Most important takeaways…
- Illinois offers AGPCNP and AGACNP programs in MSN, DNP, and post-master's certificate formats across online and hybrid options.
- The median annual wage for nurse practitioners in Illinois is approximately $120,690 according to BLS data.
- AGNP programs in Illinois require between 500 and 1,000 or more direct clinical hours before graduation.
- The ANCC AGACNP-BC certification exam posted a first-time pass rate of roughly 83% nationally in 2024.
Illinois's aging population is fueling demand for adult-gerontology nurse practitioners who can manage complex chronic conditions in primary care clinics and acute episodes in hospital settings. Nine CCNE-accredited programs across the state offer both primary and acute care tracks at the MSN, DNP, and post-master's certificate levels, with online and hybrid formats that allow working nurses to continue practicing. The track you choose dictates your patient population, practice setting, and certification, and clinical hour requirements range from 500 to more than 1,000, often with uneven preceptor support across programs. With first-time AGACNP certification pass rates near 83%, program quality directly affects your timeline to practice. Programs clustered in Chicago and Peoria draw from major academic medical centers and community health systems, creating distinct employment pipelines for each track. If you are still weighing whether an adult gerontology nurse practitioner programs path or a family NP track better fits your goals, clarifying that distinction early will sharpen your search. The median NP salary in Illinois reaches $120,690, reinforcing the strong return on investment these programs can deliver.
Best Adult-Gerontology Nurse Practitioner Programs in Illinois
Nine Illinois schools prepare adult-gerontology nurse practitioners at the master's, doctoral, or post-master's certificate level, and several run the primary care and acute care tracks side by side. Each card below notes which track a school actually offers, along with the degree levels, format, and the school-wide earnings and debt figures that give an early return-on-investment signal.
Factors considered
- Student-to-faculty ratio
- Earnings ten years after entry
- Median debt after graduation
- Range of AGNP tracks offered
- Online and hybrid flexibility
- Program-level records maintained in house
- Independent editorial research
- National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
- Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
University of Illinois Chicago
The University of Illinois Chicago anchors this list because it runs both adult-gerontology tracks, primary care and acute care, as part-time hybrid DNP programs, and delivers them at four Illinois campuses: Chicago, Quad Cities, Rockford, and Urbana. Faculty arrange clinical placements instead of leaving students to find their own preceptors, which matters a great deal for nurses who are already working full time. As a public university, UIC charges Illinois residents less than out-of-state students. Across all fields at the institution, graduates report median earnings of about $68,700 ten years after entry with median federal debt near $16,700, and the overall graduation rate sits around 62 percent.
- 77 credit hours in a part-time hybrid DNP
- 1,000 clinical hours, 675 in primary care settings
- Faculty arrange all clinical placements
- Available at Chicago, Quad Cities, Rockford and Urbana
- BSN-to-DNP pathway prepares students for ANCC certification
- CCNE accredited
- 77-credit part-time hybrid DNP
- 1,000 practicum hours, 675 in the acute care specialty
- Practicum sites arranged by faculty
- Post-master's DNP and post-DNP certificate options
- Reported 100 percent licensure pass rate
- CCNE accredited
Adult Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (DNP) — Hybrid
Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (DNP) — Hybrid
Lewis University
Lewis University in Romeoville leans hardest into certificate pathways on this list, offering post-master's credentials in both primary and acute care alongside an MSN in primary care and a BSN-to-DNP in acute care. Formats range from fully campus-based to hybrid, and the school stacks employer tuition assistance, alumni scholarships, and graduate assistantships to keep the cost manageable for working nurses. School-wide, median earnings ten years after entry run about $66,100 with median debt near $21,500, and the graduation rate is roughly 67 percent.
