Best Nurse Practitioner Programs in Los Angeles (2027)

Compare NP specialties, degree levels, costs, and formats across the greater LA metro area

Most important takeaways…

  • Los Angeles area NP programs span FNP, PMHNP, AGNP, PNP, WHNP, and AGACNP specialties across MSN and DNP levels.
  • CSU tuition keeps resident NP education well under $50,000, far below many private university alternatives.
  • Median annual pay for nurse practitioners in the LA metro reaches roughly $164,510, above the national median.
  • California began issuing 104 NP licenses in January 2026, granting full practice authority to qualifying graduates.

Los Angeles runs one of the largest and most fragmented healthcare economies in the country, a mix of academic medical centers, safety-net clinics, and underserved communities that creates strong demand for nurse practitioners across specialties. With MSN, DNP, and post-master's certificate tracks available at public and private universities throughout the metro, choosing a pathway that aligns with your clinical focus, budget, and schedule requires more than a search for the nearest program.

We've mapped NP programs in the Greater Los Angeles area, broken down specialties from FNP to PMHNP, and compared costs, admissions requirements, and earnings data to help you find a fit. Neighboring areas like NP programs in Pasadena and NP programs in Irvine expand your options even further. California's NP workforce is growing fast, but program quality and clinical placement opportunities still vary widely.

NP Programs in the Greater Los Angeles Area

The greater Los Angeles area draws nurse practitioner students from across Southern California, and the schools below range from large public universities in the basin to private and online options built for working nurses. Each entry covers the degree levels, delivery format, and specialties a school actually offers, so you can match a program to your schedule and your career goal. Where a campus sits outside comfortable commuting distance from Los Angeles, we say so plainly.

How we ranked these
Factors considered
  • Student-to-faculty ratio
  • Earnings ten years after entry
  • Breadth of NP specialties offered
  • Online and hybrid delivery options
  • California licensure and accreditation
Data sources
  • Program-level records maintained in house
  • Independent editorial research
  • National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
  • Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
SA

Samuel Merritt University

Oakland, CA · $50,000/yr

Best for: Working RNs who need online delivery

Samuel Merritt University is a private institution based in Oakland, and its nurse practitioner offerings lean heavily on online and hybrid delivery, which suits working nurses who cannot relocate for school. The university runs a master's-level family nurse practitioner track, a post-master's psychiatric mental health certificate, and doctoral pathways in both family and psychiatric mental health practice. The FNP track asks for an active RN license, a bachelor's degree, and a 2.5 GPA, with full-time and part-time pacing available. Admission is rolling, and a $10,000 scholarship is available to full-time students.

  • Master of Science in Nursing, Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP) — Hybrid
    Samuel Merritt University
    CCNE accredited
    • 48 units required
    • Full-time in 20 months, part-time in 28 months
    • Online coursework with two on-campus intensives
    • 630 clinical hours
    • 2.5 GPA minimum
    • Active RN license and bachelor's degree required
    • Three start dates per year (spring, summer, fall)
    • $10,000 scholarship for full-time students
    Visit Website
  • Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Certificate — Online
    Samuel Merritt University
    • Online program format
    • Track options of 3, 4, or 6 semesters
    • MSN degree required for admission
    • One year of RN experience required
    • Prepares students for the ANCC exam
    • Rolling admissions policy
    • CCNE accredited program
    • $10,000 scholarship available
    Visit Website
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice, Family Nurse Practitioner — Online
    Samuel Merritt University
    CCNE accredited
    • Online classes with two on-campus residencies
    • 12:1 student-to-faculty ratio
    • 100% of faculty hold doctorates and practice as NPs
    • $10,000 Advance Your Practice Scholarship
    • Low loan default ratings nationwide
    Visit Website
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice, Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner — Online
    Samuel Merritt University
    CCNE accredited
    • Three-year program
    • Four concentration options
    • WSCUC and CCNE accredited
    • Online with three Northern California campuses
    • Full-time, part-time, and online options
    Visit Website
UN

