Best Nurse Practitioner Programs in Milwaukee, WI (2027)

Compare NP specialties, degree levels, and program formats across the Milwaukee metro area

Most important takeaways…

  • Milwaukee-area NP program tuition ranges from roughly $6,300 to $24,700 per year depending on school and residency status.
  • The metro employs about 1,940 nurse practitioners at a median annual wage of $129,760.
  • FNP is the most widely available specialty, with PMHNP and acute care options offered at fewer schools.
  • Students commuting from Racine, Kenosha, Waukesha, or Madison should verify clinical placement policies before enrolling.

Milwaukee's healthcare infrastructure is anchored by major systems including Aurora Health Care, Froedtert Health, and Ascension Wisconsin, and the metro employs nearly 2,000 nurse practitioners with a median wage of $129,760. That strong clinical ecosystem supports a corresponding range of nurse practitioner education options, from public universities like UW-Milwaukee to private colleges and specialized institutions scattered across the metro and nearby counties.

Wisconsin nurses can choose from MSN, DNP, and post-master's certificate pathways in several specialties, with Family Nurse Practitioner programs by far the most common and psychiatric mental health or acute care concentrations available at select schools. Those weighing the doctoral route can explore online DNP programs in Wisconsin for additional options. Most programs blend online coursework with campus-based or regional clinical rotations, and tuition at Wisconsin public universities runs significantly lower than out-of-state online alternatives.

Commute logistics matter. Nurses living in Waukesha, Mequon, Racine, Kenosha, and even Madison frequently enroll in Milwaukee-area programs, but clinical placement policies and residency-based tuition rules vary by school.

NP Programs in the Milwaukee Metro Area

Nurse practitioner training in and around Milwaukee comes in a wider range of shapes than most nurses expect, from one-year post-master's certificates to three-year BSN-to-DNP pathways. The schools below sit in the metro or within a reasonable drive of it, and each card lists the programs a school actually enrolls students in, along with the specialties and delivery formats that matter most when you are comparing options while working full time.

How we ranked these
Factors considered
  • Student-to-faculty ratio
  • Earnings ten years after entry
  • Institution-wide graduation rates
  • Breadth of NP specialties offered
  • Net price after aid
Data sources
  • Program-level records maintained in house
  • Independent editorial research
  • National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
  • Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
UN

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Madison, WI · ~$12,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Master's-prepared nurses adding psychiatric certification

Wisconsin's flagship public university sits in Madison, about a 90-minute drive from Milwaukee, and offers nurse practitioner preparation at the graduate certificate and doctoral level. Nurses can add a psychiatric mental health capstone certificate or pursue a DNP with pediatric primary care, psychiatric mental health, or adult-gerontology primary care concentrations. Most pathways blend online coursework with on-campus sessions, and clinical placements are arranged by program faculty.

  • Post-Graduate Psychiatric Nursing Capstone Certificate — Hybrid
    University of Wisconsin-Madison
    • 18-month hybrid program with online coursework and clinical placements
    • 18 graduate credits; resident tuition about $670.47 per credit
    • Nonresident tuition about $1,503.40 per credit
    • Open to nurses who already hold a master's degree in nursing
    • Prepares for psychiatric mental health advanced practice certification
    • Summer admission only with small cohort sizes
    Visit Website
  • Nursing Practice DNP: Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
    University of Wisconsin-Madison
    CCNE accredited
    • 68 total credits within the Nursing Practice DNP
    • No entrance exam required for applicants
    • Hybrid delivery with online coursework and on-campus sessions
    • Clinical placement coordinators arrange practicum sites
    • Fall start with a December 1 application deadline
    • Optional global health or nurse educator certificates
    Visit Website
  • Nursing Practice DNP: Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner, Graduate Certificate — Hybrid
    University of Wisconsin-Madison
    • Prepares graduates for ANCC psychiatric mental health board certification
    • Three- or four-year completion plans available
    • Clinical placements arranged across Wisconsin
    • LEND Fellowship option for selected students
    • Fall start with a 3.0 GPA minimum
    Visit Website
  • Nursing Practice DNP: Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
    University of Wisconsin-Madison
    CCNE accredited
    • Focus on patients age 13 and older
    • Hybrid online and in-person coursework
    • Post-BSN and post-MSN entry plans
    • Complete in a two- to four-year time frame
    • Faculty arrange clinical placements for students
    Visit Website
MA