- Hybrid format built for MSN-prepared nurses
- Prepares graduates for intensive care settings
- 3.0 GPA minimum plus current RN licensure
- Employer tuition assistance and alumni scholarships available
- CCNE accredited
- Campus-based certificate of advanced study
- Requires an MSN from an accredited program and RN license
- Minimum 3.0 GPA, two references, 500-word essay
- 20 percent alumni scholarship and graduate assistantships
- Prepares for primary care with adolescents and adults
- Hybrid with online or Oak Brook location options
- Full-time and part-time enrollment
- 3.0 GPA minimum and two letters of recommendation
- Employer tuition reimbursement supported
- 12 to 1 student-faculty ratio
- CCNE accredited
- 73 credit hours with two required DNP immersions
- Offered in both campus and hybrid formats
- DNP residencies and a final scholarly project
- CCNE accredited
Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Post-Master's Certificate — Hybrid
Adult Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Post-Master's Certificate — On-Campus
Adult Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (MSN) — Hybrid
BSN to DNP Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Rush University
Rush University pairs a Chicago academic medical center with deliberately small cohorts: about 21 students in the primary care DNP and 30 in the acute care DNP, taught by faculty who still practice clinically. Both DNP tracks are hybrid with substantial online coursework, and Rush adds a postdoctoral acute care certificate for nurses who already hold a doctoral degree. It is also the priciest per-credit option here at $1,436 per credit hour, though school-wide median earnings ten years after entry, about $75,200, rank near the top of this list. Rush does not report an institution-wide graduation rate in the same federal dataset used for the other schools here.
- Part-time hybrid program completed in 1 to 1.5 years
- $1,436 per credit hour
- For nurses who already hold a doctoral degree in nursing
- Clinical sites across the Chicago area
- Class size of about 30 students
- Faculty are active practitioners at Rush
- Online coursework with five required campus visits
- Complete in 3 to 3.5 years, full-time or part-time
- Clinical sites in Chicago and the surrounding suburbs
- Out-of-state students may complete practicum in home state
- Tracks for BSN and MSN-prepared nurses
- Class size of about 21 students
- About 75 percent of didactic coursework is online
- Complete in 2 to 3.5 years
- Begins part-time and requires full-time study midway
- Clinical placements in Chicago-area hospitals
- Individualized clinical practica
- BSN and master's entry tracks
Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Postdoctoral Certificate — On-Campus
Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner DNP — On-Campus
Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner DNP — On-Campus
Bradley University
Bradley University runs one of the broadest fully online adult-gerontology portfolios in Illinois: MSN and DNP degrees in both primary and acute care, an RN-to-MSN entry point, and post-master's certificates in each track. Coursework is 100 percent online with no required residency, and students can choose their own preceptors and complete clinicals locally, which suits nurses who cannot relocate or take leave. School-wide median earnings ten years after entry are about $66,900 with median debt around $27,000, and the graduation rate is roughly 76 percent.
- 100 percent online, completed in 1.3 to 2 years
- Built for MSN-prepared nurses
- Flexible clinical hour arrangements with approved preceptors
- Prepares for ANCC or AACN certification exams
- CCNE accredited
- 100 percent online, completed in 1.3 to 2 years
- Focus on chronic condition management
- Flexible clinical placements
- For nurses who already hold an MSN
- 47 credit hours with 600 clinical hours
- 100 percent online delivery
- 3.0 GPA minimum and a BSN from an accredited program
- Comprehensive assessment required before graduation
- Online RN-to-MSN pathway with no campus residency
- 56 semester hours with 600 clinical hours
- Students choose their own preceptors and complete clinicals locally
- Designed for nurses who keep working while enrolled
- Prepares for AGACNP certification
- 70 credit hours with 1,000 clinical hours
- 600 of those hours in acute care settings
- DNP project and comprehensive assessment required
- Graduates eligible for ANCC AGACNP certification
- 70 credit hours with 1,000 clinical hours
- BSN-to-DNP pathway delivered 100 percent online
- DNP project and capstone required
- Prepares graduates for ANCC or AANP certification
Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Post-Master's Certificate — Online
Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Post-Master's Certificate — Online
Adult Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (MSN) — Online
RN to MSN Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner — Online
Doctor of Nursing Practice Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner — Online
Doctor of Nursing Practice Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner — Online
Saint Francis Medical Center College of Nursing
Saint Francis Medical Center College of Nursing in Peoria offers a single adult-gerontology option: an MSN in acute care delivered in a hybrid format with campus sessions each semester and four practicum courses. Its connection to a major Peoria medical center gives Central Illinois nurses a direct route into hospital-based acute care practice, but the narrow catalog means anyone set on primary care will need to look elsewhere. School-wide, median earnings ten years after entry are about $72,900 with median debt near $15,000, the lowest debt figure on this list.
