full cost-of-attendance breakdown from each program before comparing.
- What NP specialties can I earn with an online DNP in Tennessee?
- Tennessee's online DNP programs offer a range of nurse practitioner concentrations, including Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP) and Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (PMHNP), among others. Some schools also offer CRNA pathways at the DNP level through hybrid or campus-intensive formats. Specialty availability differs by school, so check each program's current catalog to confirm the concentration you want is offered online.
- Do online DNP programs in Tennessee help arrange clinical placements?
- Support varies by program. Some Tennessee DNP programs provide clinical placement coordination, helping students secure preceptors and approved sites. Others expect students to identify their own placements, though faculty may offer guidance and contacts. If you live in a rural area or plan to complete clinicals outside the state, ask specifically how much hands-on support the program provides and whether they have established clinical partnerships near you.
- What is Tennessee's nurse practitioner scope of practice?
- Tennessee classifies nurse practitioners under a reduced-practice model. NPs must maintain a collaborative agreement with a physician in order to prescribe medications, including controlled substances. While recent legislative efforts have moved toward broader practice authority, as of 2026, NPs in Tennessee still practice under this collaborative requirement. A DNP does not change that legal framework, but it can strengthen your clinical expertise and competitiveness.
- Can I work full-time while completing an online DNP in Tennessee?
- Many programs are designed with working nurses in mind. East Tennessee State University, for example, structures its online DNP coursework so that full-time employment remains feasible. Asynchronous lectures and flexible deadlines help, but keep in mind that clinical hours and the DNP scholarly project require significant time commitments. Most students find that reducing to part-time work during clinical semesters makes the workload more manageable.
- Is a DNP required to practice as an NP in Tennessee?
- No. Tennessee does not require a DNP to practice as a nurse practitioner. An MSN with an NP concentration still meets licensure requirements. However, earning a DNP can open doors to leadership roles, academic positions, and higher earning potential. Some employers increasingly prefer or incentivize the doctoral credential, so pursuing a DNP is a strategic career investment even though it is not a legal mandate for NP practice in the state.
Fully Online or Hybrid? How Tennessee DNP Programs Actually Work
Picture this: you find a Tennessee DNP program listed as "online" and assume you can complete every requirement from your kitchen table. That assumption will catch you off guard. Every NP-track DNP in Tennessee requires some in-person time, whether that means occasional campus weekends or hundreds of clinical hours at a local facility. Understanding exactly what "online" means before you apply saves you from a scheduling crisis later.
What "Online" Actually Means for a DNP
In the world of doctoral nursing programs, "online" almost always describes how coursework is delivered, not the entire program. Your lectures, seminars, and discussion boards happen remotely, but clinical training does not. Federal nursing education standards require DNP graduates to complete somewhere between 500 and 1,000 or more supervised clinical hours, and those hours happen at real health care sites with real patients. No program, anywhere, can make those hours virtual.
Beyond clinicals, many Tennessee programs also build in on-campus intensives for skills labs, simulation, or residency experiences. These visits vary widely by school, and knowing the schedule upfront is critical for working nurses who need to arrange coverage.
How Tennessee Schools Handle In-Person Requirements
Here is how the major programs break down in 2026:
- Vanderbilt University: Primarily online coursework, but students attend a week-long on-campus intensive every semester. Plan for several trips to Nashville each year.
- UT Knoxville: A blended hybrid format with two required on-site visits per term; NP tracks also include one to two full-day clinical intensives each semester.3
- UTHSC: Distance education with limited on-campus activities for most NP tracks. The Nurse Anesthesia track is largely in person, which is a different situation entirely.4
- Union University: Four one-week on-campus sessions spread across the entire post-master's DNP program, making it manageable for nurses who can plan ahead.
- UT Chattanooga: The closest to fully online among the group. Students come to campus only for orientation and a qualifying exam, though clinical hours still apply.5
- ETSU and Tennessee Tech (joint program): An online and blended hybrid format with two to three on-campus intensive sessions per year.6
- King University: Combines online and in-person courses in a hybrid format, though the specific campus visit schedule is not fully detailed in publicly available materials.
Which Format Works Best for Your Situation
If you cannot relocate and need to stay close to home, programs with minimal campus requirements, such as UT Chattanooga or UTHSC's NP tracks, give you the most scheduling flexibility. If you can take a week off a few times a year, programs like Union University or Vanderbilt may be worth the trips for the cohort connections and faculty access they offer. Nurses weighing options in neighboring states may also want to compare online DNP NP programs in Texas, where hybrid formats follow a similar pattern.
