Most important takeaways…
- Minnesota online FNP tuition ranges from about $6,600 to over $23,000 per year depending on the institution.
- Most programs take two to three years full time, with part-time options stretching to four years.
- Minnesota grants full practice authority to FNPs after a short initial collaborative period.
- NP employment in Minnesota is projected to grow by roughly 1,200 openings annually through the early 2030s.
Rural Minnesota counties face a shortage of primary care providers that FNPs are increasingly being asked to fill. The state has more than 80 federally designated Health Professional Shortage Areas, many concentrated outside the Twin Cities metro, and healthcare systems there are actively recruiting advanced practice nurses to close the gap.
Several Minnesota institutions now offer MSN-FNP programs with online or hybrid coursework built around schedules that working RNs can actually manage. The practical tension most applicants face isn't motivation, it's logistics: tuition varies by more than $16,000 annually across in-state programs, clinical placement support ranges from fully hands-off to fully coordinated, and part-time completion timelines stretch anywhere from two to four years.
For Minnesota RNs, the decision about which program fits comes down to cost, clinical infrastructure, and how well a program's schedule bends around existing shift work. The rankings, cost breakdowns, and clinical placement details below are designed to help you compare those variables side by side.
Minnesota's Best Online FNP Programs: 2027 Rankings
These are the Minnesota schools where you can actually complete most of a family nurse practitioner education online, paired with in-state clinical placements. Each entry below reflects how flexible the coursework really is, what it costs Minnesota and non-Minnesota students, and how the school performs on graduation and student debt measures.
Factors considered
- Earnings ten years after entry
- Tuition adjusted for local costs
- Online and hybrid availability
- Institution-wide graduation rate
- Student borrowing and debt
- Program-level records maintained in house
- Independent editorial research
- National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
- State cost-of-living adjustment from BEA Regional Price Parities — bea.gov
- Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
The University of Minnesota Twin Cities anchors advanced practice nursing education in the state, and its family nurse practitioner track sits inside a Doctor of Nursing Practice rather than a master's. The School of Nursing arranges clinical placements through a statewide network that reaches both the Twin Cities and rural Minnesota, which matters if you do not want to cold-call preceptors yourself. Coursework is hybrid, so you can keep working while attending periodic campus sessions, and the school reports roughly 1,000 clinical hours plus a DNP project. It is the most selective and the most expensive public option on this list, and teaching assistant roles can offset some tuition.
- Approximately 1,000 clinical hours with institution-arranged placements
- Hybrid delivery with on-campus intensives each semester
- Clinical network of more than 200 sites across Minnesota
- DNP project focused on systems improvement
- Selectable 3-year or 4-year plans of study
- Teaching assistant roles can provide tuition remission
- Prepares for ANCC or AANPCB certification
Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP), Doctor of Nursing Practice — Hybrid
Rasmussen University-Minnesota
Rasmussen is a Minnesota-headquartered institution built around online delivery, and its MSN nurse practitioner program carries a family nurse practitioner concentration designed for working registered nurses. There is no GRE requirement, coursework is fully online, and clinical practicum hours are completed locally with coordination support. Full-time students finish in roughly 27 months, and the school estimates total tuition and fees near $51,130. Military tuition benefits and employer reimbursement are both accepted, and a DNP pathway is available afterward.
- Fully online coursework with in-person practicum hours
- About 27 months for full-time students
- No GRE requirement, 3.0 GPA and unencumbered RN license required
- CCNE accredited program
- Estimated total cost near $51,130
- Virtual immersion experiences plus local practicums
- January and July start dates
- Seamless pathway into a DNP
Master of Science in Nursing Nurse Practitioner (MSN-NP), Family Nurse Practitioner — Online
Saint Cloud State University
Saint Cloud State runs a Doctor of Nursing Practice family nurse practitioner track in partnership with the University of Minnesota School of Nursing, an arrangement that is unusual among Minnesota programs. The cohort model targets primary care in rural and underserved parts of central Minnesota, with roughly 900 clinical hours concentrated at CentraCare facilities. CentraCare employees receive priority consideration, which makes this a practical route for nurses already inside that system. In-state graduate tuition is among the lowest on this list, and the program starts each fall on a three-year schedule.