- Hybrid format with online coursework and campus sessions
- Four practicum courses in acute care settings
- Covers advanced health assessment, pharmacology and diagnostics
- Prepares graduates for national certification
- Peoria-based program connected to a major regional medical center
- CCNE accredited
Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (MSN) — Hybrid
Chamberlain University-Illinois
Chamberlain University's Illinois campus in Addison supports 100 percent online MSN tracks in both primary and acute care, a graduate certificate in acute care, and an RN-to-BSN-to-MSN pathway, with no GRE required and multiple start dates each year. Practicum support and in-person immersion events are built into the design, and the acute care certificate adds two on-ground immersion weekends plus an intensive review session. School-wide median earnings ten years after entry are the highest here at roughly $92,400, but the institution-wide graduation rate of about 42 percent is the lowest on this list, so ask specifically about AGNP certification pass rates and cohort completion when you talk to admissions. Median debt is about $20,900.
- 100 percent online, finish in about 2.5 years
- 625 clinical practicum hours
- No GRE; BSN with 3.0 GPA and active RN license
- Dedicated practicum support and in-person immersion events
- CCNE accredited with multiple start dates
- 100 percent online with practicum, about 3 years
- 750 total clinical hours and one year of RN experience
- No GRE or entrance exams required
- Board exam preparation and practicum support included
- 36 credit hours across six semesters full-time
- 100 percent online with two on-ground immersion weekends
- Intensive on-ground review session included
- Requires a master's degree and active RN license
- Rolling admissions with a 3.0 GPA minimum
- Pathway for nurses who do not yet hold a BSN
- AGACNP is one of nine MSN concentrations available
- Fully online and open to Illinois residents
- Graduate certificate and DNP options also offered
MSN Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner — Online
MSN Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner — Online
Graduate Certificate in Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner — Online
RN to BSN to MSN Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner — Online
DePaul University
DePaul University offers an online MSN and an online DNP in adult-gerontological primary care, both centered on managing acute and chronic illness for adults and older adults outside the hospital. The MSN track includes 500 clinical hours and bridge courses for ADN-prepared nurses, and graduates are prepared for national AGNP certification. Note that DePaul's adult-gerontology offerings here are primary care only, so acute care applicants will need another school. School-wide median earnings ten years after entry are about $68,800 with median debt near $23,200, and the graduation rate is roughly 68 percent.
- 500 clinical hours in primary care settings
- Online MSN with bridge courses for ADN-prepared nurses
- Covers pathophysiology, pharmacology and health assessment
- Prepares graduates for national AGNP certification
- CCNE accredited
- DNP track in adult-gerontological primary care
- Online delivery
- CCNE accredited
Adult-Gerontological Nurse Practitioner Track (MSN) — Online
Adult-Gerontological Nurse Practitioner Track (DNP) — Online
North Park University
North Park University keeps its focus on primary care with a 48-credit MSN and a 37-credit post-master's certificate, both 100 percent online with on-site skills immersion and clinical placement support. The certificate requires Illinois residency and an Illinois RN license, and the university notes that no federal financial aid is available for that pathway, so funding has to be planned well in advance. Per-credit tuition is $925, or about $44,400 total for the MSN. School-wide median earnings ten years after entry are about $59,600 with median debt near $25,500.