Marquette University

Milwaukee, WI · ~$25,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Pediatric nurses wanting dual primary-acute certification

Marquette is the Milwaukee metro's largest private nursing school, with a CCNE-accredited footprint spanning campus-based and hybrid master's tracks plus a post-master's certificate. Pediatric primary care, pediatric acute care, dual primary-acute pediatric, and adult-gerontology primary care options give students several entry points, and a separate acute care certificate serves nurses who already hold a graduate degree. Coursework mixes on-campus and hybrid delivery, and merit-based assistantships and fellowships are available.

  • Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Post-Master's Certificate — On-Campus
    Marquette University
    • Campus-based certificate for nurses who already hold a graduate degree
    • Minimum 12 credits, typically 21 to 30
    • One year of full-time acute care RN experience required
    • Coursework in pathophysiology, pharmacology, and advanced health assessment
    • Prepares for the national acute care certification exam
    • CCNE accredited
    Visit Website
  • Master of Science in Nursing: Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
    Marquette University
    CCNE accredited
    • Hybrid format with six concentration options across the MSN
    • Prepares for independent primary care of children and families
    • Test optional admission with no entrance exam
    • Rolling admissions with spring, summer, and fall starts
    • Interview required for pediatric applicants
    • Merit-based graduate assistantships available
    Visit Website
  • Master of Science in Nursing: Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner — On-Campus
    Marquette University
    CCNE accredited
    • Campus-based MSN track for primary care practice
    • Focus on health promotion and diagnosis for patients age 13 and up
    • Clinical work takes place in primary care clinic settings
    • No entrance exam required for applicants
    • Financial aid and scholarships available
    Visit Website
  • Master of Science in Nursing: Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
    Marquette University
    CCNE accredited
    • Hybrid format for nurses who manage complex, critically ill children
    • PALS certification required for admission
    • One year of acute care experience expected before clinical courses
    • Prepares graduates for pediatric acute care certification
    Visit Website
  • Dual Pediatric Primary Care and Acute Care Nurse Practitioner, Master's — Hybrid
    Marquette University
    CCNE accredited
    • 48 total credits leading to dual certification in primary and acute care
    • Part-time option available with rolling admissions
    • Clinical training in high-fidelity simulation labs
    • 250-hour clinical residency
    • Personalized plans of study with a faculty adviser
    • About $1,450 per credit
    Visit Website
UN

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Eau Claire, WI · ~$11,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Family practice nurses pursuing a BSN-to-DNP

UW-Eau Claire's graduate nursing programs lead to the Doctor of Nursing Practice, with family and adult-gerontology primary care tracks built for BSN-prepared nurses who want a terminal clinical degree. Both routes run about 74 credits with roughly 1,200 clinical hours and can be finished full time in three years or part time over four to five. Delivery is campus-based in Eau Claire, so Milwaukee-area nurses should plan for regular travel or a relocation.

  • Doctor of Nursing Practice: Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner — On-Campus
    University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
    CCNE accredited
    • Prepares nurses for primary care of adults and older adults
    • Full-time and part-time options available
    • DNP project with a public presentation required
    • Statistics prerequisite required for admission
    • Priority deadline of January 4
    Visit Website
MI

Milwaukee School of Engineering

Milwaukee, WI · ~$21,000/yr (est.)

The Milwaukee School of Engineering brings an engineering-school focus to nurse practitioner education, concentrating entirely on psychiatric mental health. It offers both an MSN track and a post-master's certificate, each combining online coursework with in-person clinical experience. Applications run through NursingCAS, which makes this a practical single-specialty option for nurses already living in the metro.

