Top HBCU Nursing Schools for CNA to NP Degrees

Compare tuition, NCLEX outcomes, and online options across the top HBCU nursing schools by credential level.

Most important takeaways…

  • HBCUs offer stackable credentials from six-week CNA certificates through NP degrees.
  • Nine ranked HBCU nursing schools serve both online and campus learners.
  • Targeted scholarships like the Elsevier Foundation award help offset tuition costs.

HBCUs enroll about 10 percent of Black college students nationally, yet they produce a much larger share of the country's Black nurses and nurse practitioners, a gap that matters as healthcare systems scramble to build a workforce that reflects the patients it serves. That mismatch between supply and demand is exactly why these programs deserve a closer look.

The tension for most working nurses isn't whether an HBCU nursing credential holds value. It's figuring out which credential, at which school, fits a schedule that already includes shifts, family obligations, and tuition limits.

CNA certificates, BSN degrees, MSN tracks, and NP specialties all carry different timelines, costs, and licensing hurdles, and comparing them side by side is harder than it should be. Each section offers concrete comparisons, not just another list.

The HBCU Nursing Credential Ladder: CNA to Nurse Practitioner

Not sure where to start? The nursing profession is designed as a stackable career ladder, and many HBCUs let you bank credits at each stage so nothing goes to waste. Whether you hold a CNA certificate or you are already a working RN, this progression map shows you every rung and helps you pinpoint the entry point that fits your current credentials and long-term goals.

Six-step nursing career progression from CNA through LPN, ADN, BSN, and MSN to Nurse Practitioner, with typical salary ranges at each level

Best HBCU Nursing Schools, Ranked

Historically Black colleges and universities have trained a disproportionate share of the nation's Black nurses, and the nine schools below show how varied that first step can look: dual-credit nurse aide training for high schoolers, short certificate cohorts for career changers, and stackable routes that climb toward practical and registered nursing. Each entry lists the credentials available, the format classes meet in, and the costs a student should expect. Where a completion figure comes up, it describes the whole institution rather than any single nursing program, because program-level nursing outcomes are not published for most certificate pathways.

How we ranked these
Factors considered
  • Student-to-faculty ratio
  • Earnings ten years after entry
  • Published tuition and fees
  • Breadth of programs and credentials
  • Institution-wide graduation rates
Data sources
  • Program-level records maintained in house
  • Independent editorial research
  • National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
  • Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
ST

St Philip's College

San Antonio, TX · ~$4,000/yr (est.)

HBCUHispanic-Serving Institution
Best for: Dual-credit high schoolers entering patient care

St. Philip's College is the only college in the country federally designated as both an HBCU and a Hispanic-Serving Institution, which shapes its role as an access point for first-generation and bilingual students in San Antonio. Its nursing education department runs a face-to-face nurse aide certificate with a dual-credit track for local high school students, plus a separate continuing education CNA course for adults who need a shorter runway. Both routes prepare graduates for the Texas Nurse Aide Registry and for immediate work in long-term care settings.

  • Nursing Assistant (Nurse Aide), Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    St Philip's College
    ACEN accredited
    • Face-to-face certificate through the Nursing Education department
    • Approved by Texas Health and Human Services and the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
    • Prepares students for the Texas Nurse Aide Registry
    • Hands-on clinical training in patient care, bathing, and safety
    • Covers residents' rights, communication, and observation skills
    • Application due about three months before the cohort begins
    • Background check and immunization records required
    • Dual-credit option for local high school students
    Visit Website
  • Certified Nursing Assistant (Continuing Education), Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    St Philip's College
    ACEN accredited
    • 116 contact hours completed over about three months
    • Program tuition listed at $1,850
    • Offered through the college's continuing education division
    • Includes lecture, lab, and supervised hands-on training
    • Prepares students for the Texas CNA certification exam
    • CPR certification and a background check required before starting
    • Minimum age 18 with some high school coursework
    • Financial aid resources and Ready to Work eligibility available
    Visit Website
GA

Gadsden State Community College

Gadsden, AL · $4,000/yr

HBCU
Best for: Career changers wanting two credentials at once

Gadsden State Community College pairs its CNA training with Alabama's workforce apprenticeship system, so students train inside a pipeline that the state Board of Nursing and community college system helped build. The advanced CNA track is notable for making completers eligible for both nursing assistant and phlebotomy certification exams from a single 11-week course, and cohorts start on published dates in February and August. Tuition and fees run about $2,300, with additional costs for books, supplies, and background checks.

