Most important takeaways…
- St. Louis area schools offer more than 70 NP pathways across MSN, DNP, and post-master's certificate levels at 11 institutions.
- NPs in the St. Louis metro earn a median salary well above the national average, with roughly 3,360 employed in the region.
- Most programs use hybrid formats that pair online coursework with in-person clinical hours, supporting full-time working nurses.
- Total program costs vary widely, making tuition comparison and graduate earning outcomes essential to calculating return on investment.
St. Louis anchors one of Missouri's largest healthcare markets, with major employers such as BJC HealthCare, SSM Health, and Mercy hiring nurse practitioners across primary care, psychiatry, urgent care, and specialty clinics. That demand has drawn nearly a dozen universities to offer NP programs in the metro and within an hour's drive, spanning the full spectrum of specialties: family, adult-gerontology primary care and acute care, psychiatric mental health nurse practitioner programs in Missouri, pediatric primary care, and women's health.
Most schools now offer MSN and DNP entry points, plus post-master's certificates for nurses who already hold a graduate degree and want to add a second specialty. Online and hybrid formats dominate, though some programs still require campus visits for simulation labs or intensive weekends. Tuition ranges from roughly $15,000 to over $50,000, and clinical placement policies vary sharply. Some schools guarantee preceptor assistance; others expect students to secure every site on their own.
Missouri requires national certification and a state-issued collaborative practice agreement before an NP can practice independently. That timeline matters when evaluating program length and cost. For a broader look at all available pathways across the state, our overview of nurse practitioner programs in Missouri is a helpful starting point.
NP Programs in the St. Louis Metro Area at a Glance
Eleven Missouri institutions and more than 70 nurse practitioner program listings appear in this roundup, which reflects how regional graduate nursing actually works. Several schools sit inside the St. Louis metro, while others in Columbia, Kansas City, Springfield, Warrensburg, and Marshall reach St. Louis nurses through online and hybrid formats with clinical placements arranged close to home. Each entry notes the degree levels, specialty concentrations, and delivery formats available.
Factors considered
- Student-to-faculty ratio
- Earnings ten years after entry
- Specialty and degree-level breadth
- Delivery format flexibility
- Accreditation status
- Program-level records maintained in house
- Independent editorial research
- National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
- Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
University of Missouri
The University of Missouri in Columbia offers NP preparation at every degree level, from post-graduate certificates through MSN and DNP routes, with family, psychiatric mental health, and pediatric primary care among the specialties. Hybrid delivery keeps most coursework online, and the curriculum is built around primary care for rural and underserved populations. Missouri residents pay in-state rates, and clinical placements are arranged as close to students' home communities as possible.
- Hybrid delivery blending online coursework with campus sessions
- Prepares for ANCC or AANPCB family certification
- Emphasis on rural and underserved primary care
- Core master's coursework plus FNP specialty courses
- 19.5 total credit hours
- Fully online post-graduate certificate
- Requires a master's degree in nursing
- Applicants must already hold advanced practice certification
- Rural healthcare emphasis
- Campus-based graduate certificate
- Open to nurses who already hold a master's degree
- Focus on psychiatric mental health care
- Prepares for national certification
- Advanced practice nursing training
- Primary care track covering birth through young adulthood
- Prepares for PNCB primary care certification
- Hybrid delivery with CCNE accreditation
- Leadership development component
- Hybrid format with core master's and specialty clinical courses
- Minimum 3.0 GPA for graduate admission
- Covers psychopharmacology and psychotherapy
- Prepares for ANCC psychiatric certification
- State authorization restrictions apply
- 72 total credit hours
- Care from birth through older adulthood
- Requires a DNP residency project
- Prepares primary care nurse clinicians
- Across the Lifespan concentration
- Prepares for PMHNP board certification
- Manages psychotropic medications
- Delivers psychotherapeutic interventions
- Cares for all ages including children
MS(N) Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Family Nurse Practitioner, Graduate Certificate — Online
Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner, Graduate Certificate — On-Campus
MS(N) Pediatric Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
MS in Nursing with Emphasis in Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
DNP in Nursing with Emphasis in Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
DNP Psychiatric and Mental Health Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Saint Louis University
Saint Louis University anchors its NP offerings in a fully online MSN with multiple concentrations, then extends the same specialties into post-master's certificates and BSN-to-DNP tracks. Students complete clinical hours in their own communities, which suits working nurses across Missouri and neighboring states. Rolling admissions, several start dates each year, and a no-entrance-exam process keep entry accessible.
