Most important takeaways…
- UTK online DNP blends one on-site visit per term with online coursework.
- Family Nurse Practitioner track requires 67 credit hours total.
- CCNE accredits the full UTK DNP while tuition adds a nursing differential.
Can a working Tennessee RN complete a DNP without relocating? The University of Tennessee nurse practitioner program's online DNP blends one required on-site visit per term with synchronous and asynchronous coursework. CCNE accreditation covers the degree as a whole. Admission uses holistic review, and credit totals differ sharply: 67 for the BSN-to-DNP track, 36 for the post-master's DNP, making tuition path-dependent.
Clinical placement is student-initiated and faculty-approved. Locating a local preceptor early often matters more than where you live. Tennessee employers are increasingly seeking doctorally prepared NPs for advanced practice and leadership roles, which keeps nurse practitioner programs in Tennessee practical for clinicians who cannot step away from patient care.
UTK Online DNP Program Overview: Formats, Length & Entry Points
One required on-site visit per term anchors the University of Tennessee, Knoxville online DNP.1 The core doctoral coursework uses a blended delivery model that combines that face-to-face visit with live online group work and structured asynchronous activities.1 This means the program is not a fully asynchronous online DNP program in Tennessee, and the recurring on-campus requirement is part of the design.
Blended format and on-campus requirements
UTK does not label each DNP concentration as fully online on the central program page. Instead, the core blended format applies to the referenced tracks. The general doctoral intensive requirement cannot be missed, made up, or substituted. Once you enter the clinical concentration portion, you no longer attend those general intensive dates.
- FNP, PNP-PC, PNP-AC, and PMHNP: These concentrations require their own mandatory clinical intensive sessions consisting of full-day labs or simulations.1
- Frequency: The main DNP page does not publish how often those concentration-specific intensive sessions occur. Check the individual concentration page for that schedule detail.
Tracks, length, and entry points
Program length and pacing are not spelled out for every DNP track on the overview page. Nurse Anesthesia is the clearest exception: that concentration is full-time, year-round, and starts in summer, with a Knoxville-area residency requirement by the start date.2 For other NP concentrations, the central overview does not list full-time or part-time options, and does not enumerate entry terms. Confirm length and start terms with the College of Nursing or on the specific concentration page.
Curriculum structure
The DNP curriculum includes core doctoral coursework, a DNP scholarly project, and clinical practicum hours. Required clinical placement and project components are built into the program, but the overview does not publish a single total hour count for every concentration. Exact practicum requirements can vary by specialty. Working through the scholarly project and clinical hours is a central part of advancing from RN practice to the DNP credential.
Out-of-state eligibility
Out-of-state RNs can generally enroll, with one major exception: California. Distance education programs at UTK cannot currently admit California residents.3 Other out-of-state students must comply with their state's licensure and clinical placement regulations, which may require extra steps. If you are practicing outside Tennessee, review the guide on online NP programs for out-of-state students and verify your state's rules before you apply.
UTK DNP Specializations & NP Concentrations
The University of Tennessee, Knoxville offers several nurse practitioner concentrations through distance education, along with a post-master's DNP pathway for APRNs. Credit totals are published for the Family Nurse Practitioner track (67 credit hours) and the Post-Master's DNP (36 credit hours); other concentration credit totals should be confirmed with the College of Nursing. Clinical hour requirements vary by track and are noted where specified.
| Concentration | Delivery Format | Total Credits | Entry Points | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BSN-DNP Family Nurse Practitioner | Distance education | 67 credit hours | BSN-to-DNP only | Requires 600 direct patient care hours minimum (cohorts beginning before Fall 2024). |
| BSN-DNP Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner | Distance education | N/A | BSN-to-DNP only | Effective Fall 2025 program of study. |
| BSN-DNP Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner | Distance education | N/A | BSN-to-DNP only | Prepares graduates for primary care roles serving pediatric populations in diverse health care settings. |
| BSN-DNP Pediatric Primary/Acute Care Dual Nurse Practitioner | Distance education | N/A | BSN-to-DNP only | Prepares graduates to practice in both primary and acute pediatric care, providing comprehensive services for children from birth through young adulthood. |
| Post-Master's DNP (no additional NP concentration) | Distance education | 36 credit hours | Post-master's only | For APRNs who already hold a master's degree; complete core DNP courses and a scholarly project. Requires documentation of prior MSN clinical hours and 300 hours (5 credit hours) of enhanced professional practice immersion. |
UTK DNP Tuition & Fees: Per-Credit Breakdown
The University of Tennessee's online DNP program is not a one-rate-per-credit online program.1 It follows the university's standard graduate tuition structure, then adds a nursing-specific differential, and the total cost depends on whether you enter through the BSN-to-DNP or post-master's pathway.