  • Post-Master's Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Certificate — Hybrid
    Milwaukee School of Engineering
    • Hybrid certificate for nurses who already hold a graduate nursing degree
    • Prepares graduates for PMHNP board certification
    • Combines online coursework with in-person clinical experience
    • Applications submitted through NursingCAS
    • CCNE accredited nursing program
    Visit Website
  • Master of Science in Nursing: Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner, Graduate Certificate — Hybrid
    Milwaukee School of Engineering
    • MSN track focused on psychiatric mental health across the lifespan
    • Hybrid delivery with online classes and clinical placements
    • Admissions questions go through the graduate admissions director
    • Located in Milwaukee with local clinical sites
    Visit Website
BE

Bellin College

Green Bay, WI · ~$23,000/yr (est.)

Bellin College is a health-sciences-focused private college in Green Bay, roughly two hours north of Milwaukee, with three distinct MSN nurse practitioner paths. Students can specialize in family practice, psychiatric mental health, or neonatal care, the last of which is uncommon in Wisconsin. Delivery mixes online coursework with clinical residencies and in-person sessions, and the college's small size keeps cohorts tight.

  • Master of Science in Nursing: Neonatal Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
    Bellin College
    CCNE accredited
    • Neonatal concentration within the MSN nurse practitioner pathway
    • 42 to 49 credit hours
    • 3.0 GPA or higher required for admission
    • Clinical residency mentored by experienced practitioners
    • Combines online coursework with supervised clinical practice
    Visit Website
  • Master of Science in Nursing: Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
    Bellin College
    CCNE accredited
    • 47-credit hybrid program with 680 practicum hours
    • Full-time and part-time options
    • Preparation for FNP certification
    • Online classes plus face-to-face sessions
    • 15-week semesters
    Visit Website
  • Master of Science in Nursing: Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner — Online
    Bellin College
    CCNE accredited
    • Fully online cohort model
    • No GRE required
    • Small class sizes
    • Personalized practicum placements
    • Part-time study available
    Visit Website
UN

University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh

Oshkosh, WI · $10,000 – $15,000/yr (est.)

UW-Oshkosh pairs a short, fully online psychiatric mental health certificate for practicing nurse practitioners with hybrid DNP tracks in family and psychiatric mental health practice. The certificate can be finished in about nine months, while the doctoral options run 74 credits and meet a few Mondays each semester with online summer work. The campus sits in Oshkosh, within about 90 minutes of Milwaukee.

  • Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Post-Graduate Certificate — Online
    University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
    • 19-credit online certificate completed in about nine months
    • Designed for certified nurse practitioners seeking dual certification
    • Fully online coursework plus a hands-on practicum
    • Roughly $1,193 per credit in tuition
    • Fall admission with a March 31 application deadline
    • Program reports a 100 percent first-time exam pass rate
    Visit Website
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice: Family Nurse Practitioner Emphasis — Hybrid
    University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
    CCNE accredited
    • Hybrid DNP with an intensive family nurse practitioner residency
    • Full-time and part-time plans available
    • BSN-to-DNP pathway
    • Prepares graduates for FNP certification
    • Scholarly capstone project required
    Visit Website
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice: Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Emphasis, Graduate Certificate — Online
    University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
    • 74-credit hybrid DNP completed in three or four years
    • In-person classes three to four Mondays per semester
    • Summer coursework delivered online
    • Program coordinates clinical placements
    • Prepares graduates for PMHNP certification
    Visit Website
VI

Viterbo University

La Crosse, WI · ~$10,000/yr (est.)

Viterbo University in La Crosse offers three hybrid BSN-to-DNP tracks: family, adult-gerontology primary care, and adult-gerontology acute care. The design is built for working nurses, with classes online or one day a week on campus and clinical practicums that can often be completed near home. La Crosse sits well outside the Milwaukee commute, so this one suits nurses who want a Wisconsin DNP and are comfortable with limited campus travel.