- Three-year cohort program starting each fall
- Around 900 clinical hours at CentraCare facilities
- Priority consideration for CentraCare employees
- Offered with the University of Minnesota School of Nursing
- Focus on rural and underserved central Minnesota
- Dedicated faculty liaison supports students throughout
- Prepares for national FNP certification
Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP), Doctor of Nursing Practice — Hybrid
Metropolitan State University
Metropolitan State is a public urban university in Saint Paul with a mission aimed squarely at underserved Twin Cities communities, and that shows up in its family nurse practitioner curriculum. The DNP track guarantees clinical placements and requires more than 1,000 hours across urban, rural, and underserved settings, which removes the preceptor hunt that trips up many students. Didactic coursework is online with in-person clinical work, and the school reports one of the higher graduation rates among Minnesota's regional publics. Faculty maintain active advanced practice, and a clinical coordinator supports DNP students specifically.
- Guaranteed clinical placements across urban, rural, and underserved sites
- Over 1,000 clinical hours with a capstone project
- Hybrid format blending online didactic work with in-person clinicals
- CCNE accredited
- Rolling admissions with a fall cohort start
- 3.0 GPA and one year of RN experience required
Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP), Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Saint Johns University
Saint John's University offers a Doctor of Nursing Practice family nurse practitioner track on a hybrid schedule, pairing online coursework with campus immersions so practicing nurses can continue working. The curriculum covers comprehensive assessment, diagnostic reasoning, and management of acute and chronic conditions across the lifespan, with advanced procedural skills built in. The program reports a 100% certification pass rate and prefers applicants with at least two years of RN experience. Sticker tuition is high, but the school's overall graduation rate is among the strongest on this list.
- Hybrid delivery with online coursework and campus immersions
- Two start dates per year in fall and spring
- Reported 100% licensure pass rate
- 3.0 GPA minimum, two years of RN experience preferred
- Training in advanced procedural skills and diagnostic interpretation
- Care across the lifespan in homes, clinics, and hospitals
Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP), Doctor of Nursing Practice — Hybrid
The College of Saint Scholastica
The College of Saint Scholastica in Duluth is the northern Minnesota option, and its family nurse practitioner credential is a post-graduate certificate rather than a full degree. That makes it a fit for nurse practitioners or advanced practice nurses who already hold a graduate nursing degree and want to add FNP certification. The program is hybrid with minimal on-campus meetings, requires 43 credits and roughly 1,020 supervised clinical hours over four semesters, and is approved by the Minnesota Board of Nursing. Tuition is billed per credit, with a January 15 deadline for the May cohort.
- 43 credits with about 1,020 supervised clinical hours
- Completed across four semesters
- Hybrid format with minimal on-campus meetings
- Approved by the Minnesota Board of Nursing
- NursingCAS application with a January 15 deadline for the May cohort
- Tuition billed at $962 per credit for 2025-26
- Gap analysis determines how many credits you need
Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP), Post-Graduate APRN Certificate — Hybrid
St Catherine University
St. Catherine University runs one of the oldest nurse practitioner programs in Minnesota, and its DNP family nurse practitioner track is built around critical inquiry, ethical leadership, and social justice. A dedicated clinical placement coordinator arranges all clinical experiences, with roughly 810 in-person hours concentrated in Minnesota practice sites, which is a real advantage for nurses who dread securing their own preceptors. Delivery is primarily online with one or two campus intensives per semester. The full-time doctoral program spans 69 credits over three or four years and includes a DNP project.
- 69 credits completed over three or four years
- Dedicated clinical placement coordinator arranges all sites
- Roughly 810 in-person clinical hours in Minnesota
- Primarily online with one or two campus intensives per semester
- DNP project focused on quality improvement
- Curriculum emphasizes care for vulnerable populations
- One of the first nurse practitioner programs in Minnesota
DNP: Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Capella University
Capella is headquartered in Minneapolis and built its reputation on online and competency-based learning, and its MSN family nurse practitioner program follows that model. Coursework is online with in-person practicum experiences, requiring 68 quarter credits and a minimum of 750 practicum hours, with placement support provided. Admission requires a BSN, a 3.0 GPA, an active RN license, and one year of recent RN experience, and there is no application fee or entrance exam. Tuition is $595 per credit with an estimated total around $40,460, and the school reports the lowest graduation rate on this list.