Working nurses should pay particular attention to programs that note full-time enrollment expectations. UT Chattanooga, for instance, does not encourage students to work full-time during the program, a practical reality worth factoring into your decision long before you submit an application.5
DNP NP Specialties You Can Earn Online in Tennessee
Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP) is by far the most widely available DNP specialty in Tennessee, offered at seven schools through hybrid or fully online formats. Pediatric Nurse Practitioner (PNP) and Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (AGACNP) each appear at two to three schools, making them moderately accessible. Rarer specialties such as PMHNP, AGPCNP, NNP, and WHNP are offered at only one or two Tennessee institutions, primarily through the University of Tennessee Health Science Center, which lists 13 concentration options, and East Tennessee State University and Southern Adventist University, which each offer multiple focus areas. Most FNP programs support a BSN to DNP pathway, while PNP and AGACNP tracks vary: some accept BSN entrants, others require an MSN. If you are targeting a less common specialty, confirm availability and entry pathway directly with the school.
| NP Specialty | School | Format | BSN to DNP | MSN to DNP |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FNP | Belmont University | Hybrid | Yes | Yes |
| FNP | East Tennessee State University | Hybrid | Yes | Yes |
| FNP | Lee University | Hybrid | Yes | Yes |
| FNP | Southern Adventist University | Hybrid | Yes | Yes |
| FNP | Tennessee Tech (joint with ETSU) | Online | Yes | Yes |
| FNP | The University of Tennessee, Chattanooga | Hybrid | Yes | N/A |
| FNP | The University of Tennessee Health Science Center | Hybrid | Yes | Yes |
| FNP | Union University | Hybrid | Yes | N/A |
| PNP (Primary Care) | East Tennessee State University | Hybrid | Yes | Yes |
| PNP (Primary/Acute Care Dual) | The University of Tennessee, Knoxville | Hybrid | Yes | Yes |
| PNP (Primary Care) | Tennessee Tech (joint with ETSU) | Online | Yes | Yes |
| AGACNP | Baptist Health Sciences University | Hybrid | Yes | Yes |
| AGACNP | King University | Hybrid | Yes | N/A |
| AGACNP | The University of Tennessee Health Science Center | Hybrid | Yes | Yes |
Tennessee Online DNP Tuition and Cost Comparison
Tuition for online DNP NP programs in Tennessee ranges widely, from roughly $11,100 to nearly $27,800 per year at the graduate level. The biggest factor behind this spread is whether a school is public or private: Tennessee's public universities offer lower in-state rates (and sometimes modest out-of-state premiums), while private institutions charge a flat rate regardless of residency. Keep in mind that the net price figures shown here are institution-wide averages covering all students and degree levels; your actual cost as a graduate student will depend on your enrollment status, financial aid package, and program length. When budgeting, look at the graduate-level tuition column rather than undergraduate figures you may see on federal data sites, since DNP students are billed at graduate rates.
| School | Sector | Graduate Tuition (In-State) | Graduate Tuition (Out-of-State) | Avg. Net Price (Institution-Wide) | Median Graduate Debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Baptist Health Sciences University | Private | Not separately reported | Not separately reported | $11,212 | $29,500 |
| Tennessee Tech | Public | $12,386 | $15,746 | $14,246 | $15,650 |
| UT Chattanooga | Public | $11,110 | $19,174 | $14,265 | $19,500 |
| East Tennessee State University | Public | $11,366 | $26,486 | $15,983 | $19,442 |
| Lee University | Private | $17,480 | $17,480 | $18,878 | $25,750 |
| UT Knoxville | Public | $15,972 | $34,760 | $18,976 | $20,500 |
| King University | Private | $16,073 | $16,073 | $22,347 | $22,750 |
| Southern Adventist University | Private | $13,760 | $13,760 | $24,345 | $24,500 |
| Union University | Private | $14,419 | $14,419 | $27,171 | $20,714 |
| Belmont University | Private | $27,810 | $27,810 | $33,147 | $20,500 |
Explore other Tennessee related topics
Related Articles
BSN-to-DNP vs. MSN-to-DNP: How Long Each Pathway Takes in Tennessee
Choosing the right DNP pathway depends on where you are in your education. Tennessee programs generally follow two tracks: BSN-to-DNP for nurses entering directly from a bachelor's degree, and MSN-to-DNP for those who already hold a master's. Timelines vary by enrollment status and specialty, so confirm details with each school's admissions office and check the Tennessee Board of Nursing or the AACN for current clinical hour and accreditation standards.