- 48 credit hours over about 32 months
- $925 per credit, about $44,400 total
- 765 clinical hours with placement support
- 100 percent online with on-site skills immersion
- Military benefits and financial aid accepted
- Transfer up to 9 credits
- 37 credit hours completed in 20 to 32 months
- $925 per credit, though no federal financial aid is available
- 765 practicum hours with clinical placement support
- Requires Illinois residency and an Illinois RN license
- 100 percent online coursework with optional campus immersion
- Maximum 9 transfer credits
MSN Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner — Online
Post-Master's Certificate: Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner — On-Campus
Loyola University Chicago
Loyola University Chicago offers DNP tracks in both primary and acute care plus an oncology-focused primary care option, all with clinical placements arranged in Chicago-area health systems and a stated emphasis on serving underserved communities. The acute care track is hybrid and includes hands-on suturing and wound management along with custom placements at Chicago hospitals, while the primary care tracks are campus-based and the oncology option requires 2,000 hours of prior clinical practice. School-wide median earnings ten years after entry are about $71,500 with median debt near $24,200, and the graduation rate is roughly 73 percent.
- 69 credit hours, campus-based in Chicago
- Clinical rotations in Chicago-area primary care and community sites
- Small class sizes and low faculty-to-student ratios
- Optional oncology specialization available
- Focus on underserved populations
- 71 credit hours, full-time or part-time
- Hybrid online and on-campus format
- Custom clinical placements at Chicago hospitals
- Hands-on suturing and wound management training
- DNP capstone project required
- 72 credit hours with an oncology focus
- 2,000 hours of prior clinical practice required
- Palliative and end-of-life care training
- Prepares graduates for oncology leadership roles
- Campus-based with Chicago-area clinical rotations
Doctor of Nursing Practice Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner — On-Campus
Doctor of Nursing Practice Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Doctor of Nursing Practice Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner, Oncology Specialization — On-Campus
AGACNP Vs. AGPCNP: Choosing the Right Track
The single most important decision you will make before applying to an adult-gerontology NP program in Illinois is whether you want to work at the bedside in high-acuity hospital settings or build lasting relationships with patients in outpatient primary care. That choice determines your curriculum, your certification exam, the employers who will recruit you, and the day-to-day rhythm of your career. Here is how the two tracks compare.
Clinical Setting and Patient Acuity
AGACNP (acute care) graduates work in inpatient, high-acuity environments: intensive care units, emergency departments, trauma centers, and step-down units. Their patients are critically ill or medically unstable, and the care horizon is short, typically spanning admission to discharge. A typical shift might involve managing ventilator settings, interpreting hemodynamic data, performing bedside procedures, and coordinating rapid stabilization plans. If you want a deeper look at what the acute care nurse practitioner role involves day to day, it is worth exploring that specialty in detail.
AGPCNP (primary care) graduates practice in outpatient and ambulatory settings: primary care offices, federally qualified health centers (FQHCs), specialty clinics, and community health organizations. Their patients are generally stable but may live with complex chronic conditions. The relationship is longitudinal, sometimes stretching over years, and the daily work centers on chronic disease management, health promotion, preventive screenings, and patient education.
Certifications
Each track leads to a distinct national certification, and Illinois requires NPs to hold the credential that matches their scope of practice.2
- AGPCNP-BC: Awarded by the ANCC for primary care graduates. This is the sole certification pathway for the primary care track.
- AGACNP-BC: Awarded by the ANCC for acute care graduates.
- ACNPC-AG: Awarded by the AACN for acute care graduates who prefer this certifying body.
Acute care candidates can choose between the AGACNP-BC and the ACNPC-AG. Both satisfy Illinois licensure requirements, so the decision often comes down to employer preference or personal familiarity with the exam format.
