Northern Kentucky University Online NP Programs: Admissions & Outcomes

Explore NKU's online NP specializations, admissions requirements, and clinical outcomes.

Most important takeaways…

  • NKU's online MSN FNP track requires 48 credits and 750 clinical hours.
  • NKU online NP tuition is $600 per credit plus fees.
  • Kentucky NP median pay is about $122,870; typical range $93,800 to $130,300.

What does an online nurse practitioner program at Northern Kentucky University realistically cost, and which specialties can you complete without relocating? The Highland Heights, Kentucky public university offers FNP, AGACNP, and psychiatric mental health nurse practitioner programs, with the MSN FNP requiring 48 credits and 750 clinical hours.

Online tuition is about $600 per credit before fees, and admissions requirements are similar across NP tracks. The real decision point is clinical placement. NKU uses a student-initiated model, so you identify the preceptor and clinical site while the university manages approval, contracts, and compliance.

That placement requirement, not the accreditation status or the coursework, is usually the practical barrier for working nurses deciding whether an online NP program from NKU fits a Kentucky practice path.

NKU Online NP Program Offerings and Specializations

Northern Kentucky University's MSN Family Nurse Practitioner track requires 48 credits and 750 clinical hours.1 The post-master's FNP certificate requires 36 credits.3 For the 2025-2026 catalog year, NKU's online nurse practitioner programs in Kentucky include three MSN tracks and three post-master's certificate paths.2 The available MSN specializations are Family Nurse Practitioner, Adult-Gero Acute Care Nurse Practitioner, and Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner. NKU does not list adult-gerontology primary care, pediatric primary/acute care, women's health, or neonatal NP tracks as distinct options.

MSN NP Tracks

All three MSN NP tracks are delivered online with seven-week courses. The FNP track is the most fully detailed: 48 credits, 750 clinical hours, and a typical pace of about 22 months.1 The AGACNP MSN page confirms online delivery but does not clearly break out credits and clinical hours in the public catalog text.2 The PMHNP MSN track is also online and includes a capstone course focused on psychiatric-mental health practice, though its full credit and hour requirements are not fully enumerated in accessible materials.2 The university's nursing pages emphasize seven-week online terms rather than semester-based campus schedules.

Post-Master's Certificate Options

NKU actively markets three post-master's certificates for NPs. The FNP certificate program totals 36 credits and is designed to be completed in about 22 months.3 The post-master's acute care nurse practitioner certificate requires 35 credits and 750 clinical hours, with a typical duration of about 20 months.4 A Nurse Practitioner to PMHNP certificate is shorter at 20 credits and about 14 months, targeting NPs who want to add psychiatric-mental health specialization.5

Emergency NP and Format Notes

NKU does not offer a distinct Emergency Nurse Practitioner track in 2025-2026.2 The catalog does not explicitly embed emergency nurse practitioner content within the AGACNP or FNP programs either, though the AGACNP track covers high-acuity care. If you need formal ENP post-master's certificate, you would likely need to pursue additional post-graduate education or certification outside this catalog. Published materials describe all NP tracks and certificates as online accelerated programs; no hybrid or on-campus NP options for new admits are confirmed for this catalog year.2 The seven-week pace is the main structural feature highlighted, but simulation and faculty-led clinical experiences are not detailed in public materials. Ask admissions about simulation expectations and clinical placement support before committing.

Admissions Requirements for NKU NP Programs

For 2026, NKU's online MSN nurse practitioner and post-master's NP certificate tracks share a common admissions foundation, with some track-specific additions. Confirm final deadlines and any state eligibility limits on the official Northern Kentucky University admissions pages before applying.