University of California-Los Angeles

Los Angeles, CA · $14,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution
Best for: Angelenos pursuing doctoral-level advanced practice

UCLA's School of Nursing sits inside a large academic health system in Los Angeles, and its post-BSN Doctor of Nursing Practice prepares registered nurses for advanced practice in four specialties, including family, adult gerontology primary care, and adult gerontology acute care. Entry requires a California RN license, a 3.0 GPA, three letters of recommendation, and prerequisite coursework, and the inaugural DNP cohort began in fall 2025. A separate 12-month hybrid certificate lets practicing advanced practice nurses add psychiatric mental health credentials, with clinical placements arranged across California. Institution-wide, UCLA reports a graduation rate above 90 percent, though that figure describes the whole university rather than any single nursing program.

  • Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP), Post-BSN DNP, Master's — On-Campus
    University of California-Los Angeles
    CCNE accredited
    • Three-year program
    • Four specialty options available
    • Apply by December 1, 2026
    • Fall start only
    • 3.0 GPA minimum
    • California RN license required
    • Three letters of recommendation (minimum)
    • Prerequisites in statistics, nursing research, physical assessment, and physiology
    Visit Website
  • Adult Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner, Post-BSN DNP — On-Campus
    University of California-Los Angeles
    CCNE accredited
    • Care across the adult lifespan
    • Occupational health certificate option
    • Inaugural cohort began fall 2025
    • Health promotion, disease prevention, and chronic disease management
    Visit Website
  • Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner, Post-BSN DNP — On-Campus
    University of California-Los Angeles
    CCNE accredited
    • Acute and critical care focus
    • Varied practice settings
    • Doctoral-level NP preparation
    • Serves adult and geriatric acute care populations
    Visit Website
  • UC Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Certificate — Hybrid
    University of California-Los Angeles
    • 12-month hybrid program
    • 48-unit graduate certificate
    • Full-time enrollment required
    • Clinical placements across California
    • Prepares students for PMHNP-BC certification
    • Three immersion sessions annually
    • Open to licensed APRNs, including NPs and CNSs
    • Admissions handled through UC Davis
    Visit Website
SA

San Jose State University

San Jose, CA · $10,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution
Best for: Bay Area nurses wanting a cohort format

San Jose State University sits in the South Bay, well outside commuting range for most Los Angeles nurses, so it works best for readers who are relocating or who already live in the Bay Area. Its NP offering is a family nurse practitioner track inside the MSN, delivered in a hybrid format with in-person Tuesday evening classes and clinical rotations. The program runs as a full-time, five-semester cohort with fall-only admission and a small group size, which appeals to nurses who want a structured, lockstep pace. Applicants need a BSN, an unrestricted California RN license, and a 3.0 GPA.

  • Master of Science in Nursing, Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
    San Jose State University
    CCNE accredited
    • Five-semester program
    • Hybrid format with Tuesday evening classes
    • Full-time cohort model
    • Fall admission only
    • 3.0 GPA minimum
    • California RN license required
    • Two years of experience preferred
    • Small cohort size
    Visit Website
UN

University of California-Irvine

Irvine, CA · $15,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

UC Irvine is roughly 45 minutes to an hour from much of Los Angeles County, which puts it within reach for Orange County and southeast LA commuters. The campus runs the UC system's first DNP in family nurse practitioner practice, a three-year hybrid that combines synchronous and asynchronous coursework with on-campus intensives and faculty practice rotations. UCI also serves as a partner site for the multicampus psychiatric mental health certificate, which lets local advanced practice nurses complete clinical training near home. The DNP-FNP admits full-time students only and prepares graduates for FNP board certification.