Typical Illinois Employers
Illinois is home to some of the largest health systems in the Midwest, and each track opens doors to different corners of that landscape.
- AGACNP graduates are recruited heavily by large hospital systems such as Northwestern Medicine, Advocate Health, OSF HealthCare, and the University of Illinois Health system, where critical care, hospitalist, and emergency medicine teams rely on acute care NPs.
- AGPCNP graduates tend to land in FQHCs across Chicago and downstate communities, private primary care practices, senior living organizations, and outpatient specialty clinics affiliated with systems like AMITA Health or Southern Illinois Healthcare.
Choosing Your Path
If you thrive in fast-paced, procedure-heavy environments and are drawn to hospital medicine or critical care, the AGACNP track is likely the right fit. Median annual wages for acute care NPs reached roughly $132,000 nationally in recent data, reflecting the high demand for inpatient providers.2 For a broader comparison of how this distinction plays out beyond Illinois, our guide to acute care vs primary care NPs breaks down scope, salary, and career trajectories side by side.
If you prefer building long-term patient partnerships, managing chronic conditions like diabetes and heart failure, and focusing on prevention, the AGPCNP track aligns with those goals. Primary care NPs earned a median of about $96,000 in recent reporting, with salaries varying by practice type and region within Illinois.2
Neither track is "better." The right choice depends on where you see yourself five years from now: rounding in an ICU or coaching a patient through a decade-long wellness plan. Many Illinois programs allow you to confirm your track selection after the first semester of shared core coursework, so you will have a brief window to reconsider if your clinical rotations shift your perspective.
Questions to Ask Yourself
How to Become an Adult-Gerontology NP in Illinois
Becoming an adult-gerontology nurse practitioner in Illinois follows a clear credentialing ladder, but the timeline varies depending on your starting point and chosen degree. Most nurses complete the process in two to four years after earning their BSN. Here is the pathway from bedside RN to independent AGNP practice.

Admission Requirements for Illinois AGNP Programs
Admission standards for adult-gerontology NP programs in Illinois share common threads, but the details, especially around clinical experience, can differ significantly between primary care and acute care tracks. Because requirements update frequently, always verify directly with each school's admissions office before applying.
- Minimum GPAMost Illinois AGNP programs require a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher on a 4.0 scale for your BSN or MSN coursework. Some programs may consider applicants slightly below that threshold on a case-by-case basis, so check individual program pages at schools like Rush, Loyola, UIC, Lewis, and Saint Francis for the most current thresholds.
- Active RN LicensureYou will need an unencumbered RN license, typically in Illinois or a compact state. Programs generally require this at the time of enrollment, and some may ask for it at the point of application.
- Clinical RN ExperiencePrograms commonly require at least one to two years of direct patient care experience as a registered nurse. AGACNP tracks often have more specific expectations, many require recent critical care or ICU nursing experience, sometimes specifying particular unit types and minimum hours. Contact each program's admissions office directly for exact requirements, as these vary widely.
- Prerequisite CoursesExpect to have completed undergraduate-level statistics and, in some cases, health assessment or pathophysiology courses before starting. Programs offering BSN-to-DNP pathways may build these into the curriculum, while post-master's certificate tracks typically assume you have already covered advanced practice foundations.
- Application MaterialsStandard materials include official transcripts, a professional resume or CV, a goal statement or personal essay, and two to three professional or academic letters of recommendation. Some programs also require a professional interview as part of the admissions process.
- Entry Pathway OptionsMany Illinois programs offer more than one entry point, BSN-to-MSN, BSN-to-DNP, and post-master's certificate options are all available, though not every school offers every pathway. Review each program's catalog carefully to find the track that aligns with your current credentials and career goals.
- Verify with Authoritative SourcesFor broader context on admission trends and competency standards, consult resources from the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) and the National Organization of Nurse Practitioner Faculties (NONPF). The Bureau of Labor Statistics also outlines general NP requirements that can help you understand the landscape before diving into individual program details.