- 68 quarter credits with at least 750 practicum hours
- Hybrid format combining online courses with in-person practicum
- $595 per credit, estimated total near $40,460
- BSN with 3.0 GPA, active RN license, and one year of experience
- No application fee, no GRE or GMAT required
- Practicum placement support provided
- Scholarships and military discounts available
- CCNE accredited
MSN in Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
College of Saint Benedict
The College of Saint Benedict shares its graduate nursing program with Saint John's University, and the family nurse practitioner track is delivered in a hybrid format that lets working nurses keep their jobs while studying. Coursework covers health assessment, diagnostic reasoning, and advanced procedures, with clinical experiences spanning hospitals, clinics, and community health centers in central Minnesota. The program reports a 100% certification pass rate and prefers applicants with two years of RN experience. It starts twice a year, in fall and spring, and is one of the pricier private options on the list.
- Hybrid format with online coursework and campus sessions
- Two start dates per year in fall and spring
- Reported 100% licensure pass rate
- 3.0 GPA minimum with two years of RN experience preferred
- Clinical experiences in hospitals, clinics, and community health centers
- Advanced procedural skills and diagnostic test interpretation
Doctor of Nursing Practice, Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Augsburg University
Augsburg is a Minneapolis liberal arts university whose DNP family nurse practitioner track emphasizes integrative primary care across cultures, with transcultural immersion practica built into the curriculum. The 80-credit, full-time program starts each fall and blends synchronous Zoom sessions with asynchronous coursework, so nurses outside the metro can participate without relocating. A clinical placement director arranges diverse primary care experiences, which takes the preceptor burden off students. The program is CCNE accredited and reports financial aid and scholarships are available; it is also one of the largest credit loads on this list.
- 80 credits completed in a four-year full-time plan
- Starts each fall with a full-time schedule
- Synchronous and asynchronous hybrid coursework
- Transcultural immersion practica available
- Clinical placement director arranges primary care experiences
- Financial aid and scholarships offered
- Prepares for ANCC or AANP FNP certification
- CCNE accredited
Doctor of Nursing Practice - Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Walden University
Walden is a Minneapolis-headquartered online university whose MSN family nurse practitioner program is designed for remote study with no travel requirements. The CCNE-accredited program offers BSN to MSN and RN to MSN tracks, with completion in as few as 24 to 30 months, making it one of the faster paths on this list. Practicum hours total around 640, and the school's Practicum Pledge provides placement support, plus a virtual skills lab for hands-on practice. Admission requires an active RN license, with no application fee, no essay, and no entrance exam. A DNP in family nurse practitioner is also available with roughly 1,000 clinical hours.
- BSN to MSN and RN to MSN tracks available
- Completed in as few as 24 to 30 months
- About 640 practicum hours with placement support
- Tuition starts at $40,650
- No application fee, essay, or entrance exam required
- Virtual skills lab and supervised clinical experiences
- Flexible part-time or full-time study
- CCNE accredited
MSN - Family Nurse Practitioner — Online
Fully Online or Hybrid? How Minnesota FNP Programs Are Actually Delivered
When a program calls itself "online," that can mean very different things. Some programs deliver all coursework asynchronously, letting you watch lectures and complete assignments on your own schedule. Others blend asynchronous content with live, scheduled video sessions (synchronous). And many Minnesota FNP programs are hybrid, meaning you will travel to campus for orientations, immersion weekends, or lab days in addition to online coursework. Regardless of how coursework is delivered, every FNP program requires in-person clinical hours, so no program is 100% remote from start to finish.