  • Post-BSN to DNP: Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
    Viterbo University
    CCNE accredited
    • Three-year hybrid DNP for BSN-prepared nurses
    • Partially online with limited campus visits
    • Clinical practicum can often be completed in the student's community
    • Eligible for ANCC or AANPCB certification
    • Summer sessions required
    Visit Website
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice: Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
    Viterbo University
    CCNE accredited
    • Three-year plan focused on adult-gerontology primary care
    • One day per week on campus
    • Clinical practicums arranged near home
    • ANCC or AANPCB certification eligibility
    Visit Website
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice: Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
    Viterbo University
    CCNE accredited
    • Year-round curriculum completed in about 3.5 years
    • 74 total credits
    • Partially online with limited campus visits
    • Eligible for national acute care certification
    Visit Website
UN

University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Milwaukee, WI · $13,000 – $26,000/yr (est.)

UW-Milwaukee is the metro's public research university and offers the widest menu of nurse practitioner pathways in the area, from post-master's certificates to a BSN-to-DNP. Family, psychiatric mental health, and adult-gerontology acute care specialties appear at both the certificate and doctoral levels, and many tracks run fully or partly online. The university also partners with the Medical College of Wisconsin on a nurse practitioner residency that gives new NPs supervised practice in community settings.

  • Family Nurse Practitioner Graduate Certificate — On-Campus
    University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
    • 21-credit certificate for nurses who already hold a graduate degree
    • Completable in about one year
    • Campus-based format
    • Prepares for ANCC or AANPCB certification
    • One year of clinical experience relevant to the specialty expected
    Visit Website
  • Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Graduate Certificate — Hybrid
    University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
    • Hybrid certificate with on-campus and online components
    • Six courses completed in about one year
    • For advanced practice nurses adding psychiatric certification
    • Practicums in behavioral health clinics
    • Rolling admissions review
    Visit Website
  • Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Graduate Certificate, Doctorate — Hybrid
    University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
    CCNE accredited
    • 21-credit post-graduate certificate offered online
    • Three theory courses plus three clinical practicum courses
    • Prepares for national acute care certification
    • One year of clinical experience required
    • One 3-credit course may transfer in with approval
    Visit Website
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice: Family Nurse Practitioner — On-Campus
    University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
    CCNE accredited
    • 65 total credits with BSN, MSN, and MN entry routes
    • 460 clinical hours plus a leadership practice immersion
    • Three-year full-time plan with a part-time option
    • Oral defense of the DNP project required
    • Online post-master's option for practicing APRNs
    Visit Website
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice: Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner, Graduate Certificate — Hybrid
    University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
    • Online DNP pathway for psychiatric mental health practice
    • Six concentration options across the doctoral program
    • Doctoral preliminary examination required
    • Oral defense of a clinical project
    • Fall and spring start terms available
    Visit Website
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice: Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
    University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
    CCNE accredited
    • Hybrid DNP for adult-gerontology acute care practice
    • Seven-year time limit for post-baccalaureate students, five years post-master's
    • Minimum grade of B- required in courses
    • Personal statement and writing sample required
    Visit Website
  • BS to DNP in Nursing: Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
    University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
    CCNE accredited
    • 72-credit doctoral pathway with 750 clinical hours
    • Flexible three- or four-year course plans
    • Asynchronous online classes with hybrid on-campus sessions
    • Guaranteed practicum placement
    • About 140 hours of simulation-based learning
    • Military benefits and institutional scholarships accepted
    Visit Website
ED

Edgewood University

Madison, WI · $15,000 – $20,000/yr (est.)

Edgewood University in Madison is a small liberal arts college with a fully online graduate nursing portfolio aimed at working nurses. It offers MSN tracks in adult-gerontology primary care and psychiatric mental health, plus post-master's certificates in family and adult-gerontology primary care, all CCNE accredited. Because everything runs online, Milwaukee-area students can enroll without relocating or driving to Madison.