  • UC Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Certificate — Hybrid
    University of California-Irvine
    • 12-month hybrid program
    • 48-unit graduate academic certificate
    • Virtual Wednesday case conferences
    • Full-time enrollment required
    • Regional clinical training near students' home communities
    • Prepares students for ANCC PMHNP board certification
    • Open to licensed APRNs only
    • First multicampus PMHNP program in California
    Visit Website
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice, Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
    University of California-Irvine
    CCNE accredited
    • Three-year hybrid program
    • First DNP-FNP program in the UC system
    • Three on-campus intensives
    • Synchronous and asynchronous coursework
    • Capstone required
    • Faculty practice clinical rotations
    • Apply by April 15, 2026
    • Prepares students for FNP board certification
    Visit Website
UN

University of California-Davis

Davis, CA · $15,000 – $20,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

UC Davis is a Northern California campus, so it is not a commuter option for Los Angeles nurses, but it matters to this list because it houses the psychiatric mental health certificate that Southern California students can complete with local clinical placements. That certificate is a 12-month hybrid run in collaboration with UCLA, UC Irvine, and UC San Francisco, and it was built as the first multicampus PMHNP program in the state. The campus also offers a family nurse practitioner DNP, a three-year hybrid with four on-campus immersions and clinical rotations placed near students' California communities. Both pathways enroll full-time students and provide clinical placement support.

  • UC Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Certificate — Hybrid
    University of California-Davis
    • Housed at UC Davis with UCLA, UC Irvine, and UCSF
    • 12-month hybrid certificate
    • 48 units of graduate coursework
    • Clinical placements across California
    • 16 to 24 hours of clinical training weekly
    • Immersion sessions in summer, fall, and winter
    • Prepares students for ANCC board certification
    • Open to NPs, CNSs, CNMs, and CRNAs
    Visit Website
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice, Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
    University of California-Davis
    • Three-year hybrid program
    • Four on-campus immersion experiences
    • Clinical rotations near California communities
    • Clinical placement support provided
    • Leadership and policy advocacy training
    • Application period runs September to January
    • Capstone required
    Visit Website
TO

Touro University California

Vallejo, CA · $30,000 – $35,000/yr

Touro University California is a private institution in Vallejo whose NP offerings here are post-graduate certificates rather than full degrees, aimed at nurses who already hold a graduate nursing degree. Both the family nurse practitioner and psychiatric mental health certificates run in a hybrid format that is roughly 90 percent online with periodic on-campus intensives, which makes them workable for nurses traveling in from Southern California a few times a term. Clinical placements are guaranteed for the FNP certificate, and the psychiatric certificate includes rotations across inpatient, outpatient, community, and telemedicine settings.

  • Family Nurse Practitioner Certificate — Hybrid
    Touro University California
    • Hybrid format, about 90 percent online
    • 12 to 18 months to complete
    • Minimum of 630 clinical hours
    • Guaranteed clinical placements
    • Graduate degree required for admission
    • Applications accepted year-round with summer start
    • On-campus immersives two to three times per semester
    • Prepares students for national FNP certification exams
    Visit Website
  • Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Certificate — Hybrid
    Touro University California
    • Post-master's certificate program
    • 20 to 22 months across five semesters
    • 750 total clinical hours
    • Fall or spring start dates
    • Rotations in inpatient, outpatient, and community settings
    • Telemedicine simulation training
    • Prepares students for national board certification
    • Advanced pathophysiology, assessment, and pharmacology prerequisites
    Visit Website
SA

San Diego State University

San Diego, CA · $10,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

San Diego State University is a public campus in San Diego, roughly a two-hour drive from Los Angeles, so it functions as a Southern California regional option rather than a commuter one. It is one of the few Cal State campuses offering both family nurse practitioner and psychiatric mental health DNP pathways, alongside a master's program that pairs adult gerontology primary care with acute and critical care clinical nurse specialist preparation. Doctoral applicants are not required to take an entrance exam, and the School of Nursing arranges clinical placements. A 3.0 GPA and prerequisite coursework are standard, and some tracks ask for two years of RN experience.

