Best Online Post-Master's PNP Certificate Programs (2027)

Compare top CCNE-accredited PNP certificates by cost, clinical hours, and format to find your ideal program.

Most important takeaways…

  • Most online post-master's PNP certificates require 15 to 30 credit hours and 500 or more supervised pediatric clinical hours.
  • FNP to PNP is the most common transition path, yet pediatric clinical hours are almost never waived.
  • A post-master's certificate typically costs less and finishes faster than earning a second MSN with a PNP focus.
  • The CPNP-AC first-time pass rate reached 69.57% in 2024, reflecting strong preparation from certificate programs.

Adding a pediatric specialty as an already-credentialed NP usually comes down to one tradeoff: spend 12 to 18 months on a focused post-master's certificate, or invest two-plus years and significantly more tuition in a second MSN. For most family or adult-gerontology NPs eyeing pediatrics, the math favors the certificate.

Demand backs the move. The Bureau of Labor Statistics projects NP roles to grow 40% through 2033, and pediatric subspecialties (especially acute care) remain understaffed in children's hospitals and specialty clinics. Certificate programs let you sit for the CPNP-PC or CPNP-AC exam without repeating core MSN coursework you already completed.

The catch: clinical hours, preceptor sourcing, and state board approvals vary widely between programs, and those logistics tend to determine completion timelines more than tuition does.

Best Online Post-Master's Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Certificate Programs

Nurses who already hold a master's degree can add pediatric expertise without repeating a full graduate program, and the schools below offer some of the most established routes. These ten options span primary care and acute care tracks, fully online and hybrid formats, and credit loads that range from a handful of courses to a two-year commitment. Each entry summarizes what the school offers across its pediatric certificates and the details that tend to matter most when you are comparing programs while working full time.

How we ranked these
Factors considered
  • Earnings ten years after entry
  • Tuition adjusted for local costs
  • Institution-wide graduation rates
  • Online and hybrid flexibility
  • Clinical requirements and program length
Data sources
  • Program-level records maintained in house
  • Independent editorial research
  • National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) — nces.ed.gov
  • State cost-of-living adjustment from BEA Regional Price Parities — bea.gov
  • Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
FL

Florida International University

Miami, FL · ~$11,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution
Best for: Nurses wanting fully online pediatric training

Florida International University offers an online post-graduate pediatric primary care certificate for nurses who already hold an MSN. The 32-credit program lets students arrange clinical placements outside Florida, so out-of-state nurses do not have to relocate, and it builds on previous graduate preparation instead of repeating it. Applicants need an MSN from an ACEN- or CCNE-accredited program, with a March 1 deadline for the fall cohort. Graduates are eligible for national pediatric primary care certification.

  • Post-Graduate Nurse Practitioner Certificate, Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner — Online
    Florida International University
    Visit Website
UN

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

Little Rock, AR · $10,000 – $15,000/yr

Best for: Nurses adding both primary and acute care

The University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences offers two hybrid pediatric certificates for nurses who already hold an advanced practice credential: an acute care track and a dual primary and acute care option. Both run about 18 months and focus on assessing and managing critically ill infants, children, and young adults. Graduates can sit for national certification and apply for advanced practice licensure. Coursework targets care environments that range from acute inpatient units to specialty pediatric services.

  • Post Masters Certification Program, Acute Care Pediatric Nurse Practitioner, Graduate Certificate — Hybrid
    University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
    Visit Website
  • Post Masters Certification Program, Dual Certification Pediatric Nurse Practitioner, Graduate Certificate — Hybrid
    University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
    Visit Website
RU

Rutgers University

New Brunswick, NJ · $23,000/yr

Best for: New Jersey nurses seeking a hybrid program

Rutgers University's School of Nursing offers post-master's certificates in pediatric primary care and pediatric acute care, giving nurses a choice of population focus. Both tracks use a hybrid format that pairs online coursework with campus-based sessions. Admission requires a master's degree in nursing and current RN licensure, and the curriculum includes clinical practice components that prepare graduates for specialty certification exams. The university reports an institution-wide graduation rate of about 84 percent.

  • Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner, Graduate Certificate — Hybrid
    Rutgers University
    Visit Website
  • Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner, Graduate Certificate — Hybrid
    Rutgers University
    Visit Website
NE

New York University

New York, NY · $43,000/yr

New York University offers pediatric advanced certificates in both primary care and acute care for nurses who already hold a master's degree. The acute care certificate runs 11 to 13 credits and can be finished in roughly a year, with synchronous online classes and two on-campus intensives; the primary care certificate ranges from 18 to 39 credits depending on a gap analysis. Both require prior pediatric experience, and applicants must hold a New York State RN license. The acute care track prepares students for the CPNP-AC exam and meets New York licensure requirements.

  • Advanced Certificate: Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Acute Care — Hybrid
    New York University
    • 11 to 13 credits, completable in about one year
    • Hybrid with two on-campus intensives
    • Spring semester entry only
    • Synchronous online instruction plus clinical simulation
    • Prepares students for CPNP-AC certification
    • Gap analysis tailors credit requirements
    • Open to primary care pediatric NPs and FNPs
    • Military benefits accepted
    Visit Website
  • Pediatrics Nurse Practitioner Primary Care (Advanced Certificate) — Hybrid
    New York University
    • 18 to 39 credits based on gap analysis
    • Sample plan spans eight semesters
    • 3.0 GPA minimum
    • Applicants need at least one year of pediatric RN experience
    • PALS certification required before clinicals
    • Requires New York State RN license
    • $85 application fee
    • Two letters of recommendation required
    Visit Website
UN

University of Iowa

Iowa City, IA · $13,000 – $32,000/yr

The University of Iowa's College of Nursing offers a pediatric acute care graduate certificate designed as a second specialty for practicing APRNs. The 21-credit hybrid program spans about two years and includes pharmacology, advanced diagnostics, and several levels of clinical practicum. A gap analysis determines which courses each student needs, and there is a single February 1 application deadline each year. The curriculum emphasizes evidence-based clinical competence in acute pediatric care.

  • Pediatric Nurse Practitioner, Acute Care, Graduate Certificate — Hybrid
    University of Iowa
    Visit Website
AR

Arizona State University

Tempe, AZ · $14,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Arizona State University's Edson College of Nursing and Health Innovation offers a primary care pediatric NP graduate certificate in a hybrid format that combines online coursework with in-person clinical experience. It is built for nurses who already hold a master's degree and an active RN license and want to add pediatric primary care without completing another full graduate program. The university publishes distance education state authorization information, which matters if you plan to complete clinicals outside Arizona. About 68 percent of ASU students graduate, institution-wide.

  • Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Certificate — Hybrid
    Arizona State University
    Visit Website
UN

University of Kentucky

Lexington, KY · $15,000/yr

The University of Kentucky's graduate certificate in professional nursing includes a pediatric acute care concentration aimed at licensed nurse practitioners making a specialty change. The hybrid program pairs online classes with in-person clinical rotations and campus immersions twice per semester. Credits range from 16 to 31 depending on a gap analysis of prior graduate work, and applications go through NursingCAS with an $80 fee. Graduates are prepared for national certification and for licensure in their home state.

  • Graduate Certificate in Professional Nursing, Pediatric Acute Care — Hybrid
    University of Kentucky
    Visit Website
TH

The University of Tennessee-Knoxville

Knoxville, TN · ~$16,000/yr (est.)

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville offers separate primary care and acute care pediatric NP graduate certificates for APRNs who want to add another patient population focus. Both are hybrid and both require 840 clinical hours; the primary care track starts in spring across four semesters, while the acute care track starts in summer and runs three semesters. The acute care certificate requires current primary care PNP certification plus verified didactic and clinical prerequisites, and students must pass a pre-clinical assessment before rotations begin. The university reports an institution-wide graduation rate of about 74 percent.

  • Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Graduate Certificate — Hybrid
    The University of Tennessee-Knoxville
    • 840 clinical hours required
    • Starts in spring across four semesters
    • Hybrid format with mandatory on-site sessions
    • Open to APRNs adding a new population focus
    • Prerequisite courses must be within five years
    • Gap analysis of previous coursework
    • Two letters of recommendation and essay required
    Visit Website
  • Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Graduate Certificate — Hybrid
    The University of Tennessee-Knoxville
    • Starts in summer across three semesters
    • Requires current primary care PNP certification
    • Pass a pre-clinical assessment before rotations
    • Prior pediatric coursework verified by curriculum analysis
    • At least 240 pediatric clinical hours verified
    Visit Website
TH

The University of Texas at Arlington

Arlington, TX · $11,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

The University of Texas at Arlington offers 100 percent online post-master's certificates in pediatric primary care and pediatric acute care, each with a locked per-credit tuition rate and multiple start dates every year. The primary care certificate totals 18 credit hours and can be completed in as few as five courses. Clinical placement assistance is available, and the curriculum is tailored through a gap analysis of prior MSN coursework. The university reports an institution-wide graduation rate of about 54 percent.

  • Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Certificate (Post Master's) — Online
    The University of Texas at Arlington
    • 18 credit hours, completable in five courses
    • $654 per credit hour, locked for the program
    • 100 percent online format
    • CCNE accredited
    • Prepares students for PPCNP-BC certification
    • Clinical placement assistance available
    • Multiple start dates per year
    • 3.0 GPA required, plus undergraduate statistics
    Visit Website
  • Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Certificate (Post Master's) — Online
    The University of Texas at Arlington
    • Five courses total
    • 100 percent online
    • Taught by on-campus faculty
    • Prepares students for CPNP-AC certification
    • Work experience required
    • Gap analysis tailors the curriculum
    • 8-week course format
    • Pay-by-the-course billing
    Visit Website
TH

Thomas Jefferson University

Philadelphia, PA · $25,000/yr

Thomas Jefferson University offers a post-graduate pediatric primary care NP certificate in a hybrid format for nurses who already hold a master's or doctoral degree in nursing. The 18-credit program pairs online coursework with clinical practice and is designed around family-centered care, quality improvement, and interprofessional collaboration. Graduates meet eligibility requirements for the CPNP-PC certification exam. The university reports an institution-wide graduation rate of about 69 percent.

  • Post-Graduate Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner — Hybrid
    Thomas Jefferson University
    Visit Website

Primary Care Vs. Acute Care PNP Certificates: Which Track Is Right for You?

Choosing between a primary care and acute care pediatric nurse practitioner certificate shapes your entire career path. The two tracks lead to distinct certifications, clinical environments, and patient populations. Understanding these differences early helps you target the right program and avoid costly detours.

Certification and Scope of Practice

Both tracks lead to certification through the Pediatric Nursing Certification Board (PNCB).1 The Primary Care track earns the CPNP-PC credential, while the Acute Care track earns the CPNP-AC. The American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) retired its pediatric NP exam, so the PNCB is now the sole certifying body. For a broader look at the credentialing process, see our nurse practitioner licensing guide.

PNP-PC programs prepare you for health promotion, disease prevention, and managing stable chronic conditions like asthma or ADHD. PNP-AC programs focus on acute, complex, and critical illnesses, such as respiratory failure, sepsis, or traumatic injuries.1 Your coursework and clinical rotations will align directly with these scopes.

Clinical Settings and Day-to-Day Work

The work environment is one of the most visible differences. Primary care PNPs typically practice in outpatient pediatric clinics, school-based health centers, or specialty clinics where they provide well-child visits, immunizations, sports physicals, and ongoing management of common conditions.1

Acute care PNPs work in fast-paced inpatient settings: children's hospitals, pediatric intensive care units (PICUs), neonatal intensive care units (NICUs), and emergency departments. Their daily tasks often involve invasive procedures like lumbar punctures, chest tube insertion, central line placement, and ventilator management.1 This track demands comfort with high-acuity, rapidly changing situations.

Online Program Availability

If you need maximum flexibility, the primary care track has more fully online post-master's certificate options. Many reputable, CCNE-accredited schools offer PNP-PC programs entirely online with clinical placements arranged near your home.

Acute care programs have grown in online availability but remain less common.2 The hands-on, procedure-heavy nature of acute care training often requires some on-campus intensives or hybrid formats. Expect to see more hybrid options than fully online ones, though the landscape is expanding each year.

Which Track Is Right for You?

Consider where you want to work long-term. If you enjoy continuity of care, preventive health, and a predictable clinic schedule, primary care is a strong fit. If you thrive on adrenaline, complex pathophysiology, and hospital-based teamwork, acute care may be calling. Your current nursing experience often points the way: a background in PICU or ED nursing naturally aligns with acute care, while ambulatory or community-based experience matches primary care.

Reflect on your career goals and talk to PNPs in both settings before applying. The right track will not only meet your interests but also position you for the roles you'll want five or ten years from now.