- Online family nurse practitioner track for working RNs
- Finish in as little as two years
- Fall, spring, and summer start dates
- No application fee; faculty advisor assigned
- CCNE accredited
- 34 total credit hours
- Careers in ICUs, emergency departments, and trauma centers
- Full-time and part-time enrollment
- Rolling admissions with three start dates per year
- Prepares for ANCC and AACN certification
- 38 total credit hours
- 750 clinical hours included
- No entrance exam required
- Serves children, adolescents, and adults
- Prepares for ANCC psychiatric certification
- 16 total credit hours
- $1,450 per credit
- Rolling admissions with a 3.0 GPA minimum
- One required campus visit
- Up to six transfer credits accepted
- Minimum 15 credits to complete
- Hybrid format with one on-campus visit
- $1,400 per credit
- Clinical hours included
- Focus on recovery-oriented practice
- 1,050 to 1,125 clinical hours
- Care for patients from birth to age 21
- Hybrid format
- Prepares for national pediatric certification
- 64 total credit hours across four years
- 3.2 GPA minimum for admission
- Two campus residency visits required
- Capstone project required
- Full-time and part-time options
- 64 credit hours, four-year plan
- Campus-based delivery
- Prepares for acute care certification
- Three start dates per year
- Eight-week course sessions available
- 68 total credit hours
- 1,000 clinical hours
- Hybrid format with two required campus visits
- Coursework in psychotherapy and psychopharmacology
- Prepares for PMHNP certification
Master of Science in Nursing, Nurse Practitioner (M.S.N.-N.P.) — Online
Nursing, M.S. (Adult-Gerontological Acute Care Nurse Practitioner), Master's — Online
Nursing, M.S. (Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner), Master's — Online
Family Nurse Practitioner, Post-Master's Certificate — Online
Family Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner, Post-Master's Certificate — Hybrid
Nursing Practice, D.N.P. (Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner), Doctorate — Hybrid
Nursing Practice, D.N.P. (Post-BSN), Family Nurse Practitioner, Doctorate — Hybrid
Nursing Practice, D.N.P. (Post-BSN), Adult-Gerontological Acute Care Nurse Practitioner, Doctorate — On-Campus
Nursing Practice, D.N.P. (Post-BSN), Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner, Doctorate — Hybrid
Rockhurst University
Rockhurst University, based in Kansas City, delivers its NP tracks online with clinical placements arranged close to home, so St. Louis-area nurses can enroll without relocating. The school's signature offering is a dual track that awards both family and adult-gerontology acute care credentials, alongside a standard FNP master's and a post-master's psychiatric certificate. Jesuit values, three annual intakes, and included clinical placement services shape the student experience.
- 62 credit hours and 1,250 clinical hours
- Combines family and adult-gerontology acute care certification
- Full-time in eight semesters, part-time in ten
- One campus immersion and one virtual immersion
- Three intakes per year
- 49 credit hours with 750 clinical hours
- No GRE or GMAT required
- MSN in six to eight semesters
- Clinical placement services included
- Prepares for AANP or ANCC certification
- 22 credit hours across four semesters
- 750 clinical hours with free placement services
- Prepares for ANCC PMHNP board certification
- Requires an MSN or higher degree
- Lifespan psychiatric assessment training
Online MSN Dual Track FNP-AGACNP — Online
Family Nurse Practitioner (MSN-FNP) — Online
Online Post-Master's PMHNP Certificate — Online
University of Missouri-St Louis
UMSL is the public university physically located in St. Louis, and its College of Nursing carries one of the area's broadest doctoral-level NP lineups. Nursing DNP emphases cover family, adult-gerontology primary care, psychiatric mental health, women's health, and pediatric primary and acute care, and post-graduate certificates let practicing NPs add a new population focus. Curricula emphasize health equity and care for diverse populations, mirroring the St. Louis metro. Seven NP emphasis areas are offered overall.