Related Articles
Program Costs, Earnings, and Return on Investment
The cost of an Illinois AGNP program varies dramatically depending on whether you choose a public university, a private institution, or a shorter post-master's certificate pathway. The table below compares published tuition rates, average net price after aid, institutional median graduate debt, and median earnings ten years after enrollment for each ranked program. Public options like UIC offer the lowest effective net price (around $10,974 after aid), while private universities range from roughly $17,000 to over $36,000. Post-master's certificates at schools like Bradley, Lewis, and North Park can be a lower-cost entry point for nurses who already hold an MSN, since fewer credit hours translate to less total tuition and debt. Program-level earnings data at one and four years post-completion are not yet available for these programs, so the institutional ten-year median earnings figure provides the best current benchmark for comparing long-term return on investment.
| School | Track | Degree Level | Tuition per Year (In-State) | Tuition per Year (Out-of-State) | Net Price after Aid | Median Graduate Debt | Median Earnings (10 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saint Francis Medical Center College of Nursing | AGACNP | Master's | $9,365 | $9,365 | Not reported | $15,000 | $72,850 |
| Chamberlain University, Illinois | AGPCNP | Master's | $15,300 | $15,300 | $31,837 | $20,919 | $92,405 |
| University of Illinois Chicago | AGPCNP | Doctorate (DNP) | $17,550 | $27,748 | $10,974 | $16,704 | $68,740 |
| Rush University | AGACNP | Graduate Certificate | $38,755 | $38,755 | Not reported | $21,988 | $75,194 |
| Lewis University | AGACNP | Graduate Certificate | $15,800 | $15,800 | $17,028 | $21,500 | $66,099 |
| DePaul University | AGPCNP | Master's | $23,358 | $23,358 | $30,902 | $23,168 | $68,751 |
| Loyola University Chicago | AGPCNP | Doctorate (DNP) | $21,912 | $21,912 | $36,079 | $24,157 | $71,530 |
| Bradley University | AGACNP | Graduate Certificate | $20,440 | $20,440 | $22,719 | $27,000 | $66,852 |
| North Park University | AGPCNP | Graduate Certificate | $14,417 | $14,417 | $16,948 | $25,500 | $59,572 |
Online, Hybrid, and On-Campus Format Options
What a program calls 'online' rarely means fully remote, and that distinction matters enormously when you are balancing a nursing career with graduate school.
What 'Online' Actually Means for AGNP Programs
Every AGNP program, regardless of how it markets itself, requires in-person clinical hours. Coursework can be delivered online, but skills validation, simulation labs, and direct patient care happen face to face. Most programs also schedule periodic on-campus intensives, sometimes called immersion weekends or residencies, where students practice advanced procedures and receive hands-on feedback before entering clinical rotations. If a program description says '100% online,' that refers to the didactic coursework only, not the full experience.
The practical takeaway: before you enroll, confirm how many campus visits are required per year, where those sessions are held, and whether you need to travel to a specific city.
Part-Time vs. Full-Time Schedules
For working RNs, schedule flexibility is often the deciding factor. Several Illinois programs are structured with part-time learners in mind. Rush University's postdoctoral AGACNP certificate is designed as a part-time hybrid program, typically completed in one to one and a half years, with no full-time commitment required until the final term.1 Loyola University Chicago's DNP-level AGPCNP program emphasizes small class sizes and Chicago-area clinical placements, which can help nurses who work in the city coordinate their schedules. UIC's AGPCNP DNP pathway offers a part-time option alongside a hybrid delivery model spread across multiple Illinois campuses, giving students geographic flexibility. If you are exploring other NP specialties in the state, our guide to online FNP programs Illinois covers family nurse practitioner options with similar flexible formats.
Full-time cohort models move faster but leave less room for employees who cannot reduce their clinical shifts.