Questions to Ask Yourself

Primary care PNPs build long-term relationships with families, tracking growth and development over years. Acute care PNPs work in high-intensity settings like emergency departments and intensive care units, where rapid assessment and intervention are paramount.

Many pediatric hospitals and specialty practices specify acute care PNP credentials for inpatient roles, while primary care PNP certification opens doors in community clinics, private pediatric offices, and school health. Check job postings in your area to see which credential is in demand.

Primary care PNPs see the same children year after year, building trust and guiding families through developmental milestones. Acute care PNPs thrive on rapid triage, managing critically ill patients during short, high-stakes encounters.

How to Choose an Online Post-Master's PNP Certificate Program

Not every online post-master's program is accessible to every nurse, even if your computer can load the course site. State nursing board approval, preceptor availability, and clinical-hour coordination shape your real options more than tuition or course catalog ever will.

Start with CCNE or ACEN Accreditation

Accreditation is non-negotiable. The Pediatric Nursing Certification Board (PNCB) and the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners Certification Board (AANPCB) require applicants to graduate from programs accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) or the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN). CCNE accreditation carries the strongest market recognition among employers and is the most-searched qualifier among working NPs exploring certificates. Without it, you may complete coursework but remain ineligible to sit for certification exams, rendering the credential useless. Before you compare anything else, confirm CCNE or ACEN status on the school's website or through the accreditor's public directory. For a deeper look at what these designations mean, see our guide to nursing program accreditation.

Verify Your State Is Authorized

Nearly every state participates in the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (NC-SARA), a voluntary compact that simplifies online program approval across 49 states, DC, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.1 California remains the lone holdout.2 But SARA participation does not override state nursing board authority.3 Each board retains the right to restrict or deny enrollment in out-of-state online NP programs, even if the school holds SARA approval. Duke's MSN program, for example, excludes students in Alabama, Louisiana, North Dakota, Wyoming, and New York due to board restrictions.2 Queens University of Charlotte flags similar state-specific barriers on its authorization page.3 Before you apply, contact the program's admissions office and ask directly whether your state of residence is authorized. Do not assume online means universally accessible.

Clinical Placement: Who Finds Your Preceptor?

Clinical coordination separates manageable programs from logistical nightmares. Some schools arrange preceptors through faculty networks or affiliated health systems. Others require you to secure your own sites and supervising NPs, a process that can consume months and delay graduation. A growing middle ground relies on third-party preceptor-matching services like Preceptor Link or NPHub, which connect students with vetted clinical sites for a fee. Ask each program explicitly: Does the school coordinate placements? Is there a regional network? What happens if you cannot find a preceptor by the clinical start date? The answer shapes whether you finish on time or extend enrollment by a semester.

Synchronous vs. Asynchronous Format

Asynchronous programs let you watch lectures and complete assignments on your schedule, ideal for NPs working nights, weekends, or rotating shifts. Synchronous formats require live attendance at scheduled class sessions, fostering real-time discussion but constraining flexibility. Hybrid models blend both. If you work full-time or manage unpredictable call schedules, asynchronous delivery is usually the safer bet. If you thrive on structure and peer interaction, synchronous components may help. Review the course calendar and ask how many sessions are mandatory and recorded.

Credit Transfer and Gap Analysis

Your prior MSN coursework may reduce the credits required for a post-master's certificate. Schools perform a gap analysis, comparing your transcript against PNP curriculum requirements. Foundational courses like advanced pathophysiology, pharmacology, or health assessment are often waived if you completed them recently and earned a B or higher. Specialty clinical hours, however, are rarely transferable. Expect to complete the full pediatric clinical requirement even if you logged hundreds of hours as an FNP. If you already hold an FNP credential and want to compare similar pathways in other specialties, our overview of online post-master's FNP certificate programs walks through the same considerations. Confirm the transfer policy in writing before you enroll.

Post-Master's PNP Certificate Curriculum and Clinical Requirements

Post-master's PNP certificate programs pack a focused, graduate-level curriculum into a format designed for nurses who already hold an MSN and want to add pediatric specialty credentials without repeating foundational coursework from scratch.