  • Current RN license
    All online MSN NP and post-master's NP tracks require a current, unencumbered registered nurse license.
  • Accredited nursing degree
    MSN NP applicants need a BSN from a regionally accredited and ACEN/CCNE/CNEA-accredited nursing program. Post-master's certificate applicants need an MSN from an accredited graduate nursing program.
  • Minimum GPA
    MSN NP applicants need a 3.0 GPA in BSN coursework. Post-master's certificate applicants need a 3.0 GPA in MSN graduate coursework.
  • RN work experience hours
    All tracks require 1,000 clinical RN hours, documented on the university's verification form.
  • Track-specific acute care experience
    AGACNP tracks, both MSN and post-master's certificate, also require one year of critical care experience and a Critical Care Verification Form.
  • Prerequisite coursework
    Undergraduate statistics with a C or better is required for MSN NP tracks. RNs with a non-nursing bachelor's degree may be admitted but must complete additional prerequisites before starting MSN courses.
  • GRE and entrance exams
    The GRE is not required. NKU's streamlined process does not require graduate entrance exams, a resume, or references.
  • Background check
    A state and federal criminal background check through PreCheck StudentCheck is required for all tracks.
  • Application fee
    The application fee is $40 and nonrefundable. It is waived for NKU alumni and active or veteran military applicants.
  • Application deadlines and state availability
    Deadlines vary by term, and recent university pages list different dates, so confirm current deadlines on the official NKU admissions page. Online MSN NP and post-master's NP programs also exclude applicants from 24 states and Washington, DC.

Clinical Placement Support and Online Learning Structure

Clinical placement at Northern Kentucky University is student-initiated, and that distinction shapes everything from your site search timeline to how you manage out-of-state rotations. NKU expects you to identify the preceptor and clinical sites for nurse practitioner students, while the university handles approval, contracts, and compliance requirements.1

Who Finds the Preceptor and Site

You are responsible for finding a clinical preceptor and site. NKU's MSN Student Placement Team and Contracts and Compliance Team then review the match, manage agreements, and track documentation through Medatrax/InPlace. The university does not contract with third-party placement services and discourages their use.1 Submit preceptor details at least 30 days before the clinical start date, though 90 days is recommended.2 Approval is required before each clinical, and NKU prohibits using your direct supervisor as preceptor.1 For help, contact [email protected] or your concentration coordinator. Concentration coordinators can advise on whether a proposed site fits your track.

Required Clinical Hours by Track

Published totals list 750 clinical hours for the FNP track3 and 600 residency hours for the Post-Master's MSN Certificate.4 The AGACNP, AGNP, and PMHNP tracks do not list a single combined total in the current program materials, but NKU does spell out eligible settings. AGACNP students may use emergency room or urgent care hours for up to 50% of the total.5 AGNP students use primary care, long-term care, and hospice settings. PMHNP students use psychiatric and mental health settings. FNP students may count specialty office hours for up to 125 hours.2 Always confirm your exact hour requirement with your concentration coordinator before planning clinical rotations.

On-Campus Requirements and Online Structure

Although the NP programs are delivered online, the graduate catalog states that all NP tracks except PMHNP must attend NRP 690, a one-credit on-campus clinical residency.6 There are no make-up sessions, and missing the residency can delay your clinical start by a full year. PMHNP students are not required to attend this on-campus residency.6 Because this is a synchronous requirement, treat it as a non-negotiable travel date.

Out-of-State Placements and Authorization

NKU handles out-of-state placements case by case rather than through a single published policy. Clinical sites must match your specialty and patient population and must pass university verification. Affiliation agreements exist but are not shared with students. Some information suggests preceptors must be in a state where NKU is authorized, but NKU's own materials do not confirm that rule. State authorization for online np programs may affect where you can complete supervised hours.7 If you plan to complete rotations outside Kentucky, contact the Student Placement Team early to clarify state authorization and timing.

Steps to Secure Your NKU NP Clinical Placement

Six-step clinical placement process: identify interests, meet coordinator, submit preferences, secure preceptor, complete hours, evaluate experience.

Questions to Ask Yourself

Many online NP students arrange at least one preceptor independently. If networking is uncomfortable, the clinical phase can stall, so weigh that effort against the flexibility of online coursework.

NKU's online format shifts more responsibility to you for pacing and follow-through. If you need frequent live faculty contact or classroom cues to stay engaged, consider whether the structure supports your study habits.

A family-focused track may not prepare you for acute care roles, for example. Match the clinical focus to your target job market now to avoid needing additional certification later.

Tuition, Fees, and Financial Aid Overview

Online NP concentrations at Northern Kentucky University generally use a $600 per-credit tuition rate. Total program tuition varies by credit load and track. Additional costs include a $41 per-credit online course fee and a $15 per-course MSN course-specific fee, so the figures below reflect program tuition before those add-ons. Financial aid and employer tuition assistance may help Kentucky nurses, but several named nursing scholarships are limited to BSN students, so graduate NP applicants should confirm current graduate funding options with the financial aid office.