  • Family Nurse Practitioner Post-Graduate Certificate — Online
    Edgewood University
    • Online certificate for master's-prepared nurses
    • 12 to 24 credits depending on prior coursework
    • Prepares for the FNP certification exam
    • Includes clinical practicums
    • Two recommendation letters and a written statement required
    Visit Website
  • Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Post-Graduate Certificate — Online
    Edgewood University
    • Online post-master's certificate in adult-gerontology primary care
    • 15 to 27 credits
    • Includes advanced pathophysiology and pharmacology coursework
    • Approved by the Wisconsin Board of Nursing
    Visit Website
  • Master of Science in Nursing: Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner, Graduate Certificate — Online
    Edgewood University
    • 48-credit online MSN completed in about three years
    • Three start dates per year
    • Full-time and part-time options
    • Military benefits and employer tuition reimbursement accepted
    • No campus visits required
    Visit Website
  • Master of Science in Nursing: Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner — Online
    Edgewood University
    CCNE accredited
    • 51-credit online MSN with clinical experiences
    • Coursework in psychotherapy and psychopharmacology
    • Prepares for PMHNP certification
    • Offers a DNP pathway option
    • Focus on care for diverse populations
    Visit Website
CO

Concordia University-Wisconsin

Mequon, WI · ~$13,000/yr (est.)

Concordia University Wisconsin sits in Mequon, just north of Milwaukee, and runs one of the state's largest online nurse practitioner portfolios. Options include MSN concentrations in family and adult-gerontology primary care, post-master's certificates for practicing NPs, and post-BSN DNP tracks in both specialties. Course terms run eight weeks, most students never need more than a short campus residency, and employer tuition reimbursement is commonly accepted.

  • Master of Science in Nursing, Primary Care Nurse Practitioner: Family Nurse Practitioner — Online
    Concordia University-Wisconsin
    CCNE accredited
    • 41-credit online MSN with 750 clinical hours
    • Eight-week course terms
    • No GRE or entrance exam required
    • Christ-centered curriculum
    • Prepares for FNP certification
    Visit Website
  • Master of Science in Nursing, Primary Care Nurse Practitioner: Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner — Online
    Concordia University-Wisconsin
    CCNE accredited
    • 41-credit online MSN for adult-gerontology primary care
    • On-campus intensive for health assessment
    • Students identify their own clinical preceptors
    • Up to six graduate credits may transfer in
    Visit Website
  • Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Certificate After Graduate Education — Online
    Concordia University-Wisconsin
    • 18-credit online certificate for practicing nurse practitioners
    • 500 clinical hours required
    • About $800 per credit
    • Completed in roughly one year
    • Requires an MSN or DNP degree
    Visit Website
  • Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Certificate After Graduate Education, Master's — Online
    Concordia University-Wisconsin
    CCNE accredited
    • 15 CUW credits with up to 20 transfer credits accepted
    • About $870 per credit
    • Practicum hours completed in long-term care settings
    • Prepares for board certification
    • Financial aid eligible
    Visit Website
  • Post-BSN to DNP: Family Nurse Practitioner — Online
    Concordia University-Wisconsin
    CCNE accredited
    • 70-credit online DNP completed in about three years
    • About $895 per credit
    • Mandatory four-day on-campus residency
    • 1008 practicum hours
    • No GRE required for admission
    Visit Website
  • Post-BSN to DNP: Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner — Online
    Concordia University-Wisconsin
    CCNE accredited
    • Online doctoral track for adult-gerontology primary care
    • Fall start with a July 1 application deadline
    • Graduates score above the national certification average
    • Financial aid and scholarships available
    Visit Website
AL

Alverno College

Milwaukee, WI · $10,000 – $15,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving InstitutionWomen's college

Alverno College is a private liberal arts college on Milwaukee's south side with a long history of nursing education. Its nurse practitioner offerings are compact and specialized: a family nurse practitioner MSN and a neonatal nurse practitioner MSN, both delivered in a hybrid format. Small cohorts and Milwaukee-based clinical partnerships make it appealing for local nurses who want to stay close to home.

  • Master of Science in Nursing: Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
    Alverno College
    CCNE accredited
    • 39-credit hybrid MSN for primary care practice
    • Three practicum experiences across different patient populations
    • Capstone project required
    • Coursework in advanced physiology, pharmacology, and health assessment
    • Prepares graduates for FNP certification
    Visit Website
  • Master of Science in Nursing: Neonatal Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
    Alverno College
    CCNE accredited
    • 45-credit program blending online coursework with on-campus clinical work
    • Requires two years of NICU experience
    • Prepares for neonatal board certification
    • Case studies and problem-based learning
    Visit Website
MA

Marian University

Fond Du Lac, WI · $5,000 – $10,000/yr (est.)