Core Coursework You Can Expect

Most programs center on three foundational pillars that the Pediatric Nursing Certification Board requires for exam eligibility: advanced physiology and pathophysiology, advanced health assessment, and advanced pharmacology.1 On top of those, you will move through specialty courses such as pediatric primary care or acute care management, child and adolescent development, and family-centered care. Some programs add electives in pediatric mental health, neonatal considerations, or chronic disease management in children.

The total credit load typically falls between 15 and 30 credits. Where you land in that range depends largely on a gap analysis your program conducts at admission. If your original MSN already included robust pathophysiology and pharmacology content, you may receive transfer credit or course waivers, trimming your required coursework considerably. If those foundational courses were completed many years ago or are not well documented, expect to retake them in full.

Clinical Hour Requirements and Simulation Policy

Both the primary care (CPNP-PC) and acute care (CPNP-AC) certification exams require a minimum of 500 supervised direct patient care hours, with 600 hours being the recommended target to build clinical confidence and improve certification readiness.12 One important detail that surprises many students: simulation hours do not count toward the minimum 500-hour requirement.1 Simulation may be counted above that minimum, but your core clinical hours must be with real pediatric patients under the supervision of a qualified preceptor. Nurses interested in the acute care track specifically may also want to explore acute care nurse practitioner programs for additional context on how clinical requirements compare across specialties.

Finding Pediatric Preceptors in an Online Program

For nurses in fully online programs, securing a preceptor is often the most logistically demanding part of the process. Some schools maintain partnerships with pediatric clinics and hospital systems and can assist with placement, while others place full responsibility on the student. Either way, start early. Site-vetting, preceptor credentialing, and affiliation agreement paperwork between your school and the clinical site can take several months to finalize.

Documentation requirements are real and specific: most programs require detailed clinical logs, preceptor credentials on file, and formal affiliation agreements before you can begin hours. After graduation, your program will send an official transcript directly to the PNCB as part of your certification application, so accurate recordkeeping matters from day one.1

What 'Fully Online' Actually Means

Fully online does not always mean you never set foot on campus. Some programs require an on-campus intensive, a simulation lab weekend, or an objective structured clinical examination (OSCE) before you can graduate. These requirements vary widely, so read the fine print before enrolling. If geography or scheduling makes any in-person component difficult, ask the admissions team directly whether attendance is mandatory or can be completed at a regional site. Browsing a broader list of best online nurse practitioner programs can help you compare format details across schools.

Competency Alignment and Certification Readiness

Reputable programs align their curricula to the PNCB content domains for either the CPNP-PC or CPNP-AC exam. This competency mapping means every major course module corresponds to a testable area on the certification exam, so your academic work and your exam preparation reinforce each other throughout the program. First-time pass rates for both exams are not publicly reported by the PNCB, which makes accreditation status and a program's own outcome data more important signals of quality when you are comparing your options.3

One forward-looking note: beginning in 2030, the PNCB will require that candidates have graduated within five years of sitting for the exam.4 If you are planning your timeline now, that policy is worth factoring into when you complete your certificate program.

Typical Post-Master's PNP Certificate at a Glance

Before diving into individual programs, here is a snapshot of what most online post-master's PNP certificate programs look like. These figures represent common ranges across CCNE-accredited programs nationwide.

Key stats for post-master's PNP certificates: 15 to 30 credits, 500 to 600 plus clinical hours, 12 to 24 months, CPNP exam, online plus clinical format

FNP to PNP Certificate: What to Expect as a Transitioning NP

If you are a family nurse practitioner considering a shift toward pediatric-focused care, a post-master's PNP certificate offers the most direct pathway. This transition is so common that it drives much of the demand for these programs, and schools have developed streamlined processes to help FNPs add pediatric certification efficiently.

The Gap Analysis Process

When you apply to a post-master's PNP certificate program as an FNP, the school conducts what is typically called a gap analysis or transcript evaluation. Admissions teams compare your completed MSN coursework against the PNP curriculum requirements, identifying which courses overlap and which are unique to pediatric practice.

Core foundational courses often transfer without repetition. Advanced pharmacology, pathophysiology, and health assessment frequently qualify for course waivers because these topics were covered comprehensively in your FNP program. What remains are the pediatric-specific courses: developmental assessment, pediatric disease management, and population-focused clinical decision-making.

This individualized review means two FNP applicants may have slightly different program plans depending on their original MSN curriculum. Schools typically complete this analysis during the admissions process so you know your exact course requirements before committing.