  • Advanced Certified Nursing Assistant, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    Gadsden State Community College
    ACEN accredited
    • 11-week campus-based skills training program
    • Tuition and fees about $2,300 plus books and supplies
    • Completers can sit for both nursing assistant and phlebotomy exams
    • Includes CPR, medical terminology, and professional development training
    • Classes meet Monday through Thursday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
    • 75% attendance and 75% exam average required to pass
    • Driver's license or state ID, immunizations, and background check required
    • Eligible for WIOA workforce funding
    Visit Website
CO

Coahoma Community College

Clarksdale, MS · ~$3,000/yr (est.)

HBCU
Best for: Working adults needing evening certificate classes

Coahoma Community College is a public HBCU community college in the Mississippi Delta, and its nursing assistant certificate sits inside a health sciences department that stacks short-term credentials toward longer healthcare careers. The 10-week program runs in structured annual cohorts with evening classes built for working adults, and admission accepts either TABE scores or an ACT of 16 so applicants without recent test history are not shut out. Clinical-readiness requirements include a full immunization series, so students should budget time for those before the semester begins.

  • Nursing Assistant, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    Coahoma Community College
    • 10-week certificate listed under health sciences short-term programs
    • One-semester format with classroom and practical experience
    • Admission accepts TABE scores or an ACT score of 16
    • Evening classes Tuesdays and Thursdays, 5 to 9 p.m.
    • Weekday clinical rotations alongside evening coursework
    • Immunization series includes MMR, hepatitis B, varicella, and flu
    • Fall cohort applications close in mid-August
    Visit Website
SH

Shelton State Community College

Tuscaloosa, AL · ~$15,000/yr (est.)

HBCU

Shelton State Community College is an Alabama HBCU community college whose CNA and home health aide course is built around a short classroom block plus a clinical externship at the Martin Campus. Because the course is non-credit workforce training, it is not eligible for Pell Grants, but students often cover it through WIOA funding or college scholarships. It suits Tuscaloosa-area students who want certification quickly rather than a full semester of coursework.

  • Certified Nursing Assistant/Home Health Aide, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    Shelton State Community College
    ACEN accredited
    • 86 classroom hours plus a 24-hour clinical externship
    • Program cost about $1,200
    • Classes held at the Martin Campus in Tuscaloosa
    • High school diploma or GED, immunizations, and drug screen required
    • Not Pell eligible; WIOA funding and college scholarships may apply
    • Prepares students for the NCSBN CNA national exam
    • 75% pass rate required to complete the course
    Visit Website
LA

Lawson State Community College

Birmingham, AL · $6,000/yr (net price)

HBCU

Lawson State Community College in Birmingham runs its CNA training through the college's Adult Education division, which means short timelines and support services aimed at adults returning to school. The five-week course combines classroom, lab, and clinical hours and folds the cost of immunizations, uniforms, and the state certification exam into the program. Lawson also runs a home healthcare track that follows OBRA guidelines for nursing assistant training, giving students a second, more home-care-focused route into the field.

  • Certified Nursing Assistant/Home Healthcare, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    Lawson State Community College
    • Five-week program combining classroom, lab, and clinical hours
    • Delivered through the Adult Education Educate to Elevate initiative
    • Costs cover immunizations, uniforms, and the state certification exam
    • Applicants must be at least 18 years old
    • Fast-track workforce training with on-campus instruction
    • Home healthcare track follows OBRA guidelines
    • Offered with the Department of Health Professions
    Visit Website
HC

H Councill Trenholm State Community College

Montgomery, AL · ~$8,000/yr (est.)

HBCU

H. Councill Trenholm State Community College is a public two-year HBCU in Montgomery that places its CNA training inside a workforce development division built for quick entry into healthcare jobs. The 75-hour course costs about $800 including textbooks, and graduates are eligible to sit for the national certification exam. The college also catalogs a credit-bearing nursing assisting and home health aide certificate for students who want coursework that counts toward a transcript credential.

  • Nursing Assisting / Home Health Aide, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    H Councill Trenholm State Community College
    ACEN accredited
    • 75-hour course offered through Workforce Development
    • Costs about $800 including tuition and textbooks
    • Covers patient care, safety, hygiene, and CPR/First Aid
    • Prepares students for the national certification exam
    • Classes meet multiple days a week
    • Two campus locations in Montgomery
    • No financial aid available for this non-credit course
    Visit Website
JF

J. F. Drake State Community and Technical College

Huntsville, AL · $5,000 – $9,000/yr

HBCU

J. F. Drake State Community and Technical College in Huntsville offers CNA training in two formats: a six-week hybrid option that mixes virtual coursework with in-person skills sessions, and a five-week evening campus program. The curriculum is built to meet OBRA requirements, the federal training standards long-term care employers look for when hiring. Drake is also a Thurgood Marshall College Fund member school, which connects students to a national network of HBCU scholarship and career support.