| School | Coursework Delivery | Synchronous or Asynchronous | On-Campus Requirements | Clinical Hours |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Minnesota, Twin Cities | Hybrid | Not specified | In-person components required; flexible 3-year or 4-year plans | 1,000 hours (in person) |
| Metropolitan State University | Hybrid | Not specified | In-person components required | 1,000 hours (in person) |
| St. Catherine University | Hybrid | Not specified | One to three in-person commitments per term | Required (in person) |
| College of Saint Benedict | Hybrid | Not specified | In-person components required | Required (in person) |
| Augsburg University | Hybrid | Both synchronous and asynchronous | In-person components required | Required (in person) |
| Saint Cloud State University | Hybrid | Not specified | In-person components required; cohort-based structure | 900 hours (in person) |
| The College of Saint Scholastica | Hybrid | Not specified | Minimal on-campus meetings | 1,020 hours (in person) |
| Rasmussen University | Online | Mostly asynchronous | No recurring campus intensives; virtual immersion experiences replace traditional on-campus days | Required (in person) |
| Capella University | Online | Primarily asynchronous | No regularly scheduled on-campus intensives | 750 minimum hours (in person) |
| Walden University | Online | Primarily asynchronous | No standing campus requirement, though possible residencies may apply | 640 hours (in person) |
Questions to Ask Yourself
Tuition and Total Cost: What Minnesota Online FNP Programs Charge
Annual tuition for online FNP programs in Minnesota ranges widely, from roughly $6,600 at Rasmussen University to over $23,000 at College of Saint Benedict. Public universities like Saint Cloud State and Metropolitan State tend to cluster at the lower end, while private institutions spread across a broader range. Keep in mind that the institution-wide net price figures reported by each school are approximate averages across all students and degree levels; your actual out-of-pocket cost will depend on your financial aid package, residency status, and program length. Median graduate debt across these schools ranges from about $14,968 (Capella) to $26,944 (College of Saint Benedict), which gives a more grounded picture of what students actually borrow.

Minnesota-Specific Financial Aid, Scholarships, and Loan Forgiveness for FNP Students
How much financial support can Minnesota FNP students actually access through state programs, scholarships, and loan forgiveness?
The answer depends on where you work after graduation, your employer, and how strategically you apply for available funding. Minnesota offers several pathways to reduce the cost of your FNP education, from state grants to federal loan repayment programs targeting rural and underserved communities.
Minnesota Nursing Scholarships and Grants
The Minnesota Nurses Association Foundation offers scholarships up to $7,500 for graduate nursing students, with applications typically due in early summer.1 This is one of the larger state-specific awards available to FNP students pursuing advanced practice credentials.
Allina Health's New Ulm Medical Center provides nursing and healthcare career scholarships of $5,000, which can apply to students in affiliated programs or those committed to working in the Allina system after graduation.2
SEIU Healthcare Minnesota and Iowa members can access scholarships of $1,000, with two application windows each year: January 30 and August 31.3 While smaller, these awards stack with other funding sources.
The Minnesota State Grant program provides need-based aid for graduate students enrolled at eligible Minnesota institutions.4 Award amounts vary based on financial circumstances, enrollment status, and program costs.
Federal Loan Repayment for Minnesota FNPs
The National Health Service Corps Loan Repayment Program offers substantial debt relief for FNPs who commit to practicing in Health Professional Shortage Areas.5 Minnesota has numerous HPSA-designated sites, particularly in rural northern and western regions of the state. Eligibility requires employment at an NHSC-approved site, with service commitments typically spanning two to four years.
Public Service Loan Forgiveness remains available for FNPs employed full-time at nonprofit health systems. After 120 qualifying payments while working for an eligible employer, remaining federal loan balances are forgiven. Many Minnesota hospitals, including nonprofit systems throughout the state, qualify as PSLF-eligible employers. For a deeper look at these options, see our guide to nurse practitioner student loan forgiveness.
Employer Tuition Assistance Programs
Major Minnesota health systems commonly offer tuition reimbursement for employees pursuing advanced degrees. While specific current amounts vary by employer and position, Allina Health, Mayo Clinic, and Essentia Health have historically provided educational benefits for nurses advancing to NP roles. If you are currently employed at a Minnesota health system, contact your human resources department directly for current tuition assistance policies, as these programs often require a service commitment after graduation.
Combining employer assistance with scholarships and planning for loan repayment eligibility can significantly reduce your total out-of-pocket costs for an FNP program. Students considering whether to start this journey may also find it helpful to review the key steps for transitioning from RN to nurse practitioner.