- Minimum 12 credit hours
- Eight practicum credits with clinical hours
- Requires an MSN or DNP
- Delivered online
- Prepares for board certification
- Minimum 12 credit hours online
- Eight practicum credits
- One year of psychiatric nursing experience required
- Requires an MSN or DNP and current licensure
- 70 total credit hours
- Primary care emphasis for adults and older adults
- Rolling admissions with a fall start
- Minimum eight credit hours of clinical residency
- Faculty who practice as nurse practitioners
- 70 total credit hours with 600 clinical hours
- BSN-to-DNP pathway
- Direct admission for UMSL BSN graduates
- Capstone and DNP Clinical Scholarship Project
- 3.0 GPA required to enter and remain in the program
- 70 total credit hours
- Women's health primary care focus
- Statistics prerequisite required
- Minimum eight credit hours of residency
- Prepares for women's health certification
- 70 total credit hours
- Holistic admissions review
- Direct admit option for UMSL graduates
- Requires a BSN from a nationally accredited program
- Current professional licensure required
- 70 total credit hours
- Rolling admissions
- BSN-to-DNP pediatric primary care track
- Focus on comprehensive primary care for children
- Prepares for pediatric primary care certification
- 70 total credit hours
- Requires one year of inpatient pediatric experience
- Dual acute care and primary care track
- Prepares for acute care pediatric certification
Family Nurse Practitioner Post-Graduate Certificate — Online
Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Post-Graduate Certificate — Online
Nursing DNP, Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Emphasis — Hybrid
Nursing DNP, Family Nurse Practitioner Emphasis — Hybrid
Nursing DNP, Women's Health Nurse Practitioner Emphasis — Hybrid
Nursing DNP, Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Emphasis — Hybrid
Nursing DNP, Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Primary Care Emphasis — Hybrid
Nursing DNP, Acute Care Pediatric Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Maryville University
Maryville University is a St. Louis-based private institution whose NP programs are delivered fully online with no campus visits required, a combination that makes it a common route for working nurses in the metro. The catalog spans MSN concentrations in family, pediatric, psychiatric mental health, and adult-gerontology acute care, plus post-master's certificates and BSN-to-DNP tracks in several of the same specialties. Multiple start dates each year and a no-entrance-exam admissions process keep the path flexible.
- 100% online with no campus visits
- No GMAT, GRE, or statistics requirement
- Six start dates per year
- Clinicals completed locally
- 28-month online program
- No entrance exam required
- Skills in developmental screenings
- Three start dates per year
- 32-month online program
- Three entry points per year
- Psychopharmacology and advanced health assessment coursework
- Clinical placements in varied settings
- 32-month program in adult-gerontology acute care
- Six start dates yearly
- Focus on critically ill adult patients
- Board certification preparation
- 35 credit hours
- Part-time, about two years
- Requires an MSN and one year of nursing experience
- Local clinical placements
- Coursework in psychopharmacology and psychotherapy
- Focus on adult and older adult psychiatric care
- Prepares for prescriptive authority
- Delivered fully online
- 20-month completion time
- Six entry points yearly
- No statistics prerequisite
- Emphasis on holistic adult primary care
- 35 credits
- Six annual entry points
- Focus on acute care management
- Prepares for AGACNP certification
- 32-credit certificate program
- Prepares for pediatric primary care certification
- Covers pediatric growth and development
- Streamlined for MSN-prepared nurses
- 74 total credit hours over 40 months
- 86% certification pass rate
- Capstone project required
- Military benefits accepted
- Four-year online BSN to DNP track
- Test optional admission
- 92% certification pass rate
- No waiting list after acceptance
- 36-month program with three start dates
- 3.3 GPA minimum for admission
- Direct path from BSN to DNP
- Prepares for ANCC certification
- 40-month online program
- Pediatric primary care focus
- Spring, summer, and fall starts
- Prepares for PNCB certification
Master of Science in Nursing, Family Nurse Practitioner — Online
Master of Science in Nursing, Pediatric Nurse Practitioner — Online
Master of Science in Nursing, Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner — Online
Master of Science in Nursing, Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner — Online
Post-Master's Certificate, Family Nurse Practitioner — Online
Post-Master's Certificate, Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner — Online
Post-Master's Certificate, Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner — Online
Post-Master's Certificate, Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner — Online
Post-Master's Certificate, Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner — Online
Bachelor of Science in Nursing to Doctor of Nursing Practice, Family Nurse Practitioner — Online
Bachelor of Science in Nursing to Doctor of Nursing Practice, Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner — Online
Bachelor of Science in Nursing to Doctor of Nursing Practice, Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner — Online
Doctor of Nursing Practice, Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner — Online
University of Missouri-Kansas City
UMKC is a public option in Kansas City whose NP programs use hybrid delivery with periodic campus residencies, and several tracks extend in-state tuition to enrolled students. Offerings run from MSN degrees and post-MSN certificates up to DNP tracks in family, pediatric, acute care pediatric, women's health, and adult-gerontology primary care. Admission is competitive, with a 3.2 GPA benchmark and interviews for several tracks.