  • Certified Nursing Assistant (Hybrid), Certificate or Diploma — Hybrid
    J. F. Drake State Community and Technical College
    ACEN accredited
    • Six-week training in a hybrid virtual and in-person format
    • Curriculum meets OBRA nursing assistant training requirements
    • Prepares students for written and clinical skills evaluations
    • Applicants must be at least 16 years old
    • Supervised patient care skills practice included
    Visit Website
  • Certified Nursing Assistant (Campus), Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    J. F. Drake State Community and Technical College
    ACEN accredited
    • Five-week evening program meeting Monday through Thursday
    • Total cost about $899 including textbook and scrubs
    • CPR certification included; $85 state exam fee separate
    • BLS certification, background check, drug screen, and TB test required
    • Clinicals scheduled during the final week
    • No financial aid accepted; full payment due before start
    • Median CNA wage reported around $14.57 per hour
    • Scholarship options available for qualifying students
    Visit Website
DE

Denmark Technical College

Denmark, SC · $15,000 – $20,000/yr

HBCU

Denmark Technical College is a public two-year HBCU in rural South Carolina whose health science department treats nurse aide training as the first rung of a stackable health career. Students can complete a state-approved 110-hour CNA course on day or weekend schedules, and qualified applicants may attend tuition-free. The credential is also a required step into the college's patient care technician program and its apprenticeship options.

  • Nurse Aide Assistant Certificate — On-Campus
    Denmark Technical College
    • Trains students to assist with activities of daily living
    • Clinical settings include hospitals, nursing homes, and home care
    • Graduates work under registered nurse or LPN supervision
    • Campus-based certificate program
    Visit Website
  • Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA), Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    Denmark Technical College
    • 110-hour state-approved CNA course
    • Free tuition for qualified applicants
    • Day and weekend class schedules
    • Prepares students for the South Carolina Nurse Aide exam
    • BLS certification, background check, and immunization proof required
    • Required step into the Patient Care Technician program
    • Integrated with the college's apprenticeship options
    Visit Website
SO

Southern University at Shreveport

Shreveport, LA · $11,000/yr (net price)

HBCU

Southern University at Shreveport is a public HBCU within the Southern University System, and its nursing assistant program functions as the bottom rung of a ladder that climbs to practical nursing, registered nursing, and LPN-to-RN completion. Classes meet at the Metro Center in downtown Shreveport through the School of Nursing, with admission cycles in spring, fall, and summer. The program is approved by the Louisiana Department of Health and is open to applicants with no prerequisite coursework.

  • Nursing Assistant, Certificate or Diploma — On-Campus
    Southern University at Shreveport
    • Classroom, skills lab, and clinical training in one program
    • Available for undergraduate credit or as continuing education
    • Undergraduate option carries four credit hours
    • Prepares students for the Final Competency Examination
    • Covers daily living assistance, bedside care, and basic procedures
    • Approved by the Louisiana Department of Health
    • Admits students in spring, fall, and summer cycles
    • Open to all applicants with no prerequisite courses
    Visit Website

Best HBCUs for CNA & LPN Certificate Programs

If you are a working nurse or someone just entering the field, certificate programs at HBCUs offer an accessible starting point on the nursing career ladder. CNA certificates can be completed in as few as six weeks, while LPN programs typically span three semesters. Several HBCU programs below have posted outstanding licensing exam pass rates, giving graduates a strong foundation before advancing to BSN or NP study.

SchoolStateCertificate OfferedProgram LengthDelivery Format
Denmark Technical CollegeSouth CarolinaPractical Nursing (LPN)Cohort based (completed prior to PN NCLEX exam)In person, cohort based. 100% PN NCLEX pass rate for the 2024 cohort.
Lawson State Community CollegeAlabamaLicensed Practical Nurse (LPN)49 credit hours across three semestersIn person at the Bessemer campus. ACEN accredited. Reported 100% licensure pass rate.
J. F. Drake State Community and Technical CollegeAlabamaLicensed Practical Nurse (LPN)Three semesters (fall and spring start dates available)In person. ACEN accredited.
Bishop State Community College, Carver CampusAlabamaCertified Nursing Assistant (CNA)6 weeksIn person. Meets Alabama's minimum 75 hours of state approved training.
Southern University at ShreveportLouisianaCertified Nursing Assistant (CNA)8 weeksIn person, with optional medication technician instruction.
North Carolina Central UniversityNorth CarolinaNurse Aide / CNA TrainingNot reportedIn person. CNA specific exam outcomes not separately reported; the broader nursing program posted a 96% NCLEX pass rate in 2025.