Clinical Hours and Preceptor Support
This is where program differences become most consequential. Clinical hour requirements across Illinois AGNP programs range roughly from 500 to over 1,000 hours, depending on degree level and track. Nurses weighing an acute care certificate path may also want to review online post-master's ACNP certificate programs at the national level for additional comparison points.
- Rush University: The AGACNP postdoctoral certificate requires 504 direct clinical hours, with clinical sites arranged in the Chicago area.1 The program's connections to Rush University Medical Center and affiliated sites are an asset for placement.
- UIC: The DNP-level AGPCNP program lists 1,000 clinical hours, and according to program materials, faculty coordinate clinical placements on behalf of students, which reduces the burden of finding a preceptor independently.
- Loyola University Chicago: Program highlights note that clinical rotations are arranged with preceptors and that placements are Chicago-area focused. Specific total hour counts are best confirmed directly with the program, as published details vary.
- Lewis University: The post-master's AGACNP certificate is a hybrid format with clinical experiences included, though the program generally expects students to take an active role in identifying local practice sites. Contacting the program directly for current placement support policies is advisable.
- University of Saint Francis: The hybrid AGACNP MSN program at this Peoria-based institution includes four practicum courses and hands-on skills training. Preceptor placement details are not comprehensively published, so prospective students should ask admissions directly about what support the school provides versus what falls on the student.
A Practical Checklist Before You Choose a Format
Ask every program these questions before you commit:
- How many on-campus visits are required per year, and where?
- Does the program guarantee clinical placement, or do students self-source preceptors?
- Is a part-time track available, and how does it affect time to completion?
- Are clinical sites typically near your home, or are you expected to travel?
The answers will tell you more about day-to-day logistics than any program brochure will.
AGNP Salary and Job Outlook in Illinois
What Illinois NPs Actually Earn
Let's start with the direct answer: an adult-gerontology nurse practitioner in Illinois earns a median annual wage of about $120,690, according to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' most recent Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics for nurse practitioners (SOC 29-1171). The Chicago-Naperville-Elgin metro area pays meaningfully more, with a median of $126,020, reflecting the concentration of academic medical centers, large hospital systems, and specialty practices across Cook, DuPage, and the collar counties.2
The full Illinois wage distribution looks like this:
- 10th percentile: $90,720
- 25th percentile: $101,630
- Median (50th): $120,690
- 75th percentile: $129,420
- 90th percentile: $140,700
Illinois employs roughly 5,610 nurse practitioners statewide. Where you land in that distribution depends heavily on setting and track. AGACNPs working in critical care, hospitalist services, or surgical subspecialties tend to cluster in the upper quartiles, and you can explore how specialty choice shapes compensation in our look at highest paid nurse practitioner specialties. AGPCNPs in outpatient primary care or federally qualified health centers (FQHCs) often sit closer to the median, sometimes trading raw salary for loan repayment eligibility and predictable hours.
How Program Earnings Data Compares to BLS
A quick note on reading earnings figures: federal program-level earnings data captures graduates one and four years after completion across all degree recipients from an institution, not just AGNPs. So when you see a school's reported graduate earnings sitting in the $60,000 to $92,000 range, that reflects a blend of bachelor's and master's outcomes, not what a board-certified AGNP specifically takes home. The BLS occupation wage is the better benchmark for what you'll earn once you're certified and practicing. Most Illinois AGNP graduates clear the 25th percentile ($101,630) within their first year of certified practice, and Chicago-area hires routinely start above $115,000.
Job Outlook and Illinois-Specific Demand
Nationally, the BLS projects nurse practitioner employment to grow about 44 to 45 percent over the 2024 to 2034 decade, one of the fastest growth rates of any occupation tracked.3 Illinois has several reinforcing demand drivers:
- An aging population: Roughly one in six Illinois residents is now 65 or older, expanding the patient panel AGNPs are trained to manage.