Explore other Minnesota related topics
Related Articles
How Long Will It Take? Program Length and Scheduling Options
Full-time and part-time enrollment lead to very different finish lines, and the right choice depends on whether you can step back from bedside hours or need to keep working your current schedule.
Credit Hour Requirements
Most post-BSN MSN-FNP programs in Minnesota fall in the 45 to 50 credit range. Winona State, Minnesota State Mankato, and St. Catherine University all require roughly 45 to 50 semester credits. Bethel University's program comes in at 45 to 48 credits, making it comparable. Two nationally headquartered schools with a strong Minnesota presence differ: Capella University requires about 40 semester credits, while Walden University's program runs 50 to 60 credits, the widest range in this group.
Full-Time vs. Part-Time Timelines
If you enroll full-time, plan on about two to three years at most Minnesota-based programs, including Winona State, Minnesota State Mankato, and St. Catherine University. Bethel's full-time track runs slightly longer at roughly two and a half to three years. Capella stands out with the fastest possible pace: 14 to 24 months for a focused full-time student. If you are exploring accelerated nurse practitioner programs more broadly, Capella's timeline is among the most compressed you will find. Walden's full-time timeline is closer to 24 months.
Part-time students at the four Minnesota-based schools should expect three to four years. At Capella and Walden, part-time timelines stretch to about two and a half to three or more years, depending on how many courses you carry each term.
Flexibility for Working RNs
If you are juggling three 12-hour shifts per week, start dates and scheduling flexibility matter as much as total program length. Capella and Walden offer multiple start dates throughout the year, so you can begin when your schedule allows rather than waiting for a single fall cohort. The four Minnesota-based programs (Winona State, Mankato, St. Catherine, and Bethel) primarily admit new students in the fall, which means you need to plan your application timeline further in advance.
Capella's year-round enrollment also lets you speed up or slow down between terms, a genuine advantage when overtime spikes or family obligations shift. Walden's multiple annual intakes provide similar flexibility, though its higher credit total may offset some of that time savings. If you are also weighing a terminal degree, understanding how long a DNP program takes can help you compare the MSN and DNP investment side by side.
Key Takeaways for Planning
- Fastest possible completion: Capella's 14-month accelerated pace is the quickest option, assuming you can commit to a heavy course load.
- Most traditional structure: Winona State, Mankato, St. Catherine, and Bethel follow a cohort model with fall entry, which works well if you prefer a predictable schedule with classmates who move through the program together.
- Best for unpredictable schedules: Capella and Walden give you the most control over pacing, with rolling or multiple-start enrollment windows that accommodate shift work.
Before committing, confirm each program's course sequencing. Some schools lock prerequisite chains that effectively dictate your pace regardless of how many credits you want to carry per term.
Clinical Placement Support: What Minnesota FNP Programs Actually Provide
The most stressful part of an online FNP program isn't the coursework; it's finding clinical placements. Yet the support you receive can make or break your timeline.
The Two Clinical Placement Models
Online FNP programs generally follow one of two approaches to clinical placements. In the school-arranged model, the program identifies sites and preceptors, matches you with them, and handles the administrative work. In the self-placement model, you are responsible for finding your own clinical preceptors, though the school must approve your choices. Both models are common, and each has trade-offs: school-arranged placements offer convenience but may limit your geographic flexibility, while self-placement lets you choose a site that fits your schedule but can be time-consuming and uncertain. For a deeper look at what these experiences involve, our guide to nurse practitioner clinical rotations covers the student role, typical hours, and what to expect.
Which Minnesota Programs Arrange Placements for You?
Among the programs featured in this ranking, Winona State University stands out for its proactive approach. Winona arranges clinical placements for its graduate nursing students and employs a clinical placement coordinator to oversee the process.1 While travel to clinical sites is typically required, the school handles the logistics of securing preceptors.2 Most other online FNP programs in Minnesota, including those at public universities and private colleges, rely on a self-placement model. Students in these programs must locate preceptors and submit them for approval. Large online providers like Capella University and Walden University also follow this student-driven model, often providing a preceptor database or coordinator assistance but ultimately leaving the legwork to the learner.