Best HBCUs for BSN Degrees

A Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) is the prelicensure degree that offers the widest set of entry points in hospital systems, public health, and graduate NP pathways, including HBCU nurse practitioner programs. For working nurses and career changers, the BSN is also the credential most often tied to magnet-hospital hiring preferences and to RN-to-BSN completion programs.

Why the BSN matters for career mobility

Many employers now expect new RNs to hold a BSN or to enroll in a BSN completion program within a few years of hire. The degree also lays the foundation for MSN NP Programs and DNP nurse practitioner study. If your long-term goal is an NP role, choosing a BSN program with strong science prerequisites and clinical hour volume can save you time later.

What to check when comparing HBCU BSN programs

At the time of this review, the verified program-level data set does not include a ranked list of BSN-granting HBCUs with tuition, graduation rate, and NCLEX outcomes. That means we are not publishing school-specific BSN rankings here. Instead, focus on these factors when you request information from individual HBCU nursing departments:

  • Accreditation: Confirm ACEN or CCNE accreditation and state board approval.
  • NCLEX performance: Ask for first-time pass rates for the last three years, not just one year.
  • Cost and aid: Compare in-state and out-of-state tuition, and ask whether HBCU-specific scholarships or nursing-specific aid are available.
  • Delivery format: Some HBCU BSN programs are traditional campus formats, while others offer hybrid or online RN-to-BSN options.

Online and hybrid BSN options

A few HBCUs have expanded Online RN to BSN tracks, but prelicensure BSN clinicals still require in-person hours. If you need flexibility, confirm whether the program labels itself campus, hybrid, or online, and ask exactly how many clinical hours are arranged near your home. This page also covers certificate and LPN pathways separately, so you can compare entry points before committing to a four-year BSN.

HBCU MSN & Nurse Practitioner Pathways

A traditional on-campus MSN and a fully online NP-focused MSN look similar on paper but feel very different in practice, and choosing between them often comes down to how much clinical placement support and pacing flexibility you need as a working nurse.

What MSN Tracks Typically Offer

HBCU graduate nursing programs generally build their MSN and post-master's tracks around the core NP concentrations nurses ask for most: Family Nurse Practitioner, Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner, and, less commonly, Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner or Nurse Educator tracks. The specific concentrations offered, and whether a school layers a DNP option on top, vary school by school and shift as programs grow, so confirm current offerings directly with each program before applying, sidestepping common MSN NP program mistakes, rather than assuming last year's catalog still applies.

Tuition Realities for Graduate Nursing

Graduate nursing tuition at HBCUs, like undergraduate tuition, is almost always split by residency status, with in-state rates running meaningfully lower than out-of-state or non-resident pricing. If you are weighing an online NP program at an HBCU outside your home state, ask admissions directly whether the school extends in-state or reduced online rates to distance students, since many public HBCUs do this specifically to compete for working-nurse enrollment. Budgeting around the higher, non-resident figure and treating any discount as a bonus is the safer planning approach when you map out how to pay for NP school.

Where to Go Deeper

Because MSN and NP pathways involve more variables than BSN or LPN programs (concentration availability, clinical placement support, certification exam pass rates by specialty, and program length), a side-by-side comparison deserves its own space. If you are seriously narrowing down where to earn your NP credential, our dedicated ranking of HBCU nurse practitioner programs on nursepractitioneronline.com breaks down concentrations, formats, and outcomes program by program in far more depth than we can cover here.

Questions to Ask Yourself

Certificate programs get you into paid patient care in months, while a BSN takes four years but unlocks RN roles, higher pay, and graduate school eligibility. Your bills and timeline drive this call.

If you're working nights or raising kids, asynchronous coursework is a lifeline. But hands-on learners often thrive with campus labs and faculty face time, especially early in a nursing career.

Planning for graduate school changes which BSN you pick, since some HBCUs offer seamless RN-to-MSN bridges. Naming the endpoint now saves you from repeating prerequisites later.

Online Vs. Campus HBCU Nursing Programs

Choosing between online and on-campus formats is one of the biggest decisions you will make as a working nurse pursuing advanced education at an HBCU. Both options have genuine strengths, and the best fit depends on your schedule, learning style, and how much you value the traditional HBCU campus experience. Here is a practical breakdown to help you weigh the tradeoffs.