  • Adult Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner, Master of Science in Nursing — On-Campus
    San Diego State University
    CCNE accredited
    • Dual preparation as an adult gerontology primary care NP and acute care clinical nurse specialist
    • 768 clinical hours
    • Eligible for ANCC, AANP, and AACN certification
    • Campus-based delivery
    Visit Website
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice, Family Nurse Practitioner — On-Campus
    San Diego State University
    • No entrance exam required
    • Three years full-time or four years part-time
    • 1,000 clinical hours
    • Clinical placements arranged by the School of Nursing
    • Prepares students for FNP-BC or FNP-C
    • Statistics prerequisite required
    • 3.0 GPA minimum
    • Personal interview may be required
    Visit Website
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice, Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner — On-Campus
    San Diego State University
    • 70 to 78 total units
    • In-person with some hybrid courses
    • Prepares students for PMHNP-BC
    • Evidence-based practice project required
    • Psychiatric mental health across the life span
    Visit Website
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice, Adult Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner — On-Campus
    San Diego State University
    • Prepares students for AGPCNP-BC
    • Two years of RN experience required
    • Statistics prerequisite with a C or better
    • Culminating evidence-based practice project
    Visit Website
CA

California State University-Fullerton

Fullerton, CA · $9,000 – $19,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Cal State Fullerton is in northern Orange County, a commuter-friendly location for nurses coming from eastern and southeastern Los Angeles County. The school's women's health care concentration is one of the few paths in California to women's health nurse practitioner certification, and it also offers a combined nurse-midwife and women's health NP option. Coursework is campus-based, clinical placements are arranged by faculty, and the program is accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education. Institution-wide, Cal State Fullerton reports a graduation rate near 70 percent, which reflects the entire university rather than this concentration.

  • Women's Health Care Concentration, Master of Science in Nursing — On-Campus
    California State University-Fullerton
    CCNE accredited
    • Women's health nurse practitioner specialty
    • Primary ambulatory care for women across the lifespan
    • Clinical placements arranged by faculty
    • Outpatient and hospital settings
    • Well woman gynecologic care, perimenopause, and menopause care
    • Focus on care for vulnerable populations
    • CCNE accredited
    Visit Website
  • Nurse-Midwife and Women's Health Nurse Practitioner Concentration, Master's — On-Campus
    California State University-Fullerton
    CCNE accredited
    • Combined nurse-midwife and women's health NP option
    • Pregnancy management and newborn care training
    • Family planning education
    • Campus-based delivery
    Visit Website
UN

University of Southern California

Los Angeles, CA · $72,000/yr

The University of Southern California is a private university in the middle of Los Angeles, and its MSN family nurse practitioner track is the school's main NP offering here. The hybrid program combines online coursework with two on-campus intensives and clinical placements close to home, and students complete 50 credit hours and 786 clinical hours over 21 to 33 months. Full-time and part-time options mean working nurses can pace the degree around a job, and a bridge course is available for applicants who need one. The school reports licensure exam pass rates of 92 percent on the ANCC exam and 88 percent on the AANP exam.

  • Master of Science in Nursing, Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
    University of Southern California
    CCNE accredited
    • 50 credit hours
    • 786 clinical hours
    • 21 to 33 months to complete
    • Hybrid with two on-campus intensives
    • Local clinical placements
    • Full-time and part-time options
    • Bridge course available for some applicants
    • CCNE accredited and California BRN approved
    Visit Website
CA

California State University-Long Beach

Long Beach, CA · $9,000 – $19,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Cal State Long Beach offers one of the widest NP menus in the Los Angeles basin, spanning family, pediatric primary care, and adult gerontology primary and acute care at the master's level, plus doctoral pathways in family, psychiatric mental health, and adult gerontology practice. The campus sits on the Los Angeles County line, so it draws commuters from across the South Bay, Long Beach, and north Orange County. Master's tracks require a 3.0 GPA and prerequisite coursework in statistics, pathophysiology, and physical assessment, and doctoral students complete 1,000 clinical hours and a doctoral project. Institution-wide, Cal State Long Beach reports a graduation rate near 69 percent, which covers the entire university rather than the nursing programs.