- 46 credit hours over two to three years
- 3.2 GPA minimum and RN licensure
- Hybrid with required on-campus residencies
- Personal interview and three references required
- Summer start with synchronous and asynchronous options
- Clinical preceptors in community and inpatient settings
- Three letters of recommendation required
- Prepares for national pediatric certification
- 52 credit hours
- Two years of pediatric experience preferred
- Prepares for ANCC and PNCB certification
- Spring and summer starts
- 46 credit hours
- Focus on gynecologic and prenatal care
- Clinical practicum included
- Prepares for WHNP national certification
- 18 credit hours
- Hybrid post-master's certificate
- Includes a synthesis practicum
- Prepares for national FNP certification
- Individualized study plans with gap analysis
- Covers advanced pathophysiology and pharmacology
- Post-MSN certificate requiring a master's or DNP
- 21 total credit hours
- Two acute care clinical courses
- Primary care of children course
- Graduate pharmacology course included
- 18 credit hours
- Completes in 18 months to two years
- Some campus visits required
- Seamless transition into the DNP program
- 18 credit hours, estimated $16,609.50 total
- Two years of RN experience preferred
- Most coursework online with campus visits
- 74 credit hours over four to five years
- Blended delivery with a summer residency
- Coursework in epidemiology and ethics
- Personal interview required for admission
- 74 credit hours
- Clinical rotations arranged near your location
- In-state tuition in authorized states
- 74 credit hours
- Local clinical rotations across Missouri and Kansas
- Nondegree enrollment before acceptance
- Prepares for adult-gerontology primary care certification
- Four-year program with 74 credit hours
- On-campus intensives each semester
- Prepares for ANCC certification
- Clinical training with preceptors in varied settings
MSN: Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
MSN: Pediatric Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
MSN: Acute Care Pediatric Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
MSN: Women's Health Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Post-MSN Family Nurse Practitioner Certificate — Hybrid
Post-MSN Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Certificate — Hybrid
Post-MSN Acute Care Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Certificate — Hybrid
Post-MSN Women's Health Nurse Practitioner Certificate — Hybrid
Post-MSN Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Certificate — Hybrid
DNP: Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
DNP: Women's Health Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
DNP: Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
BSN-DNP Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Barnes-Jewish College Goldfarb School of Nursing
Goldfarb, part of Barnes-Jewish College on the Washington University Medical Center campus, is St. Louis's hospital-anchored NP school. Its programs lean heavily on clinical immersion inside a major academic health system, which gives students direct access to acute care, critical care, and primary care placements in the metro. Offerings emphasize adult-gerontology acute and primary care plus family practice at the master's, post-master's certificate, and DNP levels.
- 66 total credit hours over nine terms
- Intensivist track for critical care practice
- Clinical immersion at Barnes-Jewish Hospital
- One year of RN experience required
- 66 total credit hours
- Hospitalist track for inpatient general medicine
- Invasive procedures training
- ACLS provider status required
- 51 credit hours over eight terms
- Family-centered primary care curriculum
- 18 to 30 hours per week time commitment
- Fall and spring start dates
- 48 credit hours
- Prepares for adult-gerontology primary care certification
- Theory and research foundation
- Ethics and policy coursework
- 54 credit hours
- Two specialized clinical tracks
- Preparation for acute care certification
- Magnet-recognized hospital affiliation
- 42 credit hours over four terms
- Open to nurses holding an MSN, DNP, or PhD
- Two letters of reference required
- Transfer credit possible with gap analysis
- 42 credit hours
- Campus visits one to two times per term
- Summer and fall start terms
- Prepares for hospitalist practice settings
- 63 total credit hours over nine terms
- DNP project required
- Primary care across the lifespan
- Fall and spring starts
Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (DNP), Intensivist Track — Hybrid
Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (DNP), Hospitalist Track — Hybrid
Family Nurse Practitioner (MSN) — Hybrid
Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (MSN) — Hybrid
Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (MSN) — On-Campus
Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Post-Master's Certificate, Intensivist Track — Hybrid
Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Post-Master's Certificate, Hospitalist Track — Hybrid
Family Nurse Practitioner (BSN to DNP) — Hybrid
Missouri State University
Missouri State, in Springfield, positions itself as a cost-effective public route for Missouri nurses, with in-state tuition and clinical placement assistance that can put students in sites closer to home. The FNP master's and BSN-to-DNP tracks use hybrid delivery mixing seated and online coursework, and the school reports strong first-time certification pass rates. Post-graduate certificates in family and adult-gerontology acute care serve nurses who already hold a graduate degree.