The Rural Minnesota Challenge
For nurses living in Greater Minnesota, finding a preceptor can be especially difficult. Preceptor networks are thinner in rural towns like Bemidji, Willmar, or Marshall, and local clinics may already be stretched thin. Schools with established rural partnerships, such as Winona's network, can be a lifeline, but students in self-placement programs often need to cold-call clinics or travel long distances. If you plan to practice in a rural area after graduation, ask programs candidly about their recent placement history in smaller communities. Some have built connections over years; others have very limited reach outside the Twin Cities metro.
Clinical Hour Requirements and How They're Phased
The total clinical hours required for FNP programs in Minnesota typically range from 500 to 720 hours, although specifics vary. Winona State University, for example, requires 300 clinical hours, a figure that reflects its accelerated post-baccalaureate MSN pathway.2 Most programs spread clinical hours across two to three semesters, beginning with foundational patient encounters and progressing to full precepted practice. You'll typically complete a set number of hours per week in a primary care setting, seeing pediatric, adult, and geriatric patients to meet national certification benchmarks. Before applying, confirm the program's exact hour breakdown and whether it meets your state's licensure requirements. Our overview of FNP clinical rotations covers hour requirements and tips in more detail.
Tips for Students Who Must Self-Place
If your program expects you to find your own clinical sites, start early, ideally 6 to 12 months before your first practicum course begins. You can also review our article on how online NP students arrange local clinical placements for additional strategies. Here's how to improve your odds:
- Lean on professional networks: Reach out to the Minnesota Nurse Practitioners organization, your local APRN council, and alumni groups. Many preceptors prefer to work with nurses they already know.
- Prepare a professional packet: Create a concise email or letter introducing yourself, your program's requirements, and what you bring to the clinic. Include your resume and malpractice insurance details.
- Cast a wide net: Don't limit yourself to your immediate zip code. Consider federally qualified health centers, rural clinics, and private practices, sites often overlooked by other students.
- Treat it like a partnership: When you approach a clinic, frame the opportunity as a mutual benefit: you bring current evidence-based knowledge, and they gain a motivated clinician who may eventually join their team.
- Stay organized: Track every contact, follow up politely, and have backup options in case a preceptor drops out.
Self-placement can be stressful, but with a systematic approach and the right supports, many Minnesota FNP students successfully navigate it.
What You Need to Get in: Admission Requirements Compared
Schools that publish detailed admission criteria online versus those that ask you to call for specifics represent two different experiences from the very first step. Knowing which category a program falls into helps you plan your application timeline and avoid surprises.
The Core Requirements Most Programs Share
Across Winona State, Minnesota State Mankato, St. Catherine, Bethel, Capella, and Walden, you will generally encounter a consistent set of baseline expectations. A completed BSN from a regionally accredited institution is the standard entry point for all of these programs. Most programs ask for a minimum undergraduate GPA, typically in the 3.0 range, though some weigh your most recent coursework more heavily if your overall record is uneven.
Clinical experience matters just as much as academic credentials. The majority of programs expect at least one to two years of RN practice, and many prefer applicants with experience in acute care or a specialty relevant to primary care. When you contact an admissions advisor, ask specifically how they evaluate part-time versus full-time experience, since policies vary.
Prerequisite coursework is another common hurdle. Statistics, health assessment, and pathophysiology appear frequently on prerequisite lists, and some programs require these to be completed within a defined number of years. For a broader look at what graduate nursing programs typically expect, our guide to DNP prerequisites breaks down the most common requirements. If your transcripts are older, be prepared to retake a course or document recent continuing education.
Where Programs Differ
The GRE and MAT are where programs start to diverge. Several programs in this group have moved away from standardized test requirements entirely, while others still list them as optional or conditionally required. This is an area where official policy can change year to year, so verify the current stance directly with each program before you apply.
Letters of recommendation are standard across the board, but the number required and the preferred source (clinical supervisor, academic faculty, or both) differ by program. Application deadlines also vary considerably, with some programs using rolling admissions and others holding to fixed windows for fall or spring cohorts.
