Most important takeaways…
- Arizona State University, Grand Canyon University, NAU, and Midwestern University all serve Tempe-area NP students across six specialties.
- Median NP pay in the Phoenix-Mesa-Chandler metro exceeds the national average, reflecting strong regional demand.
- Arizona grants full practice authority, letting NPs work independently after licensure without a collaborative physician agreement.
- Online and hybrid formats at area schools allow most students to continue working as RNs throughout their programs.
Tempe sits within the fifth-largest metro area in the United States, and that population density translates directly into clinical-site availability, employer demand, and program variety for nurses pursuing NP credentials. Within a short commute, working RNs can access MSN, DNP, and post-master's certificate tracks across six recognized specialties, delivered in online, hybrid, and traditional on-campus formats.
The real challenge is not finding a program but choosing the right combination of specialty, degree level, cost, and schedule. Tuition in the region ranges from roughly $500 to over $1,100 per credit hour depending on the institution, and clinical-hour requirements vary by specialty. Arizona's full-practice-authority status gives graduates a clear path to independent practice, a distinction that shapes both earning potential and career flexibility from day one. If you are exploring FNP programs in Arizona, the Tempe area offers some of the state's strongest options.
NP Programs Serving the Tempe Metro Area
Getting started in Tempe does not require leaving Arizona, and it usually does not require leaving your job. The schools below sit within commuting distance of Tempe or deliver coursework online with periodic campus visits, covering family, adult-gerontology, pediatric, psychiatric mental health, and acute care roles. Each entry lists the degree levels and specialties that school offers; any graduation rate shown is institution-wide rather than specific to a single nursing program.
Factors considered
- Student-to-faculty ratio
- Earnings ten years after entry
- Breadth of NP specialties offered
- Flexibility for working nurses
- Arizona clinical placement access
- Program-level records maintained in house
- Independent editorial research
- National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
- State cost-of-living adjustment from BEA Regional Price Parities — bea.gov
- Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
Arizona State University
The Edson College of Nursing at Arizona State University anchors the Phoenix metro's nursing education landscape, and its nurse practitioner offerings sit entirely at the doctoral level. Students choose doctor of nursing practice tracks in family, psychiatric mental health, or adult-gerontology primary care, each requiring more than 1,000 practicum hours with campus visits two to three times per semester. Applicants need an Arizona or compact RN license, and clinical placements are arranged in Maricopa County. No entrance exam is required.
- 84 credit hours, including 1,125 practicum hours
- No entrance exam required; 3.0 GPA minimum
- Hybrid format with required campus visits
- Clinical placements arranged in Maricopa County
- Doctoral applied project and capstone required
- Prepares for national FNP certification exam
- 85 credit hours with 1,125 clinical hours
- Rotations in underserved Phoenix-area communities
- Hybrid format with in-person immersions
- Practicing faculty teach specialty courses
- Prepares for national PMHNP certification exam
- Capstone and doctoral applied project required
- 84 credit hours with 1,125 practicum hours
- Campus visits 2 to 3 times per semester
- Prepares for adult-gerontology primary care certification
- Concurrent PhD in Nursing option
- Clinical rotations in urban underserved and rural areas
- Core courses in pharmacology, pathophysiology, health assessment
Doctor of Nursing Practice, Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Doctor of Nursing Practice, Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Doctor of Nursing Practice, Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
University of Arizona
The University of Arizona runs the broadest nurse practitioner portfolio in the state, spanning family, pediatric, psychiatric mental health, and adult-gerontology acute care at both the DNP and post-master's certificate levels. Programs are CCNE accredited and hybrid: online coursework plus short campus intensives in Tucson, with clinical placements arranged individually across Arizona, including Phoenix-area sites. Certificate tracks are part-time and built for nurses who already hold an MSN. Several options are not offered every year, so applicants should verify availability before applying.