- Three-year full-time hybrid schedule
- Clinical placement assistance provided
- Cost-effective in-state tuition
- 100% first-time FNP exam pass rate
- Four-semester hybrid certificate
- Prepares for national FNP certification
- Clinical hours included
- NursingCAS application
- Two-year online certificate
- 500 minimum clinical hours
- For RNs who already hold a master's degree
- Prepares for national acute care certification
- Four-year BSN to DNP pathway
- Clinical rotation at the MSU Care clinic
- Hybrid online and seated classes
- Scholarships available
- Four-year full-time BSN to DNP track
- Prepares for psychiatric mental health certification
- Academic advisement provided
- Leadership and administration focus
- BSN to DNP in adult critical care
- Mentorship from practicing faculty
- Transfer credit accepted
- Builds assessment and diagnostic skills
Master of Science in Nursing, Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Family Nurse Practitioner Graduate Certificate — Hybrid
Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Certificate — Online
BSN to DNP: Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
BSN to DNP: Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
BSN to DNP: Adult Gerontology-Acute Care Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
University of Central Missouri
The University of Central Missouri, based in Warrensburg roughly an hour east of Kansas City, offers a single focused NP credential: a family nurse practitioner MSN. Hybrid coursework pairs online classes with sessions at a Lee's Summit site, and the schedule is built for part-time study while students keep working. Residents of Missouri and Kansas are eligible, with clinical rotations arranged across both states.
- 44 credit hours, completable in 18 to 24 months
- Hybrid format with on-campus sessions in Lee's Summit
- 3.0 GPA minimum and one year of nursing experience
- Missouri or Kansas residency required
- Clinical rotations arranged in Missouri and Kansas
- 100% first-time AANP and ANCC pass rate
Master of Science in Nursing, Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Missouri Baptist University
Missouri Baptist University is a St. Louis-based private institution whose NP offering is a post-master's psychiatric mental health certificate. Delivered online, it is aimed at nurses who already hold an MSN and want to add psychiatric diagnosis and prescribing to their practice. Coursework covers psychopathology, psychopharmacology, and psychotherapy, with clinical practicums completed as part of the certificate.
- 24 to 34 credit hours depending on prior coursework
- Delivered online for working professionals
- Requires a master's degree in nursing and a valid RN license
- Coursework in psychopathology, psychopharmacology, and psychotherapy
- Clinical practicums included
Post-MSN Certificate in Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner — Online
Missouri Valley College
Missouri Valley College, in Marshall about two hours west of St. Louis, offers a fully online family nurse practitioner MSN built for students who want to keep working while they study. Clinical hours can be arranged locally, and admission requires a BSN, an active RN license, a 3.0 GPA, and two professional references. The curriculum follows national nurse practitioner education guidelines and prepares graduates for either major certification exam.
- Two-year online program with clinicals completed locally
- BSN from an accredited program required
- 3.0 GPA minimum and current RN license
- Two professional references required
- Rolling admissions with spring, summer, and fall starts
- Prepares for ANCC or AANPCB certification
Master of Science in Nursing, Family Nurse Practitioner — Online
Comparing Tuition and Program Costs
Tuition varies widely across the Missouri schools offering NP programs, so understanding both the sticker price and the estimated program cost can help you budget realistically. The figures below reflect institutional tuition rates reported to federal databases. Keep in mind that graduate nursing credit rates may differ from undergraduate figures, and program-specific estimated costs (where available) offer a more accurate picture of your total investment.