How to Get Accurate, Current Information
All six programs are approved by the Minnesota Board of Nursing, and the Board publishes a list of approved advanced practice nursing programs that can serve as a starting point for verifying a school's standing.1 Understanding nursing accreditation standards, including the differences between ACEN and CCNE, is another reliable way to evaluate what programs require of applicants.
For the most precise and up-to-date admission details, including GPA cutoffs, experience requirements, prerequisite deadlines, and any test score policies, go directly to each school's graduate nursing program page or contact an admissions advisor. Graduate catalogs, which most universities publish online, often contain more granular information than the main program page and are updated each academic year.
Taking an hour to request or download the current graduate catalog from each school you are seriously considering will save you significantly more time later. Requirements that looked identical on comparison sites can turn out to differ in ways that matter once you read the fine print.
Frequently Asked Questions About Online FNP Programs in Minnesota
Minnesota nurses considering the leap to family nurse practitioner often share similar questions about cost, timelines, clinical requirements, and licensure. Below are answers grounded in published data and current Minnesota regulations to help you plan with confidence.
- What is the best online FNP program in Minnesota?
- The best fit depends on your schedule, budget, and learning style. However, Winona State University stands out with a 100% first-time certification pass rate. Minnesota FNP programs overall have posted pass rates between 94% and 100% over the last five years, so the state's options are consistently strong. Rankings on nursepractitioneronline.com weigh accreditation, outcomes, flexibility, and cost to help you compare.
- How much do online FNP programs in Minnesota cost?
- Total tuition for Minnesota online FNP programs varies widely, from roughly $20,000 at some state universities to $60,000 or more at private institutions. Costs depend on credit requirements, residency status, and whether you pursue an MSN or DNP track. Always check for program-specific fees, clinical placement expenses, and technology charges that may not appear in the base tuition figure.
- Do online FNP programs in Minnesota help arrange clinical placements?
- Support varies by program. Some Minnesota FNP programs maintain established preceptor networks and actively place students at clinical sites across the state. Others expect you to identify and secure your own preceptors, though they may provide guidance and a database of contacts. Ask each school directly about the level of placement assistance before you enroll, especially if you live in a rural area.
- What are the admission requirements for online FNP programs in Minnesota?
- Most accredited online FNP programs in Minnesota require an active, unencumbered RN license, a BSN from an accredited institution, a minimum GPA (typically 3.0), and at least one to two years of clinical nursing experience. Some programs also request letters of recommendation, a personal statement, and a resume. GRE requirements have been dropped by many schools, but verify with each program.
- How long does it take to complete an online FNP program in Minnesota?
- Full-time MSN FNP students typically finish in two to three years. Part-time tracks, designed for working nurses, may extend to three or four years. DNP programs generally require an additional one to two years beyond the MSN. Accelerated or year-round scheduling options at some Minnesota schools can shorten the timeline, so ask about start dates and semester structures.
- What is the ANCC vs. AANP certification exam pass rate for Minnesota FNP programs?
- Minnesota FNP programs have posted first-time certification pass rates between 94% and 100% over the past five years, according to the Minnesota Board of Nursing's annual education reports. The Board does not currently break results down by ANCC versus AANP exam. Both exams are accepted for Minnesota licensure. If a specific exam's pass rate matters to you, contact programs individually.
- Can I work full-time while completing an online FNP program?
- Many students do, and most Minnesota online FNP programs offer asynchronous coursework and part-time scheduling for this reason. However, clinical rotations require in-person hours during business hours, which can be difficult to coordinate with a full-time nursing schedule. Many students reduce to part-time clinical work during their practicum semesters. Discuss scheduling flexibility with your employer early in the process.
- Do Minnesota FNP graduates qualify for loan forgiveness?
- Yes. FNP graduates who work in qualifying settings may be eligible for federal programs such as Public Service Loan Forgiveness or the National Health Service Corps Loan Repayment Program. Minnesota also offers its own state-funded loan forgiveness for providers serving in designated shortage areas. Eligibility depends on your employer type, practice location, and loan terms.
- What clinical hours are required for FNP certification in Minnesota?