How Tuition Is Structured
The UTK Office of the Bursar does not publish a separate flat per-credit rate for the online DNP.1 Students who take online courses but are enrolled in a Knoxville campus degree program are charged the regular tuition fee rate.2 On top of that, nursing courses carry a $250 per-semester-hour differential tuition.2 This means your actual per-credit cost is the standard graduate rate for your residency status plus $250 for each nursing credit hour. Resident and nonresident per-credit rates are not itemized in the available Bursar guidance, so use the College of Nursing's pathway totals for planning.3
Pathway Cost Estimates
- BSN-to-DNP: The College of Nursing lists a total program cost of $72,302, with Year 1 estimated at $26,696 and Year 3 at $18,188.3
- Post-master's DNP: The total program cost is $38,4923, with the program of study effective Fall 2026.4
These totals include tuition and fees as published, but individual book, technology, travel, or clinical compliance costs are not itemized separately.
Online Discounts and Waivers
The available Bursar and One Stop materials do not describe a separate online tuition waiver or reduced out-of-state rate for the DNP.12 Online learners in a Knoxville campus degree program pay the regular tuition rate, so out-of-state students should confirm their residency classification before relying on any online discount. For current per-credit rates and fee details, check the UTK Bursar graduate tuition page or contact the College of Nursing.13
Admissions Requirements & Application Steps for UTK DNP
UTK's DNP admission uses holistic review, with your essay and interview carrying significant weight.
- Prerequisite degree & GPAA Bachelor's or Master's in nursing from an NLNAC/CCNE-accredited program is required. The general DNP lists a 3.0 cumulative GPA as a continuation standard; holistic review may consider lower GPAs. GRE is waived if your undergraduate GPA is 3.3 or higher.
- RN licensure & residencyHold an unencumbered RN license in your state of residency. You must not reside in California. Clinical/practice hours must be completed in the state where you are licensed and reside.
- Application materialsSubmit the online application, official transcripts/degree verification, three College of Nursing Graduate Rating Forms, and an essay. Non-native English speakers need TOEFL iBT 80 or IELTS 6.5.
- InterviewA personal interview with the DNP admissions committee is required. International applicants may interview by phone or teleconference.
- Nurse Anesthesia concentration extrasFor Nurse Anesthesia, you need a BSN, a recommended GPA of 3.5 or higher, one year of full-time adult critical care experience (employed in adult ICU at application), ACLS/PALS, and CCRN before program start. GRE is required if nursing GPA is below 3.3.
- DeadlinesSpecific application deadlines for fall, spring, and summer terms are not published consistently. Confirm dates directly with the UTK College of Nursing for your intended term and concentration.
Your Step-By-Step Application Roadmap
Applying to the University of Tennessee online DNP can be broken into four clear phases. Use this roadmap to stay organized from your first eligibility check through clinical site confirmation.

Clinical Placement Support for Online DNP Students
One required on-site visit per term anchors the University of Tennessee, Knoxville online DNP, a blended program in which clinical hours are student-initiated and faculty-approved.1 That structure matters for working nurses because clinical placement for nurse practitioner students at UTK is a collaboration, not a placement guarantee.
Who Secures Clinical Sites and Preceptors
UTK encourages DNP students to find a clinical preceptor and identify potential clinical sites, but the Concentration Coordinator has final approval of all clinical placements. There is no dedicated placement coordinator in the 2026 program materials, so the practical workflow is student-driven: you research a site, confirm a preceptor's willingness, and submit the placement for review. Local preceptors are permitted, and the program generally expects clinical practicum to occur in your state of official residence and licensure.3 No published commute radius or geographic limit beyond state residence appears in the catalog, so your local site can be as close as your community's clinical partners allow. This approval step is not a rubber stamp; coordinators evaluate the site's fit with your NP concentration.
Travel Expectations for On-Campus and Clinical Work
The one required on-site visit per term is separate from clinical hours. UTK does not publish a fixed number of full-day clinical intensive days on the official DNP page3, and official sources do not differentiate online and hybrid clinical policies; all distance education students follow the same clinical rules. In practice, many nurse practitioner clinical rotations can be completed near home if you secure a local preceptor, but you should plan for at least one trip to Knoxville each term. Specialty rotations that cannot be arranged locally may require additional planning, although the program does not list a guaranteed travel radius or reimburse travel.