Realistic Timeline Expectations

Because of credit reductions from overlapping coursework, most FNP-to-PNP transitions complete in 12 to 18 months of part-time study. This is considerably shorter than the full post-master's certificate timeline for nurses coming from non-NP backgrounds. Your reduced course load allows you to balance continuing clinical work as an FNP while completing certificate requirements.

Clinical Hours Rarely Transfer

Here is the reality that surprises some transitioning NPs: even when coursework overlaps significantly, clinical hours in pediatric-specific settings are almost never waived. Your family practice clinical experience, while valuable, does not substitute for dedicated rotations in pediatric primary care or acute care environments.

Finding pediatric preceptors as a distance student requires early planning.1 Programs like those at Walsh University and Texas Woman's University offer clinical placement team support to help students identify appropriate sites.2 However, you will likely need to take initiative in your local area as well. Acceptable preceptors typically include nurse practitioners, physicians, physician assistants, or clinical nurse specialists who hold national certification in the relevant pediatric population and have at least one year of experience.1

Keep in mind that preceptors cannot be immediate supervisors, family members, or close personal friends.1 Clinical sites require formal approval, and you will need to complete background checks, drug screening, and vaccination verification before beginning rotations.2

The Value of Dual Certification

Maintaining your FNP certification while adding PNP credentials creates meaningful professional flexibility. Dual certification broadens your scope of practice and marketability, allowing you to work across the lifespan or specialize in pediatrics depending on career opportunities. Some employers specifically seek providers who can see both adult and pediatric patients, making the FNP-plus-PNP combination particularly valuable in family medicine, urgent care, and community health settings.

Post-Master's PNP Certificate Earnings and Career Outlook

Certificate-holders aiming to add a pediatric specialization often weigh short-term tuition costs against long-term salary potential. Looking at both national data and program-specific outcomes reveals the financial and professional return on a post-master's PNP certificate.

What Pediatric Nurse Practitioners Earn Nationally

The Bureau of Labor Statistics groups all nurse practitioners under a single occupational code (29-1171), reporting a national median annual wage of $121,610 as of 2022.1 Early-career NPs (10th percentile) earned approximately $87,340, while experienced practitioners (90th percentile) reached $165,240.1 More recent 2024 projections, which combine nurse practitioners, nurse anesthetists, and nurse midwives, show a median of $132,050 and forecast 35 percent job growth from 2024 to 2034, far exceeding the average for all occupations.2

Pediatric nurse practitioners are not separately reported in federal wage data, so these figures reflect the broader NP labor market.2 In practice, pediatric NPs in acute care settings, particularly neonatal and pediatric intensive care units, often command higher salaries than those in primary care. This premium reflects the complexity of managing critically ill infants and children, the demanding on-call schedules, and the specialized skills required in hospital-based roles. If you're drawn to neonatal care specifically, you may also want to explore online NNP programs as a related specialization path.

Program-Level Earnings Insights

Because post-master's certificate programs enroll students who already hold an MSN or DNP and often work as nurse practitioners in another specialty, program-level earnings data is not yet published for most PNP certificates. Schools in our rankings, including New York University, Thomas Jefferson University, Rutgers University, Creighton University, and the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, do not currently report median post-completion earnings for their PNP certificate cohorts. As federal reporting requirements expand, this data may become available in future years.

Return on Investment: Tuition vs. Specialty Premium

Typical post-master's PNP certificate programs range from approximately $7,000 (University of Nevada, Reno) to $42,000 (New York University) in total tuition. Most programs fall between $12,000 and $25,000. For an FNP transitioning to pediatric acute care, the salary increase can be $10,000 to $20,000 annually, depending on geography and employer. Even at the higher end of the tuition spectrum, many graduates recoup their investment within two to three years, particularly if they move into hospital-based acute care roles that offer shift differentials, on-call pay, and higher base salaries than outpatient clinics.

The 35 percent projected growth rate for the NP workforce through 2034 underscores robust demand.2 Pediatric specialization, especially in acute care, positions you in a segment where workforce shortages remain significant, enhancing both job security and negotiating power.

Post-Master's Certificate Vs. Second MSN: Which Path Makes Sense?