| School | City | In-State Tuition | Out-of-State Tuition | Estimated Program Cost | Student-to-Faculty Ratio | Graduation Rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Central Missouri | Warrensburg | $10,296 | $19,092 | ~$21,850 (MSN FNP) | 18:1 | 54.1% |
| University of Missouri, Kansas City | Kansas City | $13,726 | $32,298 | ~$42,447 (MSN FNP) | 13:1 | 55.5% |
| University of Missouri | Columbia | $13,681 | $32,581 | Not published | 17:1 | 74.9% |
| University of Missouri, St. Louis | St. Louis | $15,480 | $36,792 | Not published | 13:1 | 56.6% |
| Missouri State University | Springfield | $8,204 | $14,990 | Not published | 21:1 | 57.9% |
| Missouri Valley College | Marshall | $3,870 | $3,870 | Not published | 18:1 | 22.4% |
| Maryville University | St. Louis | $16,246 | $16,246 | Not published (est. $900 to $995/credit) | 13:1 | 66.2% |
| Saint Louis University | St. Louis | $25,590 | $25,590 | Not published (est. $1,370/credit) | 9:1 | 79.5% |
| Rockhurst University | Kansas City | $20,842 | $20,842 | ~$48,360 (Dual FNP/AGACNP) | 12:1 | 74.6% |
| Missouri Baptist University | St. Louis | $11,538 | $11,538 | Not published | 15:1 | 47.6% |
Online, Hybrid, and On-Campus Format Options
Can you complete an NP program while working full-time as an RN in St. Louis? The short answer is yes, but the format you choose will shape how manageable that actually feels.
What "Online" Really Means for NP Programs
A program listed as online handles its coursework through a digital platform, meaning lectures, discussions, and assignments happen on your schedule rather than in a classroom. Maryville University and Saint Louis University both offer FNP programs this way, with asynchronous coursework that fits around rotating shifts. Missouri Baptist University's post-master's psychiatric mental health certificate is also fully online, which makes it one of the more accessible entry points for RNs already holding an MSN who want to add a PMHNP credential.
The critical thing to understand: online refers to the didactic coursework only. Every NP program, regardless of delivery format, requires hands-on clinical hours completed in person at approved sites. Maryville, for example, has students arrange local clinicals even though all classroom content is delivered online. The University of Missouri-St. Louis post-graduate FNP certificate works the same way, with 75 clinical hours per credit hour completed in the field.
Hybrid Programs and What They Ask of You
Hybrid programs split the difference. Didactic content is delivered online, but students return to campus for scheduled lab sessions, skills intensives, or residency weekends. Barnes-Jewish College Goldfarb School of Nursing in St. Louis runs its AGACNP doctorate as a hybrid program with state-of-the-art simulation facilities on site. The University of Missouri-Columbia FNP program also uses a hybrid model, blending online coursework with periodic in-person components.
For shift workers, hybrid formats with weekend or condensed lab sessions tend to be far more practical than programs requiring weekly evening attendance. When evaluating a hybrid program, ask exactly how many days per semester require in-person presence and whether those sessions are scheduled on weekends.
Options for Illinois-Side Commuters
Readers coming from the Metro East, including Edwardsville and surrounding communities in southwestern Illinois, are well within reach of St. Louis-based programs. The drive to Barnes-Jewish, Saint Louis University, Maryville, or Missouri Baptist University is typically 30 to 45 minutes from Edwardsville, making hybrid programs at those schools realistic even when in-person sessions are required. Fully online programs with local clinical arrangements eliminate the commute question entirely for that cohort.
If you want to minimize campus visits while keeping tuition lower, UMSL's online post-graduate certificate stands out as a compact option for nurses who already hold a master's degree and need only the FNP credential. For a broader look at the application process, our guide on how to enroll in NP school online walks you through each step.
Related Articles
FNP Salary and Job Outlook in St. Louis
The St. Louis metro area is one of Missouri's strongest markets for nurse practitioners, with roughly 3,360 NPs employed across the region. According to the most recent Bureau of Labor Statistics data, NPs in the St. Louis area earn a median annual wage of approximately $129,390, which outpaces both the statewide Missouri median and several other Missouri metros. For working RNs considering the NP path, the salary jump is substantial: St. Louis NPs earn roughly $47,000 more per year at the median than local registered nurses.