- 26 to 27 credits over four part-time semesters
- 720 clinical hours in pediatric settings
- $1,053 per credit
- Hybrid: online courses plus campus health assessment labs
- Requires an MSN; not offered every year
- 31 credits over four part-time semesters
- 810 clinical practica hours
- Eligible for FNP board certification
- Online coursework with campus experiences
- Requires a Master of Science in Nursing
- 30 credits, including 765 clinical practica hours
- Minimum 25 clinical course credits
- Prepares for the PMHNP national board exam
- Four-semester part-time format
- Designed for working registered nurses
- 30 credits with 810 clinical hours
- On-campus clinical skills intensive required
- Requires RN acute care experience
- Covers cardiac rhythm analysis and trauma management
- Prepares for national board certification
- 65 credit hours with 720 clinical hours
- Hybrid with three on-campus intensives
- Eligible for pediatric primary care NP certification
- Dual DNP and PhD degree option
- Clinical placements coordinated by the program
- 68 credit hours
- Full-time and part-time options
- Part-time option adds about one year
- Prepares for FNP certification and leadership roles
- Skills in telehealth, care coordination, and prescribing
- 70 credit hours
- Full-time and part-time tracks
- Prepares for PMHNP certification
- Designed for RNs with a BSN or MSN
- Skills in mental health assessment and prescribing
Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Graduate Certificate — Hybrid
Family Nurse Practitioner Graduate Certificate — Online
Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Graduate Certificate — Online
Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Graduate Certificate — Hybrid
Doctor of Nursing Practice, Pediatric Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Doctor of Nursing Practice, Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Doctor of Nursing Practice, Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Northern Arizona University
Northern Arizona University delivers its advanced practice nursing programs in a hybrid format that lets working nurses stay in their home communities. The MSN offers family nurse practitioner and psychiatric mental health nurse practitioner concentrations, and a post-master's certificate serves nurses who already hold a graduate degree. The curriculum carries a deliberate focus on rural, Indigenous, and underserved Arizona populations, and clinical placements can often be arranged near where students live.
- Family nurse practitioner track within the Advanced Practice MSN
- Online coursework with supervised clinical training
- Eligible for family nurse practitioner certification
- Requires an unencumbered RN license and a BSN
- Culturally responsive care and rural health emphasis
- Psychiatric mental health concentration within the MSN
- Hybrid format with online course availability
- Prepares for advanced practice in mental health
- Faculty mentorship and supervised clinical training
- Post-master's certificate track
- Online delivery format
- Prepares for PMHNP board certification
- Clinical training arranged in Arizona communities
Master of Science in Nursing, Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Master of Science in Nursing, Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Graduate Certificate — Hybrid
Grand Canyon University
Grand Canyon University is a private, Phoenix-based university whose nurse practitioner programs are built around working RNs in Arizona. The MSN includes family nurse practitioner, adult-gerontology acute care, and psychiatric mental health tracks, and a post-master's certificate lets nurses who already hold a master's degree add acute care credentials. Most coursework is online with brief immersions at the Phoenix campus, a short drive from Tempe, and clinical hours are typically arranged in the student's local community.
- 53 credits with 675 clinical practicum hours
- Two on-campus experiences in Phoenix
- 16-week online courses
- Admission requires a BSN with a 3.0 GPA
- Prepares for family nurse practitioner certification
- 53 credit hours with 750 clinical hours
- Minimum one year of RN experience required
- Skills include suturing, intubation, ventilator management
- Prepares for AGACNP board certification
- Up to 12 transfer credits accepted
- Psychiatric mental health emphasis within the MSN
- Advanced pharmacology and diagnostic reasoning coursework
- Coursework covers prescriptive authority and health policy
- Prepares for psychiatric mental health certification
- 37 credits for nurses who already hold a master's degree
- 750 clinical practice hours
- Prepares for national certification exams
- Designed for working RNs adding a new specialty
- Offered in multiple states
Master of Science in Nursing, Family Nurse Practitioner — Online
Master of Science in Nursing, Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner — Online
Master of Science in Nursing, Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner — Online
Post-Master's Certificate, Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner — Online
University of Phoenix-Arizona
The University of Phoenix offers two online MSN nurse practitioner tracks, family practice and psychiatric mental health, both aimed at licensed RNs who are already working. The family program takes about 29 months and includes a five-day in-person residency; both are CCNE accredited. Transfer credit review, a tuition guarantee, and bridge options appeal to nurses juggling full-time schedules, and clinical placements are arranged in the student's home community whenever possible.