- National certification bodies require a minimum of 500 supervised clinical hours for FNP candidates, and most Minnesota programs build in 600 to 700 hours to ensure thorough preparation. These hours must be completed in person under an approved preceptor. Minnesota's Board of Nursing follows national standards, so your program's clinical requirements will align with ANCC or AANP expectations.
- Is Minnesota a full practice authority state for nurse practitioners?
- Yes. Minnesota grants full practice authority to nurse practitioners, meaning NPs can evaluate patients, diagnose, order tests, and prescribe medications (including controlled substances) independently. New graduates do need a transitional collaborative agreement when they first enter practice, but no ongoing supervisory arrangement with a physician is required once the transition period is complete.
Step by Step: Becoming a Family Nurse Practitioner in Minnesota
Minnesota is a full practice authority state, which means that once you complete an initial collaborative period, you can practice independently without a permanent physician oversight agreement. Here is a look at the credentialing ladder from BSN through independent prescriptive authority, along with the Minnesota-specific details you need to know. The entire APRN application is handled online through the Minnesota Board of Nursing, and prescriptive authority for Schedules II through V is included with your APRN license rather than requiring a separate registration.

What Minnesota FNP Graduates Earn: Program-Level Salary and Career Data
Completing an FNP program in Minnesota puts you on track for one of the most financially rewarding careers in primary care, with statewide median earnings that consistently outpace most other advanced practice roles.
What the State and Metro Data Show
As of early 2026, nurse practitioners in Minnesota earn a median annual wage of $136,990, according to current occupational wage data.1 In the Minneapolis-St. Paul metro area, the median sits just above that at $137,100 per year.2 The spread is wide: in the Minneapolis-St. Paul area, the bottom tenth of earners take home around $102,190 annually, while the top ten percent reach $170,140.2 In Northwest Minnesota, the hourly median is $65.43, with top earners approaching $85 per hour.1 Rural and underserved markets are not low-paying outliers; they are competitive and, in many cases, offer additional loan forgiveness incentives on top of base wages. For context on how FNP salaries compare to other specializations, see the breakdown of highest paid nurse practitioner specialties.
Program-Level Earnings Data: What Is and Is Not Available
For the Minnesota FNP programs ranked on nursepractitioneronline.com this year, program-specific graduate earnings figures are not yet published through federal reporting channels. This is common for graduate-level clinical programs, where cohort sizes are small and data aggregation lags behind enrollment cycles. What the data does show at the institution level is the median earnings of graduates across all programs at each school, which provides a rough signal but should not be read as FNP-specific salary outcomes.
At the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, institution-wide graduate earnings point toward strong outcomes, consistent with a flagship research university. Metropolitan State University and Saint Cloud State University both carry low tuition and favorable institution-wide earnings signals for public-sector graduates. Walden University and Capella University show lower institution-wide graduate earnings figures, though these reflect all degree programs across those universities, not FNP graduates specifically.
Debt, ROI, and the Investment Picture
Median graduate debt at these schools ranges from roughly $15,000 at Capella to around $27,000 at College of Saint Benedict, figures drawn from institution-wide borrowing patterns. Given that FNP graduates entering practice in Minnesota typically earn well above $100,000 within the first year or two after completing their degree, the return on that debt level is strong by most measures. If you are weighing the Minneapolis area specifically, you may also want to explore affordable FNP certificate programs in Minnesota. Metropolitan State University and the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities show the most favorable cost-to-earning ratios among the ranked programs, largely because their tuition structures are built for working nurses rather than traditional full-time students.
A Note on Graduation Rates
Graduation rates reported for these institutions cover the entire student population, not FNP candidates alone. A school's overall graduation rate reflects its undergraduate and other graduate programs, and it is not a reliable proxy for how FNP students in particular complete and certify. Smaller, mission-driven programs at schools like College of Saint Benedict and St. Catherine University often graduate nursing cohorts at rates that do not show up in the institution-wide figure.
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics projects nurse practitioner employment will grow 40 percent nationally from 2023 to 2033, far outpacing nearly every other profession. In Minnesota specifically, the state Department of Employment and Economic Development forecasts roughly 1,200 NP job openings each year through 2032.