If you already hold an MSN and want to add pediatric expertise, you have two routes: a post-master's certificate or a second MSN with a PNP focus. Both can qualify you to sit for national PNP certification, but they differ sharply in time, cost, and what you walk away with. For most working nurse practitioners adding a pediatric specialization, the certificate is the more efficient and practical choice.

Pros
  • A post-master's certificate typically takes 12 to 24 months, compared to two or three years for a second MSN.
  • Certificate programs require fewer credits, which translates directly into lower tuition costs.
  • Graduates of CCNE or ACEN accredited certificate programs are eligible for the same PNP certification exams as second MSN graduates.
  • A certificate lets you skip redundant core coursework you already completed during your original MSN.
  • The shorter timeline means less time away from full earning potential and career momentum.
Cons
  • A certificate does not confer an additional degree, so your transcript shows a certificate rather than a second master's.
  • Some employer tuition reimbursement programs only cover degree granting programs, potentially excluding certificates.
  • A second MSN may strengthen applications for certain doctoral programs that prefer a degree aligned with your specialty.
  • A small number of employers or credentialing bodies may favor candidates who hold a full degree in their practice area.
  • Earning a second MSN means repeating foundational coursework, adding significant time and expense with limited new learning.

In 2024, the Pediatric Nursing Certification Board reported a first-time pass rate of 69.57% on the CPNP-AC certification exam, demonstrating that post-master's certificate graduates are well prepared for advanced practice roles. That is nearly 7 out of 10 nurses passing on their first attempt.

Frequently Asked Questions About Post-Master's PNP Certificates

Choosing a post-master's PNP certificate is a big decision, and it helps to have clear answers before you commit. Below are some of the most common questions working NPs ask when exploring pediatric certificate options.

How long does it take to get a pediatric nurse practitioner certificate if you're already an FNP?
Most FNP-to-PNP certificate programs take two to four semesters when studied part time, though the exact timeline depends on how many gap courses your program identifies after a transcript review. If your MSN already covered the three core advanced practice courses (pathophysiology, pharmacology, and health assessment), you may move directly into pediatric-focused didactic and clinical work, which can shorten the path.
How many clinical hours are required for a post-master's PNP certificate?
Expect to complete roughly 640 supervised clinical hours in pediatric settings. Programs conduct a gap analysis of your prior graduate clinical experience and may adjust the total slightly, but the pediatric-specific hours are almost never waived entirely. You will need to secure precepted placements with providers who care for patients from birth through young adulthood.
What is the difference between a PNP-PC and PNP-AC certificate?
A PNP-PC (Primary Care) certificate prepares you to manage wellness visits, chronic conditions, and developmental screenings in outpatient settings. A PNP-AC (Acute Care) certificate focuses on high-acuity, complex, or critical pediatric care typically found in emergency departments, PICUs, and specialty inpatient units. Each track leads to a different certification exam, so your choice should align with the patient population and clinical setting where you plan to practice.
Can an FNP get a post-master's certificate in pediatric nursing?
Yes. Post-master's PNP certificates are specifically designed for nurses who already hold an MSN or DNP with NP certification in another population focus, such as family practice. You will need an active, unencumbered RN license and current NP or APRN credentials. Programs then tailor your coursework to fill knowledge gaps related to pediatric care.
What are the admissions requirements for online post-master's PNP programs?
Common requirements include an MSN from a CCNE or ACEN accredited program, a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher (some schools prefer 3.2), an active RN license, current NP certification, one to two years of clinical experience, two to three letters of recommendation, a background check, and up-to-date immunization records. Some programs also require a statistics course with a grade of C or better. Interviews and drug screenings may be required depending on the school.
Is a post-master's PNP certificate worth it compared to a second MSN?
For most working NPs, a post-master's certificate is the more efficient route. It typically costs less, requires fewer credits, and can be completed faster because you are not repeating core graduate coursework you have already mastered. A second MSN may make sense only if your original degree was not from an accredited program or if a specific employer requires the full degree. In most cases, the certificate qualifies you for the same PNP certification exam.
Do post-master's PNP certificate programs require CCNE accreditation for certification exam eligibility?
Graduating from a program accredited by the CCNE (or ACEN) is strongly recommended and, for many certification bodies, effectively required. The Pediatric Nursing Certification Board (PNCB) and the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) expect candidates to have completed an accredited graduate-level program. Before enrolling, confirm that your chosen certificate program holds current accreditation recognized by the certification exam you plan to sit for.