Program TrackCredit HoursPer-Credit RateEstimated Total Tuition
MSN - Adult-Gero Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (AGACNP) Online47$600$33,990
MSN - Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP) Online48$600$35,613
MSN - Psych-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (PMHNP) OnlineN/A$600$33,990
Online MSN NP concentrations (general)47$600$33,990

What Nurse Practitioners Earn in Kentucky

Career Outcomes for NKU NP Graduates in Kentucky

Kentucky nurse practitioner pay varies by source, with general NP medians around $122,870 and a typical statewide range of $93,800 to $130,300. Kentucky-specific emergency or acute care NP medians are not separately reported in the available data; the national emergency NP average base is $136,049, with total compensation of $144,509 or more. Use these figures as a baseline and check specialty association reports or NKU's graduate nursing outcomes page for alumni placement and certification data.

Setting or roleReported payGeographyData year
Nurse practitioner, general$122,870 median annual wageKentucky2025
Nurse practitioner, general$125,010 mean annual wageKentucky2025
Nurse practitioner, general$162,960 90th percentile annual wageKentucky2025
Nurse practitioner, general$93,800 to $130,300 typical salary rangeKentucky2025
Emergency nurse practitioner$136,049 mean annual base wageNational2026
Emergency nurse practitioner$144,509 total compensationNational2026
Nurse practitioner$93,840 mean annual wageEast Kentucky nonmetropolitan area2026
Nurse practitioner$115,220 mean annual wageLexington-Fayette, KY2026
Nurse practitioner$115,180 mean annual wageLouisville/Jefferson County, KY-IN2026
Nurse practitioner with DNP$108,940 to $128,960 salary rangeKentuckyNot specified
Nurse practitioner with DNP$120,630 to $140,880 salary rangeLouisville/Jefferson County, KYNot specified
Nurse practitioner with DNP$121,230 to $130,810 salary rangeOwensboro, KYNot specified
Acute care nurse practitionerTop-ranked NP specialty for payNationalNot specified

Frequently Asked Questions About NKU NP Programs

Does NKU offer an emergency nurse practitioner program?
NKU does not offer a dedicated Emergency Nurse Practitioner degree.1 Emergency care is addressed through the Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (AGACNP) track, an acute care nurse practitioner program whose post-master's certificate lists emergency departments as a possible practice setting.2 If emergency practice is your goal, consider the AGACNP path rather than a separate emergency nurse practitioner programs online.
What are the admission requirements for NKU NP programs?
Admission requirements vary by program and level. The BSN-DNP program requires a baccalaureate in nursing from an accredited program, an unencumbered RN license from at least one state, and no GRE.3 The nurse anesthesia track also requires one year of critical care and CCRN.3 For online MSN NP programs and post-master's tracks, published details are partial; the AGACNP certificate requires a Critical Care Verification Form.2 Contact NKU for complete MSN prerequisites.
What are NKU nurse practitioner certification pass rates?
NKU does not publish certification pass rates for its NP programs in the reviewed materials. This is a reporting gap, not evidence of performance. If pass rates are important to you, ask the program directly for recent first-time pass rate data before applying.
How are clinical placements arranged for online NP students at NKU?
NKU's online NP programs are delivered fully online with no campus visits,4 and one MSN track lists 750 clinical hours. However, published program pages do not describe how online students are matched to preceptors or clinical sites. Contact NKU's clinical placement team early to understand the process for your state and specialty.
What is the tuition for Northern Kentucky University NP programs?
The online MSN AGACNP is listed at $600 per credit for residents, with a total program cost of $33,990 and a duration of as few as 24 months.4 DNP programs are $710 per credit, and nurse anesthesia is $787 per credit.5 Tuition for the FNP, PMHNP, and post-master's certificate tracks is not explicitly stated in available sources; confirm directly with NKU.
Can I complete NKU NP coursework part time or transfer credits?
Published materials list a 24-month timeline for the MSN AGACNP4 and a 36-month BSN-DNP option,3 but part-time pacing and transfer credit policies are not detailed for all NP tracks. Graduate application fees are waived for NKU alumni.6 For transferability, ask NKU admissions to review your prior graduate coursework.
Does NKU's online NP program accept out-of-state students?
NKU's online NP programs are designed for remote learners, but published pages do not specify state authorization details or whether online MSN students must hold RN licenses in both Kentucky and Ohio. Check with NKU before applying to confirm your state is approved and what licensure is required.

Recent Articles