Out-of-State Clinical Placement Support
Out-of-state clinical work is conditional.3 Students may only complete clinical practicum in the state of their official residence and licensure, unless that state cannot be authorized and an exception is agreed upon among the student, Concentration Coordinator, Graduate Clinical Coordinator, and Assistant Dean of Graduate Programs. The student is responsible for ensuring UTK has state authorization with their state of residence and for holding valid RN licensure, including multi-state or temporary licensure when needed. If you want to complete rotations outside Tennessee, UTK routes questions to the Assistant Dean and expects you to know your state Board of Nursing requirements. The university does not commit to arranging out-of-state preceptors or completing state checks on your behalf. This conditional path means out-of-state rotations are possible but require initiative and multi-party sign-off. Plan for extra lead time if your residence state has limited authorization or if you need a multi-state license.
In short, UTK gives you the framework and approval authority, but you supply the local relationships and confirm licensure and state authorization. The sooner you start building those connections, the smoother the clinical placement process.
BSN-To-DNP vs Post-Master's DNP at UTK
UTK’s Doctor of Nursing Practice program is structured for two distinct entry points. The BSN-to-DNP route is the direct path for nurses with a bachelor’s degree, while the post-master’s DNP builds on graduate nursing preparation for nurses seeking a terminal practice doctorate. The available program pages provide the most detail for the BSN-to-DNP Family Nurse Practitioner track, so some post-master’s specifics are not published side-by-side.
| Pathway | Entry Degree | Credits | Full-Time Completion | Delivery Format | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BSN-to-DNP (Family Nurse Practitioner track shown) | BSN | 69 credits (Fall 2026 plan of study) | 8 semesters / 3 academic years | Mostly online with required on-campus intensives | Full-time is the only pace listed; a part-time option is not stated. Clinical and precepted hours are embedded in the track but not broken out separately on the program page. |
| Post-Master's DNP | Master's in nursing or equivalent graduate nursing background | Not specified in available program pages | Not specified in available program pages | Not specified in available program pages | Requires 500 direct/indirect patient care hours. Credit totals, completion time, and delivery mode are not published in the materials reviewed; contact the College of Nursing for current details. |
Accreditation & Student Outcomes
The University of Tennessee-Knoxville's online DNP program is accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE), and that accreditation covers the degree as a whole, not just one concentration.1 For working nurses weighing pathway options, this means the BSN-to-DNP and post-master's DNP routes share the same nationally recognized quality standard.
CCNE Accreditation at the Degree Level
CCNE accreditation is granted at the program level. UTK's DNP holds accredited status, and the scope of that review is the DNP degree itself.2 Individual concentrations do not receive separate CCNE designations. That structure keeps the credential consistent across all entry points and specialty tracks. This full accreditation status is confirmed in CCNE's public directory and by the College of Nursing's own announcements.
A Separate Accreditation for Nurse Anesthesia
The DNP nurse anesthesia concentration carries an additional, distinct accreditation from the Council on Accreditation (COA). The COA granted continued accreditation for 10 years effective October 23, 2024, with the next review set for Fall 2034.3 Students considering nurse anesthesia should treat the COA credential as the more targeted quality indicator for that advanced practice role.
Certification Pass Rates: A Strong but Narrow Signal
UTK publicly reports NBCRNA certification outcomes for the Nurse Anesthesia Concentration only. First-attempt pass rates were 100 percent for the DNP cohorts of 2023, 2024, and 2025.4 These results are excellent, but they reflect one concentration, not the full program. UTK does not publish comparable certification pass rates for other DNP concentrations, such as family nurse practitioner or psychiatric mental health nurse practitioner tracks. NBCRNA data are reported only for cohorts that completed the nurse anesthesia concentration, so the sample is specific to that track.
Program-Wide Graduation and Employment Outcomes
Aggregate DNP graduation rates and post-graduation employment outcomes are not available in the published program materials. UTK does not currently disclose a single, program-wide graduation rate, job placement rate, or time-to-degree figure. State board approvals are not listed separately either. Because national DNP benchmarks for graduation and employment vary by reporting source, a reliable side-by-side comparison with UTK's full DNP program is not possible. Applicants who need these numbers should contact the College of Nursing directly and ask for the most current program-level outcomes.