Accreditation, Earnings, and Outcomes Across Tennessee DNP Programs
The distinction between accreditation bodies often confuses prospective DNP students, yet it directly affects whether you can sit for national certification exams after graduation.
Understanding CCNE and ACEN Accreditation
Tennessee's DNP programs typically carry accreditation from the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE), the accrediting arm of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing.1 A smaller number hold accreditation through the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN). Both are recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and the Tennessee Board of Nursing. Either credential qualifies graduates to apply for AANP or ANCC certification, so the practical difference for most students is minimal. The University of Tennessee Health Science Center, for example, holds CCNE accreditation through 2034, while its nurse anesthesia concentration carries separate Council on Accreditation (COA) approval through 2029.2 South College's DNP program is also CCNE-accredited.3 Before enrolling, confirm that your chosen program and specialty track carry current accreditation from an approved body. You can verify status through the CCNE accredited programs directory.
What Outcome Data Reveals (and What Remains Unpublished)
Program-level earnings and employment data for Tennessee DNP graduates are not yet publicly reported in federal datasets. This means you cannot compare median salaries one year after completion or see what percentage of DNP graduates are working versus pursuing additional education. The absence of this data is common across advanced practice programs nationwide, so do not interpret missing figures as a red flag for any specific school.
Institution-wide graduation rates offer a rough signal of school quality but should be interpreted cautiously. These rates reflect undergraduate completion, not DNP-specific outcomes. A university with a 74 percent four-year graduation rate, such as the University of Tennessee-Knoxville, is demonstrating broad institutional effectiveness rather than guaranteeing your DNP cohort will finish at the same pace. If you are also weighing best online DNP nurse practitioner programs at the national level, keep in mind that outcome reporting gaps are equally common elsewhere.
Certification Pass Rates Worth Noting
Several Tennessee programs report FNP certification pass rates between 90 and 100 percent, with some schools like UT Chattanooga and UTHSC citing 100 percent first-time pass rates.4 These figures come from individual program disclosures rather than centralized board reporting, so ask admissions offices for the most recent data if pass rates factor heavily into your decision. If you are considering a family nurse practitioner program, strong pass-rate data can help you compare Tennessee options against programs in other states.
Arranging Clinical Placements as an Online DNP Student in Tennessee
Clinical placement is the piece of an online DNP program that trips up the most students, and getting it right starts well before your first semester.
School-Arranged vs. Student-Secured Placements
Tennessee DNP programs generally fall into one of two models. In the school-arranged model, the program's clinical team identifies, vets, and assigns sites on your behalf. Vanderbilt University's School of Nursing operates this way: its Clinical Placement Office coordinates and assigns sites, and students are specifically instructed not to contact local facilities directly. All placement communication runs through Vanderbilt's team. This approach removes a major burden from students but comes with a trade-off: the program cannot guarantee placements in every part of the country, which matters if you live in a rural or underserved area.
Other programs lean on a student-secured model, where you are responsible for identifying a willing preceptor and site, then submitting that site for faculty approval. This gives you more control but demands more legwork. If you're new to this process, our guide on how to find NP preceptors walks through the steps in detail. Ideally, you should start this work before classes begin rather than mid-program.
Hour Requirements and Geography
Post-master's DNP tracks typically require roughly 500 to 1,000 clinical hours, while BSN-to-DNP pathways generally exceed 1,000 hours given the combined NP and doctoral components. The sheer volume means geography matters. Students in densely populated metro areas like Nashville, Memphis, or Knoxville tend to have easier access to diverse practice settings. Rural students may face longer drives or longer waits for site approval.
Out-of-State Clinical Options
If you live outside Tennessee, many programs will accommodate you. Vanderbilt, for example, actively supports out-of-state students in locating clinical sites, with faculty and staff working collaboratively to find appropriate placements within a 150-mile radius of where you live. Students in that arrangement are encouraged to suggest sites they already have connections to, which can speed things up considerably. One firm requirement: you must hold an active, unencumbered RN license in the state where you complete your clinical hours. For a broader look at navigating licensure and enrollment across state lines, see our article on online NP programs for out-of-state students.
Practical Tips Before You Enroll
- Start early: Reach out to a program's clinical coordinator during the application process, not after you are admitted.
- Leverage your employer: Hospitals and health systems where you already work are often the fastest path to an approved site.
- Ask the specific question: Find out whether the program arranges your placements or expects you to find them, then weigh that honestly against your schedule and local options.