Marian University in Fond du Lac, about an hour north of Milwaukee, offers an accessible entry point to family nurse practitioner practice. The MSN track takes 46 credits, the RN-to-MSN pathway is built for associate-degree nurses, and a post-graduate certificate lets existing NPs add family certification. Hybrid delivery keeps most coursework online with occasional campus sessions.

  • Master of Science in Nursing: Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
    Marian University
    CCNE accredited
    • 46-credit hybrid track with full-time and part-time plans
    • Finish in 2.5 years full time
    • Fall or spring start with rolling admissions
    • Includes clinical practicum experiences
    • CCNE accredited through 2034
    Visit Website
  • Post-Graduate Family Nurse Practitioner Certificate — Hybrid
    Marian University
    • Hybrid certificate requiring 15 to 30 credits
    • 24 to 36 months to complete
    • Open to Wisconsin-licensed RNs with an MSN or DNP
    • Up to 675 practicum hours
    • Clinical placement coordinator support
    Visit Website
  • RN to MSN: Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
    Marian University
    CCNE accredited
    • 70-credit pathway designed for associate-degree RNs
    • About four years with six start dates per year
    • Rolling admissions
    • Employer tuition reimbursement supported
    • Clinical instructors are practicing FNPs
    Visit Website

Accreditation for Milwaukee NP Programs

Choosing a program that is convenient is easy. Choosing one whose accreditation protects your path to certification and licensure takes a little more checking, and it is worth the effort.

What CCNE and ACEN Do

CCNE and ACEN are the two nursing accreditation bodies. CCNE covers baccalaureate, master's, DNP, post-graduate APRN certificate, and fellowship or residency programs. ACEN covers practical through clinical-doctoral levels, including post-master's certificates. In 2026, both ANCC and AANP list graduation from a CCNE or ACEN accredited graduate NP program as an eligibility requirement. Certifiers can add their own rules, so confirm current requirements before you enroll.

Every Milwaukee program in the list above, including FNP programs in Wisconsin, holds programmatic or institutional accreditation. That does not guarantee that each specific concentration, campus, or certificate carries the same scope, so check the exact track you want.

Wisconsin Approval Is Separate

Wisconsin Board of Nursing and DSPS approval is state recognition, and it differs from national accreditation. Alverno College and UW-Milwaukee both appear on the DSPS Nursing Schools & Programs listing. For APRN licensure, Wisconsin asks for an MSN or DNP, national board certification, 45 contact hours of clinical pharmacology within the last five years, and the state jurisprudence exam. Check DSPS directly on whether accreditation is required for your pathway.

Financial Aid

Federal Title IV aid generally depends on the school's institutional accreditation from a U.S. Department of Education-recognized agency. Since July 1, 2024, a program must also hold programmatic accreditation when a state or federal agency requires it for licensure or employment. Confirm the school's Title IV participation and any program-specific requirement with its financial aid office.

How to Verify

  • CCNE: Search the Accredited Programs directory.
  • ACEN: Use the Search Programs page.
  • Check: Match the degree level and NP concentration, not only the school name.

NP Specialties Available in Milwaukee

Milwaukee-area nursing schools and nearby Wisconsin institutions offer several nurse practitioner specialty tracks across MSN, DNP, and post-master's certificate levels. Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP) is by far the most widely available concentration, while psychiatric mental health and acute care options are offered at a smaller number of schools. Other specialties such as Pediatric NP (PNP), Women's Health NP (WHNP), and Adult-Gerontology Primary Care NP (AGPCNP) are not currently listed at Milwaukee-metro institutions, though availability may expand. Confirm current offerings directly with each school before applying.