  • Family Nurse Practitioner Specialty, Master of Science in Nursing — On-Campus
    California State University-Long Beach
    CCNE accredited
    • 30 to 48 units of coursework
    • Prerequisites in statistics, pathophysiology, and physical assessment
    • Family-focused theory and clinical courses
    • Core advanced practice nursing coursework
    • Campus-based format
    • CCNE accredited and BRN approved
    • Thesis or capstone culminating option
    Visit Website
  • Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner, Master of Science in Nursing — On-Campus
    California State University-Long Beach
    CCNE accredited
    • Pediatric primary care concentration
    • Culminating options include thesis, project, or exam
    • Campus-based delivery format
    • Six concentration options across the MSN
    Visit Website
  • Adult Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner, Master of Science in Nursing — On-Campus
    California State University-Long Beach
    CCNE accredited
    • Adult-gerontological primary care specialty
    • Advanced pathophysiology, pharmacology, and health assessment core
    • Specialty clinical courses in primary care
    • Current California RN license required
    Visit Website
  • Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner, Master of Science in Nursing — On-Campus
    California State University-Long Beach
    CCNE accredited
    • Acute care track within the adult-gerontology program
    • Specialty clinical courses in acute care
    • Health assessment clinical seminar included
    • Offers both acute and primary care tracks
    Visit Website
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice, Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
    California State University-Long Beach
    • 72-unit program completed in three years
    • 1,000 clinical practice hours
    • Evidence-based doctoral project
    • Hybrid delivery format
    • Prepares students for national certification
    Visit Website
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice, Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
    California State University-Long Beach
    • Psychiatric mental health across the life span
    • Electives include Medical Spanish
    • Admission requires an interview and essay
    • BSN to DNP pathway
    • Six NP specialty areas across the DNP
    Visit Website
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice, Adult Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
    California State University-Long Beach
    • 3.0 GPA minimum
    • Three letters of recommendation (minimum)
    • Capstone required
    • Five concentration options across the DNP
    Visit Website
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice, Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner — On-Campus
    California State University-Long Beach
    • Employment verification required for applicants
    • Statement of purpose required
    • Doctoral project on practice problems
    • Effective fall 2023
    • Interview and on-site essay test required
    Visit Website

NP Specialties You Can Study in the Los Angeles Metro

The Los Angeles metro area offers most major nurse practitioner specialties, though availability and program formats vary by school. Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP) is the most widely offered track, available at UCLA, Cal State Long Beach, Cal State Dominguez Hills, Cal State Los Angeles, USC, and a dozen other campuses. FNP programs prepare you to deliver primary care across the lifespan, from newborns to seniors, in outpatient clinics, urgent care centers, and community health settings. Most working RNs start with FNP because of its broad scope and flexible job market.

High-Demand Psychiatric Mental Health Specialty

Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (PMHNP) programs are in particularly high demand as California grapples with shortages of mental health providers. UC Davis, UC Irvine, UCLA, and UC San Francisco jointly offer a twelve-month PMHNP certificate designed for already-licensed nurse practitioners. Vanguard University offers an online PMHNP certificate for MSN or DNP graduates. These programs equip you to assess, diagnose, and treat patients with psychiatric and substance use disorders in both outpatient and inpatient settings.

Adult Gerontology and Acute Care Specialties

Adult Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (AGNP) concentrations appear at San Diego State (Imperial Valley campus) and prepare you to serve adults and older patients in primary care. For critical care settings, Cal State Los Angeles offers a post-master's certificate in Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (AGACNP), focusing on hospitalized, acutely ill, and ICU patients.

Women's Health and Pediatrics

Women's health nurse practitioner (WHNP) training is available at Cal State Fullerton, where you can also pursue a dual nurse-midwife and WHNP track. Pediatric Nurse Practitioner (PNP) preparation is less common in stand-alone programs but is offered at Loma Linda University through a DNP pathway focused on primary care for children and adolescents. If your career focus is a specific population or clinical setting, confirm that the school you are considering offers the specialty you need.