| Metro Area | Total NP Employment | 25th Percentile Wage | Median Annual Wage | 75th Percentile Wage | Mean Annual Wage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| St. Louis, MO-IL | 3,360 | $113,730 | $129,390 | $149,990 | $128,380 |
| Kansas City, MO-KS | 2,000 | $110,340 | $127,800 | $139,360 | $129,320 |
| Springfield, MO | 520 | $104,630 | $122,220 | $134,620 | $120,370 |
| Cape Girardeau, MO-IL | 170 | $105,510 | $126,370 | $134,370 | $122,570 |
| Columbia, MO | 250 | $109,870 | $109,870 | $128,540 | $117,520 |
| Jefferson City, MO | 130 | $102,760 | $124,850 | $130,580 | $120,090 |
| St. Louis RNs (for comparison) | 33,660 | $68,760 | $82,560 | $96,780 | $84,750 |
How to Become a Nurse Practitioner in St. Louis
Becoming a nurse practitioner in St. Louis follows a well-defined path that typically takes six to eight years from the start of a BSN, or as few as two to three years if you already hold a BSN and enroll in a direct-entry MSN or DNP program. Missouri currently operates under a restricted practice environment, meaning NPs must maintain a written collaborative practice agreement with a physician located within 75 miles. Each collaborating physician may oversee up to six APRNs, and new NPs complete a one-month initial supervision period before practicing under the agreement. The Missouri Board of Nursing governs NP licensure and requires a Document of Recognition in addition to national certification. Here are the key steps to follow: Step 1, earn your BSN from an accredited nursing program (four years for traditional students). Step 2, pass the NCLEX-RN and obtain your Missouri RN license. Step 3, enroll in an accredited MSN or DNP nurse practitioner program in your chosen specialty (two to four years depending on degree level and enrollment pace). Step 4, complete all required clinical hours, which typically range from 500 to over 1,000 hours depending on your program and specialty. Step 5, pass a national certification exam through the AANP or ANCC in your NP specialty area. Step 6, apply for Missouri NP licensure through the Board of Nursing, secure your Document of Recognition, and establish a written collaborative practice agreement with a qualifying physician. Missouri remains one of roughly 11 states that still require a collaborative agreement, so staying informed about potential legislative updates is important as advocacy for full practice authority continues.

NP Program Admissions Requirements in St. Louis
There is no single admissions standard across St. Louis NP programs, but most expect an accredited nursing degree, an unencumbered RN license, a GPA of about 3.0, and at least a year of nursing practice before specialty clinicals. The table below reflects published criteria for specific pathways. We could not verify current NP criteria, test policies, or direct-entry options for UMSL or Goldfarb, and specialty prerequisites can differ (Maryville uses separate FNP and PMHNP sequences, and SIUE's post-master's PMHNP DNP requires FNP certification), so confirm details with each admissions office before applying.
| School | Pathway Shown | Prior Degree | Minimum GPA | RN License | Nursing Experience | GRE/GMAT | Other Requirements |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saint Louis University | Post-master's FNP certificate | Master's in a nursing specialty, national accreditation preferred | 3.0 cumulative | Not specified | Advanced practice nursing role experience | Not specified | Graduate-level physiology or pathophysiology and beginning health assessment (or equivalent); at least 16 credits |
| Maryville University | Post-master's NP certificate | MSN from a regionally accredited institution; nursing program accredited by CCNE, ACEN, or CNEA | 3.0 in all college work | Current, unencumbered U.S. RN license | At least 1 year of professional nursing | Not required | No statistics requirement; FNP and PMHNP prerequisite course sequences differ |
| Southern Illinois University Edwardsville | Graduate NP pathways, including post-master's | CCNE- or ACEN-accredited nursing degree (others evaluated individually) | 3.0 nursing GPA (graduate nursing GPA for post-master's) | Unencumbered RN license in practicum state; Illinois or Missouri encouraged | 1 year full-time or 1,872 part-time hours before first specialty clinical course | Not specified | Undergraduate statistics; background check and drug screen; $40 application fee; direct entry offered at undergraduate level only |
Clinical Placement and Preceptor Support
Finding a qualified preceptor can be just as stressful as any exam, and the level of support a program offers in arranging nurse practitioner clinical placements often tips the enrollment decision for working nurses who are already stretched thin.
Clinical Hour Requirements
Most NP programs nationwide require 600 to 700 direct patient care hours at the master's level.1 St. Louis programs fall squarely within that range. Saint Louis University and Goldfarb School of Nursing each require around 600 clinical hours for their MSN nurse practitioner tracks, while Maryville University and UMSL set requirements between 600 and 700 hours depending on the specialty.2 Students pursuing a BSN-to-DNP pathway at any of these schools should expect roughly 1,000 total practice hours, reflecting the deeper clinical preparation that a doctoral degree demands.