SchoolLocationSpecialty TrackDegree or Certificate LevelFormat
University of Wisconsin-MilwaukeeMilwaukeeFNPPost-Master's Graduate CertificateOn Campus
Marquette UniversityMilwaukeeAGACNPPost-Master's CertificateOn Campus
Concordia University WisconsinMequonFNPMSNOnline
Alverno CollegeMilwaukeeFNPMSNHybrid
Herzing UniversityMilwaukee areaFNPMSNVaries by program
Milwaukee School of EngineeringMilwaukeePMHNPPost-Master's CertificateHybrid
University of Wisconsin-MadisonMadisonPMHNPPost-Master's Capstone CertificateHybrid
University of Wisconsin-MadisonMadisonFNPMSN / DNPVaries by program
University of Wisconsin-OshkoshOshkoshPMHNPPost-Master's CertificateOnline
Edgewood CollegeMadisonFNPPost-Master's CertificateOnline
University of Wisconsin-Eau ClaireEau ClaireFNPDNPOn Campus
Marian UniversityFond du LacFNPMSNHybrid
Viterbo UniversityLa CrosseFNPDNPHybrid
Bellin CollegeGreen BayFNPDNPHybrid

MSN vs DNP vs Post-Master's Certificate Pathways

Milwaukee-area nurses have three distinct pathways into nurse practitioner practice, and the right choice depends on where you are in your education and where you want your career to go. If you already hold an MSN, a post-master's certificate lets you add a new NP specialty without repeating a full degree. Meanwhile, the DNP is increasingly preferred for leadership, faculty, and systems-level roles, and many in the profession expect it to become the standard entry-level NP degree in coming years.

Side-by-side comparison of MSN, DNP, and post-master's certificate NP pathways on credits, clinical hours, duration, career focus, and Milwaukee-area availability

Online vs On-Campus Programs in Milwaukee

Milwaukee area nurses weighing NP program formats will find that most local options blend online and in-person components. Understanding the trade-offs between fully online, hybrid, and campus-based programs can help you choose a path that fits your schedule, learning style, and clinical goals.

Pros
  • Flexible scheduling lets working RNs complete didactic coursework on their own time, which is ideal for nurses juggling 12-hour shifts.
  • Online programs open the door to schools across Wisconsin, including Concordia University in Mequon and Edgewood University in Madison, without relocating.
  • Reduced commuting costs add up quickly, especially for nurses in Racine, Kenosha, or Waukesha who would otherwise drive to a Milwaukee campus multiple times per week.
  • Schools like Alverno College and Marian University offer hybrid MSN tracks that keep most lectures online, limiting required campus visits to a handful of dates per semester.
  • Self-paced online modules allow you to review complex pharmacology or pathophysiology content as many times as you need before moving on.
Cons
  • Every NP program still requires hundreds of supervised clinical hours completed in person, so you cannot finish a degree entirely from home.
  • Securing clinical placements near Milwaukee can be competitive, and students in online programs sometimes receive less institutional help arranging sites.
  • Peer networking tends to be less organic in virtual classrooms, which may limit the professional relationships you build during the program.
  • Online coursework demands consistent self-discipline; without a fixed class schedule, some students fall behind on readings and assignments.
  • Hybrid programs from schools outside the metro, such as Viterbo University in La Crosse, may still require occasional on-site intensives that involve travel.

Affordable NP Options in the Milwaukee Area

Cost is a major factor for working nurses weighing NP programs, and Wisconsin's public universities tend to offer the most competitive tuition rates. The table below compares annual tuition figures and key institutional metrics for schools in or within commuting distance of Milwaukee, sorted from lowest to highest in-state tuition. Keep in mind that graduate-level NP tuition often differs from the institutional averages shown here, so contact each program directly for the most current per-credit rates.