Online Learning Technology & State Authorization for Out-Of-State Students
Your online DNP coursework at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville runs through Canvas, the university's learning management system.1 Canvas works on Windows, Mac, Linux, iOS, and Android devices, but for graduate nursing work a desktop or laptop is far more reliable than a phone or tablet, especially for timed quizzes and assignments. Firefox and Google Chrome are the recommended browsers.4
Technology You Will Need
The College of Nursing asks students in online DNP programs to have a current Windows 11 or macOS system, at least 8 GB of RAM, and at least 250 GB of storage. You will also need a built-in or external webcam and microphone, plus high-speed internet.2 The university's broader LiveOnline guidance sets a lower floor of a dual-core 2 GHz or higher processor, 4 GB of free RAM, a speaker, a microphone, and a webcam or HD webcam. A wired internet connection is strongly preferred for important Zoom sessions, live classes, and exams.3 If you run into Canvas or account issues, Online@UT support can be reached at 865-974-9900.1
State Authorization for Out-of-State Students
UT Knoxville participates in NC-SARA, the national reciprocity agreement that lets many online programs enroll students across participating states. That means most out-of-state RNs can join the online DNP without a separate authorization process, but it does not automatically cover every state.5 Before you apply, check UTK's state authorization page for your location and confirm with the College of Nursing that your state is currently eligible. Some nursing programs add state-specific clinical restrictions beyond general NC-SARA reciprocity, so it is worth verifying directly.5
Clinical Placement in Non-Authorized States
If your state is not covered by NC-SARA or has a specific exclusion, you may not be able to complete clinical hours there. Clinical placement is tied to state authorization, so students in non-authorized states may need to arrange placements in an eligible neighboring state or confirm alternative options with the program.5 This is an important checkpoint early in your application process, not after you are admitted.
A DNP from the University of Tennessee is not about stepping away from practice. It is about using online flexibility to keep working, keep learning, and stay at the bedside.
Frequently Asked Questions About the UTK Online DNP
Working nurses considering the University of Tennessee's DNP often have the same questions about delivery format, tuition, out-of-state eligibility, clinical placement, and specialty options. These answers reflect what the university publishes as of August 2026. Confirm details with the College of Nursing and the Bursar before you apply.
- Is the University of Tennessee DNP program fully online?
- No, UTK's DNP is a hybrid program, not fully online. Core courses use a flexible blended format with one required on-site visit per term. Nurse practitioner tracks require two on-campus visits per semester, plus one to two full-day clinical intensives per semester. This combination supports working nurses while preserving required skills labs and clinical experiences in person.
- Which University of Tennessee DNP tracks are fully online vs hybrid?
- No track is described as fully online in the current program pages. The core DNP uses a blended format, the Family Nurse Practitioner track is hybrid, and the Nurse Anesthesia track is a distance education hybrid. On-campus requirements are part of the model, so confirm current delivery mode before assuming you can complete everything remotely.
- How much does the UTK online DNP cost per credit hour?
- For Spring 2026, the University of Tennessee graduate online rate schedule lists $744 per credit hour for in-state students and $819 per credit hour for out-of-state students. These are general graduate online rates, not DNP-specific rates, and a separate tuition comparison page shows a different general graduate figure. Confirm your program specific charges with the Office of the Bursar before budgeting.
- Are out-of-state students eligible for UTK's online DNP?
- Yes. The DNP admissions pages do not list a Tennessee residency requirement, and the published rate schedule includes an explicit out-of-state tuition charge. Out-of-state nurses may apply. Contact admissions to confirm any additional documentation or state authorization requirements for your home state before submitting your application.
- How are clinical placements arranged for online DNP students?
- The program's published pages do not clearly describe who finds preceptors for distance students or whether clinical sites must be located in Tennessee. Because the hybrid format includes on-campus visits and clinical intensives, plan to contact the DNP clinical placement coordinator early. Do not assume your current workplace will count until the program confirms local site requirements and preceptor expectations.
- What NP concentrations are offered online at UTK?
- The Family Nurse Practitioner track is confirmed as a hybrid option, and the Nurse Anesthesia track is described as a distance education hybrid. Other nurse practitioner specialties are not enumerated in the program pages reviewed here. Check the College of Nursing's current concentration list, because specialty offerings can change between admission cycles, before you apply.