- Check licensure rules: If you plan to complete clinicals outside Tennessee, confirm your home state's compact or reciprocity status well in advance.
Tennessee's NP Practice Authority and What It Means for DNP Graduates
Earning a DNP in Tennessee means practicing in a state that still places guardrails around nurse practitioners. Understanding those rules upfront helps you weigh the degree's value and plan where you want your career to land.
Where Tennessee Stands on NP Scope of Practice
As of 2025-2026, Tennessee is classified as a restricted-practice state by the AANP.1 That means:
- Collaborative agreement: Every NP must maintain a written collaborative agreement with a supervising physician that spells out scope of services, decision-making, communication, consultation, referral, and coverage.2
- Prescriptive authority: NPs can prescribe, but under restricted rules that require physician involvement, including chart review.
- Practice ownership: Tennessee NPs cannot operate a fully independent practice without a collaborating physician.
- Legislative status: Bills to move Tennessee toward full practice authority have been introduced repeatedly but have not been enacted. A transition-to-practice model (used by some neighboring states) has not been adopted.5
If you plan to own a clinic or practice in a remote county without a nearby physician, these constraints matter and should shape where you take your first DNP-level role. For a broader look at which states grant autonomy, see our nurse practitioner practice authority by state guide.
Why a DNP Still Pays Off in a Restricted State
A DNP does not change Tennessee scope of practice on its own, but it positions you for the work that does move the needle: health system leadership, quality and safety roles, faculty appointments, and nurse practitioner health policy toolkit efforts through organizations like the Tennessee Nurses Association. DNP-prepared NPs are also the ones most often invited to the table when legislators revisit independence bills, and staying informed about the evolving role of nurse practitioners helps you advocate effectively.
Salary Context and Rural Demand
The BLS tracks Tennessee NPs under SOC code 29-1171, with the highest-paying metro areas concentrated in Nashville, Knoxville, and Memphis.6 Specific median and percentile wages shift with each BLS update, so check the most current Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics release before making an ROI calculation against MSN-level pay.
What is consistent: Tennessee's rural counties face persistent primary care shortages, and DNP-prepared FNPs and PMHNPs willing to work outside the major metros often find loan repayment options, sign-on bonuses, and meaningful clinical autonomy within the collaborative model.
Paying for Your Tennessee DNP: Scholarships, Loan Repayment, and Aid
The NURSE Corps Scholarship Program covers full tuition, eligible fees, and a monthly living stipend through an annual application cycle, making it one of the most generous federal options available to nursing students.1 If you are already carrying student debt, the NURSE Corps Loan Repayment Program offers a parallel path: commit to working at a Critical Shortage Facility and a significant portion of your balance can be retired through service rather than monthly payments.
Federal and National Programs
The National Health Service Corps Loan Repayment Program works similarly, directing funds toward nurses who practice in Health Professional Shortage Areas. Both programs suit DNP graduates well, since NPs frequently fill primary care gaps in rural and underserved Tennessee communities. Public Service Loan Forgiveness is another long-game option: 120 qualifying payments while working for a nonprofit or government employer, and your remaining federal loan balance is forgiven.
Tennessee-Specific Opportunities
The Northeast Tennessee Nurse Practitioner Association (NETNPA) awards a $1,000 scholarship twice yearly to Tennessee RNs currently enrolled in an NP program, keeping eligibility close to home.3 If you are pursuing a faculty-track DNP, the Nurse Faculty Loan Program at Vanderbilt can cancel up to 85% of loan principal after four years of full-time teaching, provided you complete two required education elective courses. Vanderbilt also offers merit-based DNP scholarships of $1,000 per semester for students enrolled in at least two credit hours. The University of Tennessee College of Nursing directs applicants to a Graduate Scholarship Application alongside the FAFSA, so filing both early in each cycle is worth your time.4 Students weighing whether the doctoral investment makes financial sense may find it helpful to compare the DNP vs PhD nursing career and salary outlook before committing.
Employer Reimbursement and Assistantships
For working nurses, employer tuition reimbursement is often the most immediately accessible funding source. Many Tennessee health systems quietly offer graduate education benefits that go unclaimed simply because nurses do not ask. Check your HR handbook and bring it up during open enrollment or performance review conversations.
The AACN also maintains a scholarship database with awards available through 2026, and organizations such as CEUfast offer graduate nursing scholarships open to DNP candidates.5 Stacking a few of these smaller awards alongside employer reimbursement and a federal loan program is how most working nurses realistically piece together DNP funding without taking on unmanageable debt.