How Programs Handle Preceptor Placement
This is where you will see real differences among local schools, and it is worth investigating before you apply.
- Saint Louis University: Offers a school-assisted placement model, meaning clinical coordination staff help match you with preceptors and sites.4
- UMSL: Uses a school-coordinated approach, with faculty and staff actively involved in arranging rotations.
- Maryville University: Places primary responsibility on the student to secure preceptor sites, though advising resources are available.5
- Goldfarb School of Nursing: Also requires students to take the lead in finding their own preceptors.
If you prefer a more hands-off experience when it comes to clinical logistics, SLU and UMSL may ease some of that burden. If you already have strong professional connections in the metro area, the self-placement model at Maryville or Goldfarb can work in your favor, especially if you want to train at a specific facility or with a particular provider.
Common Clinical Partner Sites
Regardless of which school you attend, the St. Louis metro area offers an unusually deep bench of clinical training sites. Students frequently complete rotations at BJC HealthCare facilities (including Barnes-Jewish Hospital and St. Louis Children's Hospital), SSM Health locations, Mercy hospitals, the VA St. Louis Health Care System, and SLUCare physician practices. Federally qualified health centers throughout the city and surrounding counties are also popular placement options, particularly for students interested in primary care or underserved populations.
Before committing to a program, ask admissions counselors directly about placement timelines and any geographic restrictions on where you can complete hours. Programs with strong local health system partnerships tend to streamline the process, which matters when you are juggling shifts and coursework at the same time. Students considering a DNP nurse practitioner programs Missouri track should pay especially close attention, since those longer programs require significantly more clinical coordination.
Graduate Outcomes and Return on Investment
Return on investment for a nurse practitioner program comes down to two numbers: what you earn after graduation and what you owe when you finish. Comparing those figures across St. Louis area programs can help you choose a path that makes financial sense for your career and your family.
Earnings Data and What Is Available
Program-level earnings data after graduation are not yet published for most NP programs in the St. Louis metro area. What we do know from institutional-level reporting is that graduates of schools like Barnes-Jewish College Goldfarb School of Nursing report a median income of roughly $84,400 within ten years of completing their programs, while Saint Louis University graduates reach about $70,800 and Maryville University graduates land near $62,100. These figures reflect all graduates across programs, not NP completers specifically, so your individual trajectory as a nurse practitioner will likely trend higher. As noted in the salary section above, NPs practicing in the St. Louis metro typically earn in the range of $110,000 to $120,000 or more, a mark most new graduates can expect to approach within a few years of entering practice.
Median Debt and Monthly Payment Estimates
Graduation debt varies meaningfully from school to school. Among the programs profiled on this page, median debt at completion ranges from about $16,750 at Barnes-Jewish College up to $25,950 at Missouri Valley College. Here is how a few programs compare:
- Barnes-Jewish College: Median debt around $16,750
- Rockhurst University: Approximately $18,250
- University of Missouri-Kansas City: Roughly $18,750
- University of Missouri (Columbia): About $20,500
- Saint Louis University: Near $25,000
- Maryville University: Approximately $22,000
On a standard ten-year repayment plan, the lower end of that range translates to roughly $175 to $195 per month, while the higher end pushes toward $260 to $275 per month. Either figure is very manageable on an NP salary.
Which Programs Deliver the Strongest Financial Return
When you compare long-term institutional earnings against median debt, Barnes-Jewish College stands out with the highest earnings-to-debt ratio among programs in this group, followed by Rockhurst University and the University of Missouri-Kansas City. Programs at Maryville University and the University of Missouri in Columbia also show solid returns, with graduates earning multiples of their debt within the first decade. If you are weighing whether the financial commitment of an NP program is worthwhile, you might also consider CRNA vs NP return on investment to see how the two advanced-practice tracks compare. Lower-cost public options like University of Central Missouri and Missouri State University keep debt low, though their institutional earnings figures reflect a broader student body rather than NP-specific salaries.
The bottom line: every program on this list positions you to earn well above what you borrow. Choosing a school with lower tuition or pursuing employer tuition assistance can push your personal ROI even higher.