Additional Online Post-Master's PNP Certificate Programs to Consider

The programs listed below round out our directory of online post-master's pediatric nurse practitioner certificates. While they did not make the top 10 in our ranking, each offers a solid pathway to PNP specialization. Explore these options if you need a particular geographic area, tuition range, or program format that fits your life.

Other

University of Arizona Tucson, AZ · Hybrid
The University of Arizona offers a Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Graduate Certificate for registered nurses with a Master of Science in Nursing. This four-semester part-time program requires 26 credits and 720 clinical hours. It combines online coursework with campus experiences for hands-on health assessment training.
  • Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Graduate Certificate
University of Cincinnati Cincinnati, OH · Hybrid
The University of Cincinnati offers a Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Post-Graduate Certificate, a hybrid program designed for nurses seeking advanced skills. It prepares graduates to manage complex acute and critical illnesses in infants, children, adolescents, and young adults across various healthcare settings.
  • Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
Thomas Jefferson University Philadelphia, PA · Hybrid
Thomas Jefferson University's Post-Graduate Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Certificate prepares graduate nurses for advanced pediatric care. This 18-credit hybrid program combines online coursework with clinical experiences, focusing on managing direct care for infants and children across various settings.
  • Post-Graduate Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
The University of Texas at El Paso El Paso, TX · Hybrid
The University of Texas at El Paso offers a Post-Master's Nurse Practitioner Certificate with a Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner concentration. This hybrid program requires 28-40 credits and 630-775 clinical hours, preparing nurses for advanced pediatric care roles.
  • Post-Master’s Nurse Practitioner Certificate (Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner)
  • Post-Master’s Nurse Practitioner Certificate (Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner)
The University of Texas at Arlington Arlington, TX · Online
The online Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Certificate (Post Master's) at the University of Texas at Arlington equips MSN-prepared nurses to become board-certified pediatric acute care nurse practitioners. Designed for experienced RNs, the program uses a gap analysis to create an individualized curriculum of as few as five courses.
  • Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Certificate (Post Master's)
  • Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Certificate (Post Master's)
  • Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Certificate
University of Nevada-Reno Reno, NV · Online
The University of Nevada-Reno offers a Post Master's Certificate in Pediatric Nurse Practitioner with an Acute Care concentration. This online program prepares nurses for high-acuity pediatric care from infancy to young adulthood, with 500-780 clinical hours arranged by the school.
  • Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
University of Missouri-Kansas City Kansas City, MO · Hybrid
The University of Missouri-Kansas City offers a Post-MSN Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Certificate for nurses with an MSN or DNP. This hybrid program provides specialized training in pediatric care without requiring another full degree, preparing graduates for national certification exams.
  • Post-MSN Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Certificate
  • Post-MSN Acute Care Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Certificate
University of Louisville Louisville, KY · Hybrid
The University of Louisville offers a Post-Graduate Certificate in Nurse Practitioner (APRN) with a Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner concentration. This hybrid program combines online coursework with on-campus components, designed for nurses with a master's degree.
  • Post-Graduate Certificate in Nurse Practitioner (APRN) (Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner)
Augusta University Augusta, GA · Hybrid
Augusta University offers a Post-Master's Certificate in Pediatric Nurse Practitioner (PNP) for APRNs seeking to expand their scope of practice. This hybrid program combines online coursework with clinical experiences in Georgia or South Carolina, focusing on primary healthcare for children.
  • Post-Graduate Certificate in Pediatric Nurse Practitioner
Chaminade University of Honolulu Honolulu, HI · Hybrid
Chaminade University of Honolulu offers a Post-Doctoral Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Primary Care Certificate for APRNs with a doctorate. The hybrid format includes 100% online coursework with annual on-campus immersion, requiring 18 credit hours and 630 clinical hours.
  • Post-Doctoral Pediatric Nurse Practitioner (PNP) Certificate
Wright State University Dayton, OH · Online
Wright State University offers a Pediatric Nurse Practitioner - Primary Care Graduate Certificate, a post-master's program for nurses seeking advanced specialization. This online certificate includes some synchronous coursework and requires direct care clinical hours, preparing graduates for comprehensive care for children from birth to 21 years.
  • Pediatric Nurse Practitioner - Primary Care Graduate Certificate

Recent Articles

Follow us