Pros
  • Online programs let you keep working full time, making it easier to maintain income and benefits while earning your degree.
  • Flexible scheduling means you can study nights and weekends, which is ideal for nurses already managing 12-hour shifts.
  • You can attend a top HBCU nursing school regardless of where you live, eliminating the need to relocate.
  • Tuition for online programs is sometimes lower because you avoid campus fees, housing costs, and commuting expenses.
  • Asynchronous coursework lets you revisit lectures and materials at your own pace, reinforcing difficult clinical concepts.
Cons
  • On-campus students benefit from hands-on simulation labs, face-to-face mentorship, and direct access to faculty office hours.
  • The traditional HBCU campus experience, including networking events, Greek life, and alumni connections, is difficult to replicate online.
  • Online learners still need to arrange local clinical placements, which can be challenging in some regions without university support.
  • Self-directed study requires strong time management; without a set class schedule, some students struggle to stay on track.
  • Group projects and peer collaboration can feel less organic in virtual settings compared to in-person cohort models.
HBCU nursing programs deliver strong NCLEX pass rates and career outcomes at a fraction of typical tuition, making them one of the smartest investments a future nurse can make.
nursepractitioneronline.com

Scholarships & Financial Aid for HBCU Nursing Students

Funding your nursing education often means balancing limited scholarship availability against program costs, and HBCU students have access to several targeted opportunities that can ease this burden across credential levels.

HBCU-Specific Nursing Scholarships

The Elsevier Foundation HBCU Schools of Nursing Scholarship Fund stands out as the most directly nursing-focused option for HBCU students. This program supports students at five participating institutions: Winston-Salem State University, Tuskegee University, North Carolina A&T State University, Hampton University, and North Carolina Central University. If you are enrolled at one of these schools, check with your nursing department about current application cycles.

The UNCF Johnson & Johnson Scholarship offers $5,000 to nursing students who are New Jersey residents attending a UNCF member institution or other accredited college. Applicants must be full-time juniors or seniors with at least a 3.0 GPA. The 2026 deadline is August 28.

The HBCU Endowment Fund provides nursing scholarships ranging from $3,000 to $10,000, with applications typically due by May 31 each year.1 The Gwendolyn M. Sanders Memorial Scholarship supports undergraduate nursing students at HBCUs who maintain a minimum 2.5 GPA.

Certificate vs. Degree-Level Funding

Most named HBCU nursing scholarships target BSN and MSN students rather than CNA or LPN certificate seekers. Certificate programs are shorter and less expensive, but dedicated scholarship support is harder to find. Students pursuing CNA or LPN credentials should explore institutional aid, workforce development grants through their state, and employer tuition assistance programs.

Federal Loan Forgiveness Options

The HRSA Nurse Corps Loan Repayment Program helps nursing graduates who commit to working in underserved communities. While scholarship applications through HRSA were not open at the time of this writing, the nurse practitioner student loan forgiveness pathway remains a valuable option for graduates carrying federal student debt. Check HRSA's Bureau of Health Workforce portal for updated application windows, as cycles vary year to year.2

Admissions Requirements & Prerequisites by Credential Level

HBCU nursing admissions vary significantly depending on the credential you're pursuing. Here's what you can generally expect at each level, though you should always verify directly with your target school, since individual programs set their own standards.

  • CNA Programs
    Most CNA programs require a high school diploma or GED, a clean background check, and TB screening. Specific HBCU CNA prerequisites are not widely published, so contact schools directly for the most current requirements.
  • LPN Programs
    LPN applicants typically need an entrance exam score (such as TEAS or Accuplacer), CPR certification, and sometimes prior CNA experience. Note that many HBCUs offer LPN-to-BSN bridge pathways rather than standalone LPN entry programs, so verify which format your school provides.
  • BSN Programs
    Pre-licensure BSN programs at HBCUs generally require a minimum cumulative GPA between 2.6 and 3.1, an entrance exam (ATI TEAS, HESI A2, or NLN NEX depending on the school), and completed prerequisite coursework in English, college algebra, biology, anatomy and physiology I and II, chemistry, psychology, and sometimes statistics. Some schools also require essays, recommendation letters, interviews, and clinical compliance documentation such as immunizations and background checks. For example, Florida A&M requires a 3.1 overall GPA with a B or better in every prerequisite, while Winston-Salem State sets its minimum at 2.6 with a C or better in prerequisite science courses.
  • MSN & Nurse Practitioner Programs
    Graduate nursing programs typically require a BSN from an accredited institution, a minimum 3.0 GPA, a current unencumbered RN license, and at least one year of acute care or clinical nursing experience. A completed statistics course with a C or higher is commonly required as well. Programs may also ask for professional references and a personal statement. For NP tracks specifically, make sure your BSN comes from a CCNE- or ACME-accredited program, as this affects your eligibility for board certification after graduation.

Recent News

Recent Articles

Follow us