- 48 credits, completed in about 29 months
- Hybrid format with a five-day in-person residency
- Prepares for ANCC FNP-BC or AANP FNP-C certification
- Requires an active RN license and a bachelor's degree
- No GMAT or essay required for admission
- Tuition guarantee and transfer credit options
- 52 credits delivered online
- Five-day campus residency required
- Prepares for psychiatric mental health certification
- Neuropsychiatric disorders and psychopharmacology coursework
- No application fee required
Master of Science in Nursing, Family Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
Master of Science in Nursing, Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner — Online
Midwestern University-Glendale
Midwestern University-Glendale trains nurse practitioners on a shared health sciences campus alongside osteopathic medicine, pharmacy, and physician assistant students, giving the program an interprofessional character. Its MSN prepares adult-gerontology primary care nurse practitioners through a 24-month online program with a small cohort of roughly 15 students starting each fall. The curriculum emphasizes assessing and managing chronic and complex conditions in primary care settings.
- 24-month program starting each fall
- Cohort of about 15 students
- Online coursework with interprofessional training
- Prepares graduates for adult-gerontology primary care practice
- Focus on chronic and complex condition management
Master of Science in Nursing, Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner — Online
NP Specialties You Can Study Near Tempe
Nurse practitioner specialties define the patient populations you'll serve and the scope of care you'll provide. In the Tempe metro area, students have access to programs across six recognized NP specialties, though availability varies by school and degree level.
Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP)
Family nurse practitioners provide primary care across the entire lifespan, from newborns to geriatric patients. FNP graduates manage acute and chronic illnesses, perform physical exams, order diagnostic tests, and prescribe medications for individuals and families in diverse settings. This is the most widely available track in the Tempe area. Northern Arizona University, Arizona State University, Grand Canyon University, and University of Phoenix all offer FNP programs. The broad patient scope makes FNP the most common entry point for new NPs, opening doors to family practice clinics, urgent care centers, and community health settings throughout Arizona.
Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (PMHNP)
Psychiatric mental health nurse practitioners assess, diagnose, and treat patients with mental health and substance use disorders. PMHNPs provide psychotherapy, prescribe psychiatric medications, and manage both acute and chronic behavioral health conditions. Northern Arizona University offers a PMHNP track alongside its FNP option. Arizona faces a significant shortage of mental health providers, making PMHNP one of the highest-demand specialties in the state. Graduates often find roles in outpatient psychiatry, integrated primary care, telehealth platforms, and correctional health.
Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (AGNP)
Adult-gerontology primary care nurse practitioners focus on patients from adolescence through end-of-life, with special expertise in aging populations. AGNPs manage chronic diseases, coordinate care transitions, and provide preventive services in outpatient and long-term care settings. Midwestern University in Glendale offers an AGNP program, serving students in the northwest Phoenix metro area within commuting distance of Tempe. If you're weighing the two most popular primary care tracks, understanding the difference between FNP and AGNP can help you choose the best fit for your career goals.
Pediatric Nurse Practitioner (PNP)
Pediatric nurse practitioners specialize in care for infants, children, and adolescents. The University of Arizona in Tucson offers a post-master's certificate in pediatric primary care, requiring an existing MSN and 720 clinical hours. While roughly 90 minutes from Tempe, this hybrid program attracts working nurses across southern Arizona seeking specialty training without relocating.
Acute Care and Women's Health Specialties
Acute care adult-gerontology nurse practitioners (AGACNPs) manage critically ill hospitalized patients, while women's health nurse practitioners (WHNPs) provide gynecologic and reproductive care. These specialties are not currently represented in the dataset for Tempe-area schools, though some students pursue them through out-of-state online programs or travel to nurse practitioner programs in Phoenix offering broader specialty portfolios. For a wider view of all available tracks statewide, explore nurse practitioner programs in Arizona.
MSN vs. DNP vs. Post-Master's Certificate: Choosing Your Path
Deciding which degree path fits your career goals, timeline, and budget is one of the biggest choices you will make. Programs at Arizona schools such as ASU, GCU, NAU, and Midwestern University each structure their curricula a little differently, so the ranges below give you a realistic planning window. Because credit requirements and schedules can shift from year to year, contact each school's admissions office or attend an information session for the most current details.

Online, Hybrid, and On-Campus Format Options
Can I keep working as an RN while completing an NP program in the Tempe area? For most nurses, the answer is yes, and the delivery format you choose makes a significant difference.
How Programs Are Structured
NP programs in and around Tempe fall into three broad formats: fully online, hybrid (online coursework combined with required in-person sessions), and traditional on-campus. If you're weighing those trade-offs, a closer look at online vs on-campus NP programs can help clarify what each model demands. Looking at the programs serving this area, hybrid delivery is the most common approach. Arizona State University's DNP-FNP program, Northern Arizona University's MS in Nursing, and the University of Arizona's Pediatric NP graduate certificate all run in a hybrid format, pairing online coursework with scheduled campus visits for skills labs and other hands-on training. Grand Canyon University's MSN-FNP and Midwestern University's AGNP program in Glendale offer online-primary delivery, though even those include some required in-person components such as residency days or simulation labs.
The Clinical Hours Reality
Regardless of how the academic coursework is delivered, every NP program requires substantial in-person clinical hours. Requirements across local programs range from around 675 hours to well over 1,000 hours. Those hours must be completed at clinical sites near where you live, not near the university's main campus. For Tempe-area students, that typically means arranging placements across the Phoenix metro, including sites in Scottsdale, Mesa, Chandler, Gilbert, and neighboring communities. ASU explicitly notes that clinical placements are coordinated within Maricopa County, which is a practical advantage for students already living and working in the region.
Staying Employed During Your Program
The flexibility of online and hybrid formats is a genuine benefit for working nurses. Because most required coursework can be completed in the evenings or on weekends, many students manage to stay in their current RN roles, at least part-time, throughout the program. A four-semester part-time structure, like the one UArizona uses for its Pediatric NP certificate, is specifically designed with the working nurse in mind. Students considering a doctoral track should also review online DNP programs in Arizona to compare pacing and clinical requirements at that level. Programs typically recommend reducing hours during semesters when clinical rotations are heaviest, but the expectation that you will maintain some professional practice is built into how these programs are designed.
Program Costs and Financial Aid in the Tempe Area
Tuition sticker price and total program cost are two very different numbers, and that gap is where smart planning happens. A per-credit rate that looks affordable can balloon into a much larger figure once you multiply it across 48 to 53 credits, add fees, and factor in how long the program takes to complete.
What Programs in the Area Actually Cost
Among Arizona-based NP programs, in-state tuition at public universities such as Northern Arizona University and the University of Arizona runs roughly $13,000 to $15,000 per year at the institutional level, though actual program costs depend on credit load and format. Out-of-state rates at those same schools are considerably higher. Private and for-profit programs like University of Phoenix and Grand Canyon University charge a single national rate regardless of residency, which can make them more predictable for budgeting, though net price after aid varies. Program-level earnings outcomes are not yet available for these programs through federal reporting, so comparing value requires looking at total debt at graduation alongside salary data for NPs in the Phoenix metro area.
Grand Canyon University lists approximately $750 per credit for its FNP program, which translates to roughly $40,000 for a 53-credit program before any institutional scholarships. Northern Arizona University's in-state tuition runs closer to $13,000 annually. When comparing options, calculate the full cost to completion, not just the per-credit headline. For a broader look at affordable nurse practitioner programs, national comparisons can help you benchmark what Tempe-area schools are charging.
Arizona-Specific Financial Aid Worth Knowing
Several funding sources are available specifically to nurses pursuing NP credentials in Arizona:
- Arizona Community Foundation Scholarship: Open to RNs pursuing NP education; the 2026 application window ran January through mid-March.1 Watch for the next cycle if you missed it.
- Sallie Arizona NP Scholarship: Designed for fully licensed RNs completing their first NP program; returning NPs are not eligible.2
- Arizona Nurses Association Scholarship: Awards $500 to members pursuing MSN or DNP degrees; a modest amount, but membership has other benefits worth considering.3
- HRSA Nurse Corps Scholarship Program: Covers tuition, fees, and other educational costs plus a monthly stipend for U.S. citizens or permanent residents enrolled in an accredited nursing program. The trade-off is a service commitment at a federally designated critical shortage facility after graduation. Applicants must have no existing federal service commitments and no overdue federal debt.4
WICHE and Loan Repayment Options
Arizona participates in the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE) compact, but graduate nursing programs have limited eligibility under the Western Undergraduate Exchange rate structure, so confirm directly with any out-of-state public university before assuming a tuition break applies.
Separate from scholarships, HRSA also administers a Nurse Corps Loan Repayment Program for NPs already practicing at qualifying sites.4 This is distinct from the scholarship program and can significantly reduce debt accumulated during your MSN or DNP. If you plan to practice in an underserved area of the Phoenix metro or rural Arizona, this program deserves a close look before you borrow.
Related Articles
What Tempe-Area NP Graduates Earn
Nurse practitioners in the Phoenix-Mesa-Chandler metro area, which includes Tempe, earn competitive salaries that reflect strong demand across the region. The table below draws on Bureau of Labor Statistics wage data for NPs at key percentile benchmarks. For context, the metro area employs roughly 5,970 nurse practitioners, and median NP pay here exceeds the local RN median by more than $36,000, illustrating the financial return on an advanced practice degree.
| Geographic Area | 10th Percentile | 25th Percentile | Median | 75th Percentile | Mean |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Phoenix-Mesa-Chandler, AZ (local metro) | Not reported | $115,290 | $134,630 | $151,670 | $132,670 |
| Tucson, AZ | Not reported | $118,320 | $132,230 | $156,560 | $136,530 |
| Prescott Valley-Prescott, AZ | Not reported | $122,360 | $126,970 | $137,600 | $133,200 |
| Flagstaff, AZ | Not reported | $112,550 | $139,690 | $139,690 | $130,930 |
| Lake Havasu City-Kingman, AZ | Not reported | $104,210 | $133,890 | $155,880 | $132,180 |
| Yuma, AZ | Not reported | $108,710 | $126,430 | $151,010 | $129,530 |
| Sierra Vista-Douglas, AZ | Not reported | $118,260 | $124,470 | $158,040 | $133,020 |
Arizona NP Licensure Steps
Arizona is a full-practice-authority state, which means that once you earn your NP license through the Arizona Board of Nursing (AZBON), you can practice independently without a collaborative physician agreement. Here is the step-by-step path from graduation to independent practice, along with the key fees and requirements you should plan for.

Nearby Cities and Commuting Considerations
Tempe sits at the center of the East Valley, making it one of the most accessible locations for students commuting from across the Greater Phoenix metropolitan area.
Phoenix Metro Commute Patterns
Most students in Tempe-area NP programs live in Phoenix, Scottsdale, Mesa, Chandler, or Gilbert and commute 15 to 40 minutes for on-campus sessions. Several programs discussed earlier in this article are physically located in Phoenix or Glendale but remain easily accessible from Tempe via Loop 101, I-10, or the US-60. Students typically report 20- to 35-minute drives during off-peak hours, though weekday rush periods can extend that window.
Tucson and Weekend-Intensive Formats
Nurses from Tucson occasionally enroll in Phoenix-area programs that offer weekend-intensive or monthly residency formats. The drive is approximately 90 minutes one way, making it feasible for programs that require only two or three campus visits per semester. Hybrid and online pathways reduce this burden further.
Online and Hybrid Programs Minimize Travel
Online and hybrid NP programs eliminate commuting concerns for didactic coursework entirely. You complete lectures, case studies, and exams from home, then arrange clinical rotations at approved sites near your residence. This flexibility allows you to live anywhere in the metro area or beyond and still access top-tier programs without weekly drives.