MSN, DNP, and Post-Master's Certificate Pathways

Choosing the right degree pathway depends on where you are in your career and where you want to go. If you are a BSN-prepared nurse entering advanced practice for the first time, the MSN is your most direct route. If you are drawn to clinical leadership, systems-level change, or faculty roles, a DNP builds on that foundation. And if you already hold an MSN or DNP and want to add a new NP specialty, a post-master's certificate lets you do so in roughly a year. Among the programs listed for the greater Los Angeles area and nearby regions, the majority award MSN degrees, several offer DNP tracks, and a handful provide post-master's certificates for practicing NPs looking to expand their scope.

MSN, DNP, and Post-Master's Certificate Pathways

Program Costs and Financial Considerations

Public universities in California make NP education genuinely affordable, especially compared to private programs that can run $50,000 or more for a full MSN.

Public Program Tuition in the CSU System

For California residents, tuition at CSU campuses runs roughly $7,000 to $10,000 per year for graduate programs. Cal State LA, for example, lists in-state tuition around $8,700 per year for its post-master's certificate, while Cal State Long Beach and CSU Dominguez Hills in Carson come in around $8,900 per year for their FNP tracks. Out-of-state students pay considerably more, in the range of $18,000 to $20,000 annually, which is still competitive compared to many private institutions nationwide.

For students who qualify for financial aid, the actual out-of-pocket cost can drop substantially below the sticker tuition. Across CSU campuses with NP programs, average net prices for students receiving aid typically fall in the $4,000 to $12,000 per year range, depending on the campus and aid package. These are institution-wide estimates, not program-specific figures, so your individual cost will depend on your household income, aid eligibility, and enrollment status.

Understanding What You May Borrow

Graduate debt at CSU nursing programs tends to be more manageable than at private schools. Median graduate debt at CSU campuses with NP programs generally falls between $13,000 and $17,000 total, based on available federal data. Keep in mind that NPs in the Los Angeles metro frequently earn $120,000 to $140,000 or more annually, which makes even private program debt far more serviceable than it might appear upfront.

Program-level earnings and debt data specific to NP graduates are not yet published for most of these programs, so the figures above reflect institution-wide borrowing patterns rather than NP-specific outcomes.

Private Programs and the Cost Trade-Off

Private universities offering NP programs in the Los Angeles area, including several faith-based and for-profit institutions, typically charge per-unit rates that push total program costs well past $50,000 for an MSN. If you are exploring options beyond the LA metro, our guide to affordable nurse practitioner programs can help you compare costs nationally. The potential advantages of private programs, such as cohort-based scheduling, more frequent start dates, and added flexibility, may justify that premium for certain students. For most working nurses weighing cost against return, however, the CSU system represents a hard-to-beat value within commuting range of Los Angeles.

Admissions Requirements and Program Formats

A 3.0 undergraduate GPA is the floor at nearly every NP program in the Los Angeles area, and many schools will not review an application below that threshold.1 While the core criteria are consistent (a BSN from an accredited program, an active unencumbered California RN license, and completion of a statistics prerequisite), the details around work experience, entrance exams, and clinical placement support vary enough to shape where you apply.

Standard Admissions Criteria

  • Degree: A Bachelor of Science in Nursing from a regionally accredited institution and a nationally accredited nursing program (CCNE or ACEN).
  • License: An active, unencumbered Registered Nurse license in California. Some programs allow you to apply while the license is pending, but it must be issued before clinical courses begin.
  • GPA: A minimum cumulative undergraduate GPA of 3.0. Programs like UCLA and Cal State Long Beach enforce this strictly; a few may offer conditional admission if you show strong grades in recent graduate coursework.2
  • Prerequisites: A college-level statistics course is required by almost every program. Additional common prerequisites include pathophysiology, physical assessment, and human physiology, often built into the BSN but sometimes needing a refresher.