SchoolCityIn-State TuitionOut-of-State TuitionStudent-to-Faculty RatioGraduation RateNP Program Offered
Marian UniversityFond du Lac$6,282$6,28211:144.2%MSN, Family Nurse Practitioner (Hybrid)
Viterbo UniversityLa Crosse$9,888$9,88810:168.4%BSN-to-DNP, Family Nurse Practitioner (Hybrid)
University of Wisconsin-OshkoshOshkosh$10,051$19,93522:146.1%Post-Graduate Certificate, PMHNP (Online)
University of Wisconsin-Eau ClaireEau Claire$10,665$22,05419:163.8%DNP, Family Nurse Practitioner (Campus)
Alverno CollegeMilwaukee$12,018$12,01813:149.2%MSN, Family Nurse Practitioner (Hybrid)
University of Wisconsin-MadisonMadison$12,325$25,65118:189.5%Post-Graduate Certificate, PMHNP (Hybrid)
University of Wisconsin-MilwaukeeMilwaukee$12,728$26,15917:149.3%Post-Graduate Certificate, FNP (Campus)
Concordia University-WisconsinMequon$13,260$13,26011:168.3%MSN, Family Nurse Practitioner (Online)
Edgewood UniversityMadison$19,656$19,65615:160.2%Post-Graduate Certificate, FNP (Online)
Milwaukee School of EngineeringMilwaukee$21,384$21,38412:167.1%Post-Master's Certificate, PMHNP (Hybrid)
Bellin CollegeGreen Bay$22,648$22,64810:163.0%BSN-to-DNP, Family Nurse Practitioner (Hybrid)
Marquette UniversityMilwaukee$24,680$24,68014:183.2%Post-Master's Certificate, AGACNP (Campus)

NP Salary and Job Outlook in Milwaukee

The Milwaukee-Waukesha metro area employs roughly 1,940 nurse practitioners, making it the largest NP job market in Wisconsin by a wide margin. The median annual wage for NPs in the metro is $129,760, which closely tracks the national median and sits comfortably above the local RN median of $83,990. For context, the Wisconsin statewide NP median falls in a similar range, while nearby Madison pays slightly higher at $134,200. Wages at the upper end of the scale in Milwaukee reach $133,480 or more, signaling strong earning potential as you build experience and specialize.

Wage PercentileMilwaukee-Waukesha NP SalaryMilwaukee-Waukesha RN Salary
10th PercentileNot reportedNot reported
25th Percentile$114,070$79,760
Median (50th Percentile)$129,760$83,990
75th Percentile$133,480$101,420
Mean (Average)$130,020$91,040

How to Become a Nurse Practitioner in Milwaukee

The path from bedside nurse to nurse practitioner follows a clear credentialing ladder. Milwaukee-area nurses can plan for roughly six to ten years from the start of a BSN through full APRN licensure, depending on whether they pursue an MSN or DNP track. Here is how each stage fits together under Wisconsin's current and incoming requirements.

Six-step pathway from BSN through independent APRN practice in Wisconsin, with timelines ranging from four years for a BSN to full independent practice effective September 2026

Commuting and Regional Considerations

Clinical placement logistics should factor into every Milwaukee-area NP student's program decision, especially for those commuting from surrounding cities like Racine, Kenosha, Waukesha, or even Madison.

Verify Clinical Placement Policies Before You Enroll

Not every program handles placements the same way. Some schools arrange clinical rotations through established health system partnerships, while others expect students to find NP preceptors on their own. Before applying, visit each program's website and look for pages labeled "Clinical Placements" or "Student Resources." If the details are unclear, contact the clinical placement coordinator or program director directly. Asking this question upfront can save months of stress later.

Tap Into Regional Health System Networks

Milwaukee is home to several large health systems that regularly host NP students, including Froedtert and the Medical College of Wisconsin, Advocate Aurora Health, and Ascension SE Wisconsin. These organizations often maintain formal affiliation agreements with area nursing schools, which can streamline the placement process. For a broader look at nurse practitioner programs in Wisconsin, check each health system's academic partnership or education page to see which schools they work with.

Connect With Local NP Communities

Professional organizations such as the Wisconsin Nurses Association and regional NP networking groups can be valuable sources of unfiltered advice. Current students and alumni in these forums often share candid details about their nurse practitioner clinical placement experiences, commute times, and which programs offered the most support. For broader employment data in the Milwaukee metro, the Bureau of Labor Statistics provides regional wage and demand statistics, but for placement specifics, cross-reference with the Wisconsin Board of Nursing and hospital partnership pages.

Students commuting from cities one to two hours outside Milwaukee should confirm whether a program allows clinical hours to be completed closer to home, as this can significantly reduce travel time and make the program more sustainable alongside a nursing career.

Recent Articles

See all articles

Follow us