- FQHC expansion downstate and on Chicago's south and west sides: These safety-net clinics rely heavily on AGPCNPs to extend primary care access. Clinics in underserved corridors face the same workforce pressures seen in nurse practitioners rural healthcare nationally.
- Hospital system consolidation and growth: Northwestern Medicine, Endeavor Health, UChicago Medicine, OSF, and Carle continue hiring AGACNPs into hospitalist, ICU, and surgical service lines.
For working RNs weighing the investment, the wage floor alone ($90,720 at the 10th percentile) typically exceeds bedside RN pay, and the upside in acute care subspecialties is substantial.
Illinois NP Salary Distribution
Nurse practitioner salaries in Illinois span a wide range depending on experience, specialty track, and practice setting. The distribution below shows where you might fall along the pay scale, from early-career NPs near the 10th percentile to seasoned practitioners in high-acuity roles approaching the 90th percentile.

Nationally, the ANCC Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (AGACNP-BC) exam posted a first-time pass rate of roughly 83% in 2024. That means about one in six test takers does not pass on the first attempt, so strong clinical preparation and dedicated board review during your final semester really do matter.
Frequently Asked Questions About Illinois AGNP Programs
Choosing between AGACNP and AGPCNP tracks, understanding Illinois practice laws, and weighing return on investment are among the most common concerns nurses have when exploring adult-gerontology NP programs. Below are concise answers to the questions we hear most often.
- What is the difference between AGACNP and AGPCNP?
- AGACNP prepares you to manage acutely and critically ill adults in hospitals, ICUs, and emergency departments. AGPCNP focuses on primary care, chronic disease management, and health promotion in outpatient clinics and community settings. Each track leads to a distinct national certification: the ANCC AGACNP-BC (or AACN ACNPC-AG) for acute care, and the ANCC AGPCNP-BC for primary care.
- Does Illinois have full practice authority for nurse practitioners?
- Yes. Since the passage of the Full Practice Authority law, Illinois NPs who complete a 4,000-hour collaborative agreement can apply for independent practice. Once granted, you can evaluate patients, diagnose, order tests, and prescribe medications, including controlled substances, without a physician collaborator. This positions Illinois among the more NP-friendly states in the Midwest.
- How long does it take to become an adult-gerontology nurse practitioner?
- Timeline depends on your starting point. BSN-to-MSN programs typically take two to three years of full-time study. BSN-to-DNP programs generally run three to four years. If you already hold an MSN, a post-master's certificate can be completed in about 12 to 18 months. Part-time and online formats may extend timelines but offer greater flexibility for working nurses.
- Is an adult-gerontology NP degree worth it?
- For most nurses, yes. Illinois NPs earn a median annual salary well above six figures, representing a significant jump from RN wages. The aging population is driving strong demand for both primary and acute care gerontology specialists. Factor in full practice authority and growing employer need across the state, and the degree typically pays for itself within a few years of graduation.
- What are the admission requirements for AGACNP programs in Illinois?
- Most programs require an unencumbered RN license, a BSN from a regionally accredited institution (or an MSN for post-master's tracks), a minimum GPA of 3.0, and at least one year of clinical nursing experience, often in an acute or critical care setting. Additional materials typically include a personal statement, professional references, a current resume, and official transcripts.
- Are there fully online AGNP programs in Illinois?
- Several Illinois schools offer AGNP programs in mostly online formats, with coursework delivered asynchronously so working nurses can study on their own schedule. However, clinical practicum hours must be completed in person. Some programs assist with preceptor placement while others require students to arrange their own sites, so be sure to ask about clinical support before enrolling.
- How much does an adult-gerontology nurse practitioner make in Illinois?
- According to federal labor data, nurse practitioners in Illinois earn a median annual salary around $120,000, with top earners surpassing $140,000 depending on specialty, setting, and location. Acute care AGNPs working in hospital and critical care environments may command higher compensation due to the complexity of their patient populations and the demand for specialized skills.