GRE Policies and Experience Requirements

GRE requirements are fading. Cal State LA, for example, offers a GRE waiver, and most public universities in the region no longer require the exam.2 A few private schools may still ask for scores, but the trend is test-optional.

RN experience expectations split roughly into two camps: - One year of acute-care or related nursing practice is the most common benchmark, used by Cal State LA, CSU Stanislaus, and others. - Two years is preferred or required at more selective programs like UCLA, CSU Bakersfield, and CSU Dominguez Hills.

If you are a newer graduate, look for programs that accept new RNs; they are less common but do exist in the greater LA footprint. For a deeper look at what graduate nursing programs expect, review these NP school requirements.

Clinical Placement: Who Finds Your Preceptor?

Clinical placement support is one of the biggest differentiators. Some programs, such as Cal State LA and UCLA, maintain a school-coordinated model where faculty or a placement office secures preceptors and sites for required clinical hours (typically 600 to 750 hours total).3 Others place the responsibility squarely on the student to identify and contract with a preceptor, a task that can be challenging in the competitive LA healthcare market. Always confirm during the admissions process exactly how the program sources clinical rotations and what geographic flexibility is allowed. Even programs based in Los Angeles may place students at sites across Southern California, from the San Fernando Valley to Orange County.

Program Formats and Pacing for Working RNs

Of the 15 NP programs in our overview, 8 use a hybrid format that blends online didactic coursework with periodic on-campus intensives or simulation days, while 7 remain fully campus-based. No program is entirely online for the clinical specialty component; all California-based NP pathways require in-person clinical hours completed in or near Los Angeles. If you are considering an out-of-state online program, keep in mind that the California Board of Registered Nursing must approve it before you can complete clinical rotations in the state.4

Pacing options have expanded to accommodate working nurses: - Full-time tracks typically run 2 years (5 to 6 semesters) and follow a cohort model with set course sequences. - Part-time tracks stretch 3 to 4 years, with lighter course loads each term. For instance, CSU Dominguez Hills' 3-to-4-year path is explicitly designed for nurses who plan to keep working. - Hybrid scheduling means evening classes, weekend labs, and online modules, reducing commute time. USC's FNP program, for example, combines online coursework with just two on-campus intensives over the entire program, while UC Davis and UC Irvine post-master's certificates use a mix of virtual classes and short immersion sessions.

If you are pursuing a DNP rather than an MSN, expect additional coursework in research methods, quality improvement, and a scholarly project. You can explore the full list of DNP prerequisites to see how those requirements layer on top of the standard admissions criteria.

If you are balancing a full-time nursing job, look for programs that clearly state "part-time option" and ask how often on-campus attendance is required. Even hybrid programs may demand a monthly or quarterly in-person commitment, so factor in LA traffic when choosing.

Earnings and Job Outlook for Nurse Practitioners in Los Angeles

The Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim metro area employs approximately 6,400 nurse practitioners, making it one of the largest NP job markets in California. Median annual pay for NPs in the LA metro sits at $164,510, which is well above the national median of roughly $126,260 but slightly below the California statewide median (driven upward by higher-paying Bay Area metros). For comparison, registered nurses in the same metro earn a median of $133,440, meaning an NP credential can translate to roughly $31,000 more per year in the LA area.

Wage PercentileAnnual Salary (LA Metro)
10th PercentileData not reported
25th Percentile$140,230
Median (50th Percentile)$164,510
75th Percentile$184,670
90th PercentileData not reported
Mean (Average)$165,030

How to Become a Nurse Practitioner in California

The path from registered nurse to licensed nurse practitioner in California typically takes two to four years, depending on whether you enroll full-time or part-time. Starting in January 2026, California began issuing 104 NP licenses, which grant full practice authority after completing a structured transition-to-practice period. Here is the step-by-step licensure pathway for aspiring NPs in the state.

Six-step California NP licensure pathway from BSN through full practice authority, including 4,600 transition-to-practice hours

Recent Articles

